Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more

Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more
Post Reply

Device will not boot to recovery

OP ben_b55

24th August 2014, 12:19 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Currently I have my GPE running the following:

Android version: 4.4.4
Baseband version: 1.14.21331931.LA02_2G_20.30A.4145.01L
Kernel version: 3.4.0-SkyDragon-V2.0.1-ga7f5909-dirty
android@builduntu #11
Build number: SkyDragon GPE V3.0.1

I was trying to install the Viper Sense ROM (which I now believe should not have been done seeing as it is a GPE device) and in the process of setting it up went to change the recovery from TWRP to change it to PhilZ Touch as the ROM was trying to install. The ROM refused to install. Upon reboot and then trying to go back into recovery I discovered that my phone would say "Booting to recovery..." and then after about 20-30 seconds boot the device normally and bypass the recovery screen. Can anyone tell me what I can do to restore recovery to my phone? Let me know if there is any more info needed. The bootloader is unlocked and has S-OFF. Tried this about a month and a half ago and have not had the time or patience to try and figure this out more. Thanks
Last edited by ben_b55; 24th August 2014 at 12:30 AM. Reason: more info
24th August 2014, 05:15 AM   |  #2  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter: 8,657
 
14,115 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
Donate to Me
More
Try :

Fastboot ease cache

From the bootloader and enter the recovery again.
24th August 2014, 09:16 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs

Try :

Fastboot ease cache

From the bootloader and enter the recovery again.

No change after "Fastboot erase cache" when I reboot and try boot it again in recovery. Just says, "Recovery loading..." still and after 30 seconds boots normally.
24th August 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #4  
Member
Flag tabuk
Thanks Meter: 1
 
36 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ben_b55

No change after "Fastboot erase cache" when I reboot and try boot it again in recovery. Just says, "Recovery loading..." still and after 30 seconds boots normally.

i have the same problem but in my case , when i try to enter the recovery , it takes me back to bootloader
24th August 2014, 09:22 PM   |  #5  
KJ's Avatar
XDA: ASSIST
Recognized Contributor
Flag The boonies - southwest Ontario
Thanks Meter: 4,064
 
10,087 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Just flash twrp again. And you should be good.
The Following User Says Thank You to KJ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th August 2014, 04:22 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by KJ

Just flash twrp again. And you should be good.

Ok. I had tried doing that before, but this time I ran it through fastboot and it managed to go through. The TWRP Manager app. GOO Manager and about 2 or 3 other programs failed to do it. Glad it managed to work this time
The Following User Says Thank You to ben_b55 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank