FORUMS

Top Forum Discussions

Chromecast compatible routers

22 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By Nikhil_Varma, Junior Member on 20th February 2015, 08:58 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,
I have a Chromecast and will be buying a router soon. I was wondering if Netgear JWNR2010 N300 Wireless Router is compatible with chromecast. This seems to be a good router to buy so wanted to know if this would go with the Chromecast I have.
If not are there any suggestions under the range of Rs.1600/- INR ?
 
 
20th February 2015, 10:14 PM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 346
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nikhil_Varma

Hi,
I have a Chromecast and will be buying a router soon. I was wondering if Netgear JWNR2010 N300 Wireless Router is compatible with chromecast. This seems to be a good router to buy so wanted to know if this would go with the Chromecast I have.
If not are there any suggestions under the range of Rs.1600/- INR ?

Both the 2000 and the 2000v3 are compatible so It's probably safe to say the 2010 is as well.
Their N600 and N900 are also compatible according to Google....
Me personally I like the Linksys/Cisco routers the best.
21st February 2015, 06:06 AM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx

Both the 2000 and the 2000v3 are compatible so It's probably safe to say the 2010 is as well.
Their N600 and N900 are also compatible according to Google....
Me personally I like the Linksys/Cisco routers the best.

Thanks
21st February 2015, 08:48 AM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Asphyx

Both the 2000 and the 2000v3 are compatible so It's probably safe to say the 2010 is as well.
Their N600 and N900 are also compatible according to Google....
Me personally I like the Linksys/Cisco routers the best.

Got the list in which this router is listed. Thanks
Last edited by Nikhil_Varma; 21st February 2015 at 01:17 PM.
21st February 2015, 03:24 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 113
 
More
Since you're in India, you might want to check out which routers are capable of blocking or redirecting Google DNS in case that's necessary for you to access content not available in India.
The Following User Says Thank You to DJames1 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd February 2015, 05:40 AM |#6  
primetechv2's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wisconsin
Thanks Meter: 168
 
More
I discovered the fun way that you may need to manually set the router's channel at, like, 1 or 5 to get the chromecast to connect if it's password protected. Or, potentially password free as well.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
26th February 2015, 05:27 AM |#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Some routers have an option to isolate clients from each other. This should be a problem, if activated. My routers included a Linksys 4000 something and an Iphone4s. IOS8 removed communication between the max two clients(and no one has noticed, except me), so it may work no more.
And there may be initial setup difficulties, if your phone uses 5ghz wifi, so better use 2.4ghz until the CC setup is completed. And, unlike many devices, CC supports wifi channels up to 13 or 14(in Japan). So no need to bother here.
Last edited by lecorbusier; 26th February 2015 at 05:33 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to lecorbusier For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd March 2015, 11:08 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks everyone for helping me
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes