Dynamic Pop for Note 4 (N910T & 910W8)

With the release of the Canadian Lollipop ROM for the Note 4, T-Mobile users can also enjoy the … more

Sunday Debate: Better to Buy Older or Newer Hardware?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on New vs. Old. Come with your opinions and feel … more

HTC Sense Camera & Gallery for M8 GPE Lollipop

If you are running a GPE ROM and miss the sense gallery and camera, this flashable zip by … more

XenonHD Unofficial AOSP-based ROM for Find 7a

XDA Recognized Contributor uppon2 & Team Horizon are bringing the Oppo … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Can't Flash Sense ROMs After Flashing AOSP

28th August 2014, 12:12 PM |#1  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
So I switched to AOSP ROMs and now I wanted to go back to a Sense ROM but every time I flash one it boot loops. I've tried wiping the memory before and after flashing but the ROM won't stay stable. I've tried ARHD as well as Sinless. Even GPE ROMs aren't stable anymore. Is there something I'm missing? Any help will be greatly appreciated.
 
 
28th August 2014, 02:37 PM |#2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,767
 
8,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Try to adb erase cache, than install recovery again. Or try a different recovery (in particular TWRP seem to cause some ROM flashing issues for some folks, so try CWM).

And its a bootloop (phone restarts over and over) and not just frozen on the splash screen, right? Because with any 2.2x based ROM (including current ARHD) long boot time (like 5-10 minutes) is a common issue if you haven't updated firmware.
The Following User Says Thank You to redpoint73 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th August 2014, 05:27 PM |#3  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Try to adb erase cache, than install recovery again. Or try a different recovery (in particular TWRP seem to cause some ROM flashing issues for some folks, so try CWM).

And its a bootloop (phone restarts over and over) and not just frozen on the splash screen, right? Because with any 2.2x based ROM (including current ARHD) long boot time (like 5-10 minutes) is a common issue if you haven't updated firmware.

ARHD did the strangest thing. Right after flashing the ROM, the screen dimmed and went black and did nothing. I thought that it froze or something, so I rebooted the phone by holding power and up. The ROM never booted, so I tried Sinless Sense ROM. It did boot but the boot loops happened. My phone isn't S-Off if that helps. Also, when I boot into the bootloader, it says "RADIO-INVALID_VER_INFO" and "OpenDSP-INVALID_VER_INFO" To correect that I tried flashing a T-Moblie radio, but that didn't work. I'm not sure if the problems are related.

I will try the steps you reccommend when I get off work.
28th August 2014, 06:06 PM |#4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,767
 
8,780 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
No radio info in hboot is a known issue (reported by others). But I don't think in itself, its anything to worry about.
28th August 2014, 07:26 PM |#5  
Heisenberg420's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 649
 
1,664 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
If you haven't updated your firmware to 2.22 you should do that. Or dig up the latest ROM version for your firmware.
28th August 2014, 07:28 PM |#6  
OP Member
Flag Chicago
Thanks Meter: 1
 
63 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

No radio info in hboot is a known issue (reported by others). But I don't think in itself, its anything to worry about.

I got it to work somhow lol. I just flashed ARHD again and this time just let it sit for a while. The ROM booted up with no problem and is stable. I will still erase the cache and try CWM recovery. Thanks a lot for your support! Next stop is S-OFF!!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes