Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,466 Members 50,576 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] USB broken, cannot flash rom using TWRP

Tip us?
 
lecoq3010
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2014
Default [Q] USB broken, cannot flash rom using TWRP

Hi guys,
I have a HTC Desire. My USB port is broken (no money to fix) so cannot connect it to my PC. I have TWRP as recovery, but it wont install zip files.
e:unable to create updater file in /tmp/updater. There is currently no OS loaded. Is there any way i can install CWM at startup like a .bat file or something when i switch on the phone.
Please, please help me. Phones are expensive in South Africa
Thank you so much
 
lilsafbig
Old
#2  
lilsafbig's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 694
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bradford
Quote:
Originally Posted by lecoq3010 View Post
Hi guys,
I have a HTC Desire. My USB port is broken (no money to fix) so cannot connect it to my PC. I have TWRP as recovery, but it wont install zip files.
e:unable to create updater file in /tmp/updater. There is currently no OS loaded. Is there any way i can install CWM at startup like a .bat file or something when i switch on the phone.
Please, please help me. Phones are expensive in South Africa
Thank you so much
You might have to use an SD card reader to transfer files, so why don't u flash 4ext recovery pb99img.zip file method so u can install a custom rom, are you s off?

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA Free mobile app
 
lecoq3010
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsafbig View Post
You might have to use an SD card reader to transfer files, so why don't u flash 4ext recovery pb99img.zip file method so u can install a custom rom, are you s off?

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA Free mobile app
Hi, thanx for your quick response. it is really much appreciated.
Yes I am s-off. ok, I copied the zip file to the sd card, restarted phone "back button+power button", (vol button+power button does not work), vol button down to recovery, and the phone restarted. But now it does not get pass the htc logo.
 
lilsafbig
Old
#4  
lilsafbig's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 50
Posts: 694
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: bradford
Quote:
Originally Posted by lecoq3010 View Post
Hi, thanx for your quick response. it is really much appreciated.
Yes I am s-off. ok, I copied the zip file to the sd card, restarted phone "back button+power button", (vol button+power button does not work), vol button down to recovery, and the phone restarted. But now it does not get pass the htc logo.
It has to get to the bootloader not to the recovery.

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA Free mobile app
 
lecoq3010
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by lilsafbig View Post
It has to get to the bootloader not to the recovery.

Sent from my HTC Desire using XDA Free mobile app
Once again, thank you very much for helping me.

-Revolutionary-
BRAVO PVT3 SHIP S-OFF
MICROP-051d
TOUCH PANEL-SYNT0101
RADIO-5.17.05.23
Aug 10 2010,17:52:18

HBOOT

<VOL UP> to previous item
<VOL DOWN> to next item
<POWER> to select item

FASTBOOT
RECOVERY
CLEAR STORAGE
SIMLOCK

It then extracts something
Then it says something like : no image or wrong image
Should I leave it here? or should I get a different image?
 
jmcclue
Old
#6  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,340
Posts: 3,475
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lecoq3010 View Post
Once again, thank you very much for helping me.

-Revolutionary-
BRAVO PVT3 SHIP S-OFF
MICROP-051d
TOUCH PANEL-SYNT0101
RADIO-5.17.05.23
Aug 10 2010,17:52:18

HBOOT

<VOL UP> to previous item
<VOL DOWN> to next item
<POWER> to select item

FASTBOOT
RECOVERY
CLEAR STORAGE
SIMLOCK

It then extracts something
Then it says something like : no image or wrong image
Should I leave it here? or should I get a different image?
Where did u get the PB99IMG.zip? Did u put it on the root of ur sdcard? (not in a filder) make sure its named "PB99IMG" and not pb99img (capital letters)
 
lecoq3010
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcclue View Post
Where did u get the PB99IMG.zip? Did u put it on the root of ur sdcard? (not in a filder) make sure its named "PB99IMG" and not pb99img (capital letters)

Hi my friend
I got it fixed. I changed the FS to FAT32. everything is working. thank you very very much for all your help!!!!!!!
I just have a problem with link2sd now. mount script cannot be created. once again, thank you very much.
 
jmcclue
Old
#8  
jmcclue's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1,340
Posts: 3,475
Join Date: Apr 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lecoq3010 View Post
Hi my friend
I got it fixed. I changed the FS to FAT32. everything is working. thank you very very much for all your help!!!!!!!
I just have a problem with link2sd now. mount script cannot be created. once again, thank you very much.
Yh sometimes u need to format ur sdcard aswell before it reads it.

Theres a guide here in desire general and "how to partition sdcard correctly" read that, im sure abbbbaaaab explains mount2sd aswell. Worth a read.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more