Update Overload: SuperSU Heavily Updated

There are apps and apps out there. Very few can reach the level of popularity required to stay at … more

Lollipop Leak Available for the Sprint Galaxy S5

Since the Android 5.0Lollipop’s official release not too long ago, we’ve seen … more

CPU Spy Gets an Android Lollipop Makeover

At some point in the distant past, you probably heard of CPU Spy for Android by XDARetired … more

Amazon Fire TV Stick vs Chromecast – XDA TV

There is no doubt that Amazon is a huge player in many markets, and they want to be a huge … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] Unable to update to 4.4.3 via OTA

OP Firefox17

25th July 2014, 10:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Hi,

I have the developer edition with root, s-off and twrp on stock version.

Yesterday I received the OTA and I wanted to update, I have searched here a little bit and I figured I had to revert back to stock recovery in order to update via OTA. so I did using this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376

I have flashed recovery version: 1.12.1540.17 based on the CID of my phone which is: BS_US002

And when I go back to the OS and hit on install update, it reboots my device and starts the update process but after a few moments I get a red triangle with an exclamation mark, then I reboot my device with power+volume up normally back to the OS but not updated

Can somebody help me to figure this out?

This is the contents of my gervar all command:
Code:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.16.0.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.16.21331931.LA11G
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: *************
(bootloader) imei: *************
(bootloader) imei2: Not Support
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m8_ul_ca
(bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
(bootloader) modelid: 0P6B12000
(bootloader) cidnum: BS_US002
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: ab0efa49
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.016s
Thanks a lot!
26th July 2014, 08:57 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Irvine, CA
Thanks Meter: 145
 
927 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17

Hi,

I have the developer edition with root, s-off and twrp on stock version.

Yesterday I received the OTA and I wanted to update, I have searched here a little bit and I figured I had to revert back to stock recovery in order to update via OTA. so I did using this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376

I have flashed recovery version: 1.12.1540.17 based on the CID of my phone which is: BS_US002

And when I go back to the OS and hit on install update, it reboots my device and starts the update process but after a few moments I get a red triangle with an exclamation mark, then I reboot my device with power+volume up normally back to the OS but not updated

Can somebody help me to figure this out?

This is the contents of my gervar all command:

Code:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.16.0.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.16.21331931.LA11G
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: *************
(bootloader) imei: *************
(bootloader) imei2: Not Support
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m8_ul_ca
(bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
(bootloader) modelid: 0P6B12000
(bootloader) cidnum: BS_US002
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: ab0efa49
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.016s
Thanks a lot!

wait your still on TWRP or stock recovery? there is no stock TWRP. TWRP is a custom recovery. you need to install a firmware that includes the stock recovery and then when you do the OTA from android it will send the right commands for the update when you restart into recovery.
26th July 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by syaoran68

wait your still on TWRP or stock recovery? there is no stock TWRP. TWRP is a custom recovery. you need to install a firmware that includes the stock recovery and then when you do the OTA from android it will send the right commands for the update when you restart into recovery.

No, I am not on TWRP. I have flashed the stock recovery from the post I linked in the OP.

Why do I have to flash a stock firmware if I have flashed the stock recovery?
26th July 2014, 10:12 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Irvine, CA
Thanks Meter: 145
 
927 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17

No, I am not on TWRP. I have flashed the stock recovery from the post I linked in the OP.

Why do I have to flash a stock firmware if I have flashed the stock recovery?

what rom are you using the GPE rom? or a custom rom?
26th July 2014, 11:55 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by syaoran68

what rom are you using the GPE rom? or a custom rom?

I am on stock just like I received it.

26th July 2014, 11:58 AM   |  #6  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,196
 
7,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Some of the system files are maybe missing.
Or the data/preload folder not in there as this usually get deleted when unlock bootloader.

Try with a nandroid backup in COLLECTION of Stock backup's thread.
26th July 2014, 12:02 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

Some of the system files are maybe missing.
Or the data/preload folder not in there as this usually get deleted when unlock bootloader.

Try with a nandroid backup in COLLECTION of Stock backup's thread.

I am sorry if this is a noob question but won't this delete my data?
26th July 2014, 12:17 PM   |  #8  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,196
 
7,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17

I am sorry if this is a noob question but won't this delete my data?

Yes....

Another thing that you can do ... search for the previous OTA to 1.54.1540.9 and take out the data/preload folder from it and put that folder to your data partition then do the update. This way you won't lose your data.

I'm not at my PC (away on holiday), if not I can make a flashable zip for you to add this to your current system. But still it needs all system files intact. Any missing apk in system, the OTA will fail.

Or

If system is the problem, you can restore then nandroid backup (system only). This way also you will not lose your data and do OTA whether it works or not... if the OTA doesn't care about data/preload, it will success.
26th July 2014, 02:15 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

Yes....

Another thing that you can do ... search for the previous OTA to 1.54.1540.9 and take out the data/preload folder from it and put that folder to your data partition then do the update. This way you won't lose your data.

I'm not at my PC (away on holiday), if not I can make a flashable zip for you to add this to your current system. But still it needs all system files intact. Any missing apk in system, the OTA will fail.

Or

If system is the problem, you can restore then nandroid backup (system only). This way also you will not lose your data and do OTA whether it works or not... if the OTA doesn't care about data/preload, it will success.

Okay, so I have obtained 1.54.1540.9 nandroid backup from the collection thread and extracted the preload folder from there and created a flashalbe zip for this.

Then I flashed TWRP again to flash the zip after that I flashed again the stock recovery and tried to update the OTA and yet again it failed.

How can flash system only from the nandroid backup?
26th July 2014, 02:24 PM   |  #10  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,196
 
7,122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17

How can flash system only from the nandroid backup?

Put the nandroid backup in your TWRP backup folder on sdcard
Boot to TWRP recovery and make your own backup (in case you need to revert)
Don't wipe anything, restore only system from the downloaded backup (untick data, boot, cache... tick only system)

If you are adventurous like me ... I make a nandroid backup of current one.
Wipe everything and restore downloaded nandroid to replace all.
Do the OTA
After OTA completion and running.
I flash/boot to TWRP again and restore data only from my own nandroid backup

So I have the new software version and not losing my data.

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_2014-07-26_20-20-37.png
Views:	98
Size:	95.3 KB
ID:	2871111

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ckpv5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
4.4.3, ota update
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes