Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

[GUIDE] S-OFF REQUIRED!! full conversion of Your m8 to any variant

24th July 2014, 01:08 PM   |  #1  
exocetdj's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bristol, Scrumpy Country
Thanks Meter: 2,912
 
4,192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Just a quick guide on how to change GSM M8s to other variants

This guide will show you how to change your GSM M8 into any other GSM variant (apart from GPE - theres a thread for that!!) Just pick the files and info within the links below relevant to what you want to convert to

READ THIS BEFORE YOU BEGIN!!!! This will work for GSM phones only YOU WILL BRICK IF YOU ATTEMPT THIS ON A CDMA PHONE!!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5


There is no way a CDMA can be converted to GSM and vice versa.
Conversion is converting region of a GSM to another region GSM. E.g Asia WWE GSM (like mine) converted to EU WWE GSM then again converted to GSM Dev Edition. It's all about region conversion but still on GSM.

CDMA and GSM definitely have two different hardware.

STEPS TO FOLLOW BELOW

- Step 1 - changinging MID

- Step 2 - changing CID

- Step 3 - restoring relevant nand backup

- Step 4 - firmware flashing

- Step 5 - OTA downloading/updating

- Step 6 - hopefully all is good but read text below step 6 if not

Here Goes.......

1 Change the MID number of your device by going to THIS THREAD and follow instructions for setting the MID to the variant you wish to convert to (below is command for setting to Dev edition please read the link above and it will give you the relevant commands for your desired variant - Thanks @scotty1223

You should already have adb etc sorted but see the thread above if not

Quote:

enter the following:

adb shell

su (if needed to get a # prompt)



Code:
echo -ne '\x30\x00\x50\x00\x36\x00\x42\x00\x31\x00\x32\x00\x30\x00\x30\x00\x30' | dd of=/dev/block/mmcblk0p5 bs=1 seek=16384
(the above is one big long command. make sure you copy it all,and dont get extra spaces when you paste it. YOU COULD BRICK YOUR DEVICE IF THIS IS WRONG)

exit

adb reboot bootloader

fastboot getvar mid (or getvar all)

verify 0P6B12000 for modelid

fastboot reboot


2 then change CID to desired edition by typing "fastboot oem writecid BS_US001" in fastboot
(or BS_US002) - NOTE - these are dev edition CIDs , replace with relevant CID to your desired variant


(ignore if not converting to dev - obvious i know lol)
Here are the differences between the two dev edition CIDs



3 then restore relevant nand in custom recovery, you can get it HERE thanks @Mr Hofs - look for nand for BS_US001 or BS_US002 CID - Note - Look for nand matching the CID you entered earlier above - these are dev for example

4 Flash the stock recovery or firmware zip (which includes the recovery) matching your desired software number NOTE - yet again the download links below are for DEV edition for example - the versions relevant to the variant you want are accessible through the search function. The firmware is HERE this shouldn't wipe sd contents but backup to be sure thanks @ckpv5

Follow THIS GREAT GUIDE for flashing via fastboot thanks @Sneakyghost

Or This quality tutorial to flash firmware from external sd card thanks @skulldreamz


if you are s off, sd contents should be untouched after flashing firmware but back them up just in case

To flash just the recovery, get the recovery.img from the zip above and put it in your fastboot folder on your PC. Then in CMD type "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img" then "fastboot erase cache"



5 then you should be able to receive the OTA - flash as per HTC instructions, if you have any issues i.e corrupt file, flash ota manually- 1, reboot to recovery, then 2, press power and volume up and then flash in the menu that pops up



6 Profit

You will have the red text on the splash screen as the ota will flash a unmodified HBOOT - CLICK HERE for a modified one that will remove the red text. thanks @santod040 . Just remember to reflash stock hboot in the event of returning to s on before you type the s on command otherwise you will brick your device


IF, FOR ANY REASON U ARE NOT GETTING OTA, CLICK HERE AND APPLY IT MANUALLY

Thanks to the people mentioned for thier threads and download links.

The usual warnings apply of course. Take time and care and you shouldn't have any issues. Also please read the threads in the links above carefully
Last edited by exocetdj; 14th January 2015 at 03:20 PM.
The Following 20 Users Say Thank You to exocetdj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #2  
The Great Dane's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vesterborg
Thanks Meter: 2,348
 
2,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
You don't have to be sorry, actually quite relevant👍
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to The Great Dane For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #3  
exocetdj's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bristol, Scrumpy Country
Thanks Meter: 2,912
 
4,192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Great Dane

You don't have to be sorry, actually quite relevant��

hehe thx mate

Do you have any comments dude???
The Following User Says Thank You to exocetdj For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th July 2014, 01:17 PM   |  #4  
joni2012's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,338
 
1,358 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
Thanks exo jiji
24th July 2014, 01:21 PM   |  #5  
exocetdj's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bristol, Scrumpy Country
Thanks Meter: 2,912
 
4,192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by joni2012

Thanks exo jiji

lol what for Bro??

if someone can confirm this is the way il get it moved into general as a tutorial
24th July 2014, 02:09 PM   |  #6  
-Duir-'s Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 336
 
582 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by exocetdj

lol what for Bro??

if someone can confirm this is the way il get it moved into general as a tutorial

I have no idea if it will work for sure, but it certainly sounds good.
When you say you have the WWE version, you mean simply an unbranded non-US version of the device?

The dev edition seems to basically be just the [SIM] Unlocked version shipped with an unlocked bootloader as well.
If I'm wrong, maybe someone can correct that statement.

I don't know anything about the WWE devices but if they're SIM unlocked as well then it seems worth trying as long as you are S-OFF and have backups of current firmware.
24th July 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #7  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,530
 
14,257 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Yes you can do it, but why not just wait? Chances are the WWE build will be a later build than this one so I'd (personally) just wait the week or so for the OTA and manually flash it
24th July 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #8  
exocetdj's Avatar
OP Recognized Contributor
Flag Bristol, Scrumpy Country
Thanks Meter: 2,912
 
4,192 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

Yes you can do it, but why not just wait? Chances are the WWE build will be a later build than this one so I'd (personally) just wait the week or so for the OTA and manually flash it

Thanks guys!!!

@EddyOS no reason but to satisfy my ORD lol
24th July 2014, 03:13 PM   |  #9  
The Great Dane's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vesterborg
Thanks Meter: 2,348
 
2,550 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by exocetdj

Thanks guys!!!

@EddyOS no reason but to satisfy my ORD lol

Seems like you can move it to general then[emoji12]
24th July 2014, 03:22 PM   |  #10  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 9,470
 
14,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
Fixed !

The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes