Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,319 Members 52,504 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Chromecast app disconnecting after screen mirroring selected

Tip us?
 
RaphaRevolution
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default Chromecast app disconnecting after screen mirroring selected

Hey if anyone has the same problem and could share a solution i would be thakful. I'm trying to mirror my cell phone screen throug chromecast app. When in click in cast screen, the app finds my chromecast device connected to the TV. Then i select it, the connection is then stablished, the cell phone screen appears on TV, but imediatelly the chromecast app shows the "Disconnecting" message, automaticaly. After that, the chromecast app can't find the device on my wifi network anymore, just a few minutes later after a new search the device becomes identifiable again. Seems that the app is somehow making the Chromecast device to disconnect from the network. I've tryied to reset the chromecast device, to reinstall the chromecast app and i've disabled the AP isolation in my router and even tryied to disable the firewall, nothing worked what makes me belive it's an app issue.

Cell phone: Samsung S4 mini DualSim GT-I9192 with Andorid 4.4.2
Chromecast app: Version 1.7.4
Chromecast device firmware: 17977
TV: LG LM476200
Router: ARRIS TG862

Sorry for the english and thanks in advance.
 
maufinelli
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaphaRevolution View Post
Hey if anyone has the same problem and could share a solution i would be thakful. I'm trying to mirror my cell phone screen throug chromecast app. When in click in cast screen, the app finds my chromecast device connected to the TV. Then i select it, the connection is then stablished, the cell phone screen appears on TV, but imediatelly the chromecast app shows the "Disconnecting" message, automaticaly. After that, the chromecast app can't find the device on my wifi network anymore, just a few minutes later after a new search the device becomes identifiable again. Seems that the app is somehow making the Chromecast device to disconnect from the network. I've tryied to reset the chromecast device, to reinstall the chromecast app and i've disabled the AP isolation in my router and even tryied to disable the firewall, nothing worked what makes me belive it's an app issue.

Cell phone: Samsung S4 mini DualSim GT-I9192 with Andorid 4.4.2
Chromecast app: Version 1.7.4
Chromecast device firmware: 17977
TV: LG LM476200
Router: ARRIS TG862

Sorry for the english and thanks in advance.
Same here, same devices.
The Following User Says Thank You to maufinelli For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
lecorbusier
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 221
Join Date: Nov 2012
With my Note10.1 2014, a supported device, the CC app showed on tv, but the Note froze, which never happened before.
I haven't given it a second try, I'm 99% sure that this will happen every time, and I don't know any variation of the mirroring process or device setup, which might possibly lead to success.
 
bhiga
Old
#4  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 849
Posts: 2,193
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lecorbusier View Post
With my Note10.1 2014, a supported device, the CC app showed on tv, but the Note froze, which never happened before.
I haven't given it a second try, I'm 99% sure that this will happen every time, and I don't know any variation of the mirroring process or device setup, which might possibly lead to success.
If the device is supported for Cast Screen and it is using the stock ROM, then it should work. If it's not using the stock ROM, there is no guarantee of success.
Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! / Rootable Serial Numbers | Root Mini-FAQ | FlashCast flashing Mini-FAQ
BYO powered OTG cable | WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations | Not all 1080p/720p is same
Search Tip: Google search terms site:forum.xda-developers.com for only XDA forum results. Example
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
lecorbusier
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 221
Join Date: Nov 2012
Still stock & non rooted.
 
cmstlist
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 481
Posts: 3,122
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver
Sometimes I find the casting is flaky if I'm connected to a 5 GHz wifi network, as the phone has to communicate via the router rather than directly with the Chromecast at 2.4 GHz.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
bhiga
Old
#7  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 849
Posts: 2,193
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by lecorbusier View Post
Still stock & non rooted.
I'd try it again. Screen Casting is high load on the system, so it could be heat or stress related.
My Galaxy S3 casts solidly as long as the battery isn't low, it's not overheating from being charged while casting, and the WiFi is strong.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist View Post
Sometimes I find the casting is flaky if I'm connected to a 5 GHz wifi network, as the phone has to communicate via the router rather than directly with the Chromecast at 2.4 GHz.
It still communicates through your router in both cases. It's not WiFi Direct like Miracast. That said, I have seen reduced stability when casting from a 5 GHz device in newer firmware builds. It's still less bandwidth load on the bands, but it can be subject to issues if the router doesn't bridge the two networks efficiently.
Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! / Rootable Serial Numbers | Root Mini-FAQ | FlashCast flashing Mini-FAQ
BYO powered OTG cable | WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations | Not all 1080p/720p is same
Search Tip: Google search terms site:forum.xda-developers.com for only XDA forum results. Example
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
cmstlist
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 481
Posts: 3,122
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vancouver
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
I'd try it again. Screen Casting is high load on the system, so it could be heat or stress related.
My Galaxy S3 casts solidly as long as the battery isn't low, it's not overheating from being charged while casting, and the WiFi is strong.


It still communicates through your router in both cases. It's not WiFi Direct like Miracast. That said, I have seen reduced stability when casting from a 5 GHz device in newer firmware builds. It's still less bandwidth load on the bands, but it can be subject to issues if the router doesn't bridge the two networks efficiently.
Interesting, I was always under the impression that devices on a wireless LAN could talk to each other directly if they were capable of seeing each other's signal. I guess not, then.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
bhiga
Old
#9  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 849
Posts: 2,193
Join Date: Oct 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmstlist View Post
Interesting, I was always under the impression that devices on a wireless LAN could talk to each other directly if they were capable of seeing each other's signal. I guess not, then.
Standard AP/Infrastructure mode routes everything back through the router - it's a star topology. Easiest to manage and control, but you can be limited by the router/AP's processing speed (hence the different classifications for Wireless N, and the different real-world speeds even within those classifications).
Ad Hoc mode is peer-to-peer but has some limitations (fixed channel, limited range, etc)..
WiFi Direct is more of a small-scale AP setup and requires some hardware/driver support.

Things might change with the promise of "cast without being on the host's WiFi network" that was announced, but we'll have to wait and see.
Chromecast threads: FAQ - READ THIS FIRST! / Rootable Serial Numbers | Root Mini-FAQ | FlashCast flashing Mini-FAQ
BYO powered OTG cable | WiFi Bandwidth and Router considerations | Not all 1080p/720p is same
Search Tip: Google search terms site:forum.xda-developers.com for only XDA forum results. Example
Follow the rules / Use 'Search' before posting / Post in the correct sections / Do not spam the board / Press thanks, don't post 'Thanks'
 
RaphaRevolution
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Aug 2014
Plug Found some solution?

Quote:
Originally Posted by maufinelli View Post
Same here, same devices.
Did you managed to find some solution?

Thread Tools
Display Modes


Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more