Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,856 Members 37,819 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Unable to update to 4.4.3 via OTA

Tip us?
 
Firefox17
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: May 2009
Question [Q] Unable to update to 4.4.3 via OTA

Hi,

I have the developer edition with root, s-off and twrp on stock version.

Yesterday I received the OTA and I wanted to update, I have searched here a little bit and I figured I had to revert back to stock recovery in order to update via OTA. so I did using this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376

I have flashed recovery version: 1.12.1540.17 based on the CID of my phone which is: BS_US002

And when I go back to the OS and hit on install update, it reboots my device and starts the update process but after a few moments I get a red triangle with an exclamation mark, then I reboot my device with power+volume up normally back to the OS but not updated

Can somebody help me to figure this out?

This is the contents of my gervar all command:
Code:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.16.0.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.16.21331931.LA11G
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: *************
(bootloader) imei: *************
(bootloader) imei2: Not Support
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m8_ul_ca
(bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
(bootloader) modelid: 0P6B12000
(bootloader) cidnum: BS_US002
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: ab0efa49
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.016s
Thanks a lot!
 
syaoran68
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 897
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Irvine, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17 View Post
Hi,

I have the developer edition with root, s-off and twrp on stock version.

Yesterday I received the OTA and I wanted to update, I have searched here a little bit and I figured I had to revert back to stock recovery in order to update via OTA. so I did using this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376

I have flashed recovery version: 1.12.1540.17 based on the CID of my phone which is: BS_US002

And when I go back to the OS and hit on install update, it reboots my device and starts the update process but after a few moments I get a red triangle with an exclamation mark, then I reboot my device with power+volume up normally back to the OS but not updated

Can somebody help me to figure this out?

This is the contents of my gervar all command:
Code:
(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 3.16.0.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 1.16.21331931.LA11G
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
(bootloader) serialno: *************
(bootloader) imei: *************
(bootloader) imei2: Not Support
(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m8_ul_ca
(bootloader) platform: hTCBmsm8974
(bootloader) modelid: 0P6B12000
(bootloader) cidnum: BS_US002
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 0mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: off
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: ab0efa49
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!
finished. total time: 0.016s
Thanks a lot!
wait your still on TWRP or stock recovery? there is no stock TWRP. TWRP is a custom recovery. you need to install a firmware that includes the stock recovery and then when you do the OTA from android it will send the right commands for the update when you restart into recovery.
HTC One m8: Viper.always.

Nexus7 8gb: CMX.1 nightlies

Retired: HTC One M7/HTC Evo 4g LTE / HTC MyTouch4G / Apple Iphone 3g 16gb / Blackberry Tour 9600 / HTC Mogul(6800) / HTC Touch Pro / HTC Touch Pro2
 
Firefox17
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by syaoran68 View Post
wait your still on TWRP or stock recovery? there is no stock TWRP. TWRP is a custom recovery. you need to install a firmware that includes the stock recovery and then when you do the OTA from android it will send the right commands for the update when you restart into recovery.
No, I am not on TWRP. I have flashed the stock recovery from the post I linked in the OP.

Why do I have to flash a stock firmware if I have flashed the stock recovery?
 
syaoran68
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 897
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Irvine, CA

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17 View Post
No, I am not on TWRP. I have flashed the stock recovery from the post I linked in the OP.

Why do I have to flash a stock firmware if I have flashed the stock recovery?
what rom are you using the GPE rom? or a custom rom?
HTC One m8: Viper.always.

Nexus7 8gb: CMX.1 nightlies

Retired: HTC One M7/HTC Evo 4g LTE / HTC MyTouch4G / Apple Iphone 3g 16gb / Blackberry Tour 9600 / HTC Mogul(6800) / HTC Touch Pro / HTC Touch Pro2
 
Firefox17
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by syaoran68 View Post
what rom are you using the GPE rom? or a custom rom?
I am on stock just like I received it.

 
ckpv5
Old
#6  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,814
Posts: 6,839
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Some of the system files are maybe missing.
Or the data/preload folder not in there as this usually get deleted when unlock bootloader.

Try with a nandroid backup in COLLECTION of Stock backup's thread.
 
Firefox17
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5 View Post
Some of the system files are maybe missing.
Or the data/preload folder not in there as this usually get deleted when unlock bootloader.

Try with a nandroid backup in COLLECTION of Stock backup's thread.
I am sorry if this is a noob question but won't this delete my data?
 
ckpv5
Old
#8  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,814
Posts: 6,839
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17 View Post
I am sorry if this is a noob question but won't this delete my data?
Yes....

Another thing that you can do ... search for the previous OTA to 1.54.1540.9 and take out the data/preload folder from it and put that folder to your data partition then do the update. This way you won't lose your data.

I'm not at my PC (away on holiday), if not I can make a flashable zip for you to add this to your current system. But still it needs all system files intact. Any missing apk in system, the OTA will fail.

Or

If system is the problem, you can restore then nandroid backup (system only). This way also you will not lose your data and do OTA whether it works or not... if the OTA doesn't care about data/preload, it will success.
 
Firefox17
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 17
Join Date: May 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5 View Post
Yes....

Another thing that you can do ... search for the previous OTA to 1.54.1540.9 and take out the data/preload folder from it and put that folder to your data partition then do the update. This way you won't lose your data.

I'm not at my PC (away on holiday), if not I can make a flashable zip for you to add this to your current system. But still it needs all system files intact. Any missing apk in system, the OTA will fail.

Or

If system is the problem, you can restore then nandroid backup (system only). This way also you will not lose your data and do OTA whether it works or not... if the OTA doesn't care about data/preload, it will success.
Okay, so I have obtained 1.54.1540.9 nandroid backup from the collection thread and extracted the preload folder from there and created a flashalbe zip for this.

Then I flashed TWRP again to flash the zip after that I flashed again the stock recovery and tried to update the OTA and yet again it failed.

How can flash system only from the nandroid backup?
 
ckpv5
Old
#10  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,814
Posts: 6,839
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Firefox17 View Post
How can flash system only from the nandroid backup?
Put the nandroid backup in your TWRP backup folder on sdcard
Boot to TWRP recovery and make your own backup (in case you need to revert)
Don't wipe anything, restore only system from the downloaded backup (untick data, boot, cache... tick only system)

If you are adventurous like me ... I make a nandroid backup of current one.
Wipe everything and restore downloaded nandroid to replace all.
Do the OTA
After OTA completion and running.
I flash/boot to TWRP again and restore data only from my own nandroid backup

So I have the new software version and not losing my data.

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot_2014-07-26_20-20-37.png
Views:	60
Size:	95.3 KB
ID:	2871111

The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ckpv5 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
4.4.3, ota update
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes