Post Reply

[Q] Does Google Cardboard work?

OP DinoSoup

10th July 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #1  
DinoSoup's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Phoenix (I hate it here); NYC in spirit.
Thanks Meter: 141
 
782 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
After watching several videos about how awesome this thing is online, I was hooked and totally ready to buy one. However, after reading around, I've noticed some people saying that you can accidentally shut off the screen with the magnet on cardboard. Does anybody own cardboard that can confirm this is in fact an issue? I'm ready to buy this thing, however, that's holding me back. Thanks!
10th July 2014, 06:12 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Derry, NH
Thanks Meter: 127
 
370 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Why would you buy one? There are free plans online to make your own.
11th July 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebobmannh

Why would you buy one? There are free plans online to make your own.

I think the OP probably means a kit. I've ordered a kit (ie card template, magnets, nfc tag and lenses) for not much more than the lenses on their own.

With regards to the OP's question, I'll let you know next week as I hope to build it this weekend.
13th July 2014, 10:28 PM   |  #4  
SolarTrans's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 253
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Yes it works wonders on my M8 GPE! No issues whatsoever.
100% of the functionality is there and works correctly
16th July 2014, 04:46 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarTrans

Yes it works wonders on my M8 GPE! No issues whatsoever.
100% of the functionality is there and works correctly

Can you load in HTC camera photo spheres or does it only work with the ones created by android camera?

If so how?

Thanks!
16th July 2014, 05:13 PM   |  #6  
SolarTrans's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 253
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teylewr

Can you load in HTC camera photo spheres or does it only work with the ones created by android camera?



If so how?



Thanks!


I only have the Google Camera since I have the GPE phone, so I'm not sure.
I have a feeling it will work, though.


Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk
16th July 2014, 05:18 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolarTrans

I only have the Google Camera since I have the GPE phone, so I'm not sure.
I have a feeling it will work, though.


Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk

It doesn't seem to recognize them. Ive tried changing the name to match that, and make sure its in the same folder as ones from android camera.

Not sure what its looking for. It loads up any i've taken with android camera fine.

I have some cool ones from htc camera of places ill probably never go again and would love to check them out with this.
17th July 2014, 09:24 PM   |  #8  
SolarTrans's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 253
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teylewr

It doesn't seem to recognize them. Ive tried changing the name to match that, and make sure its in the same folder as ones from android camera.



Not sure what its looking for. It loads up any i've taken with android camera fine.



I have some cool ones from htc camera of places ill probably never go again and would love to check them out with this.


Yeah I did one on a dirt road in the redwood forests of California and it's great to see through Cardboard!
Probably a different format used by the Android camera I'm guessing, so that could be the issue.


Sent from my iPhone 5s using Tapatalk
18th July 2014, 06:04 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Following up to answer my own question.

Changing the name, and moving the htc camera photo spheres into the same folder as the google ones worked, it just needed to be reloaded.

the name format is PANO_{DATE}_{Image number}.jpg

example PANO_20140718_12345.jpg
The Following User Says Thank You to teylewr For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th July 2014, 06:44 PM   |  #10  
SolarTrans's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Oregon
Thanks Meter: 253
 
1,018 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by teylewr

Following up to answer my own question.

Changing the name, and moving the htc camera photo spheres into the same folder as the google ones worked, it just needed to be reloaded.

the name format is PANO_{DATE}_{Image number}.jpg

example PANO_20140718_12345.jpg

Glad you got it working! It would make sense that the Cardboard app just looked it one folder for the panoramas.
Smart thinking !

Sent from my HTC One M8 GPE using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
cardboard, lock, magnet, screen, virtual
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank