Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

keeps freezing once in a while

OP jhun80

16th July 2014, 09:49 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Screen turns blank, then earlier the phone was charging and the charging indicator or the light notification wont go off even though its unplugged already. I have to hard reset by holding power button and volume up key for 10secs. Its been happening for a couple of weeks now. I did some factory reset and hope it doesnt do it again. Anybody experience same situation?

Does rooting solves the problem? Mine is locked to tmo.
16th July 2014, 08:21 PM   |  #2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,360
 
7,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Is there an RUU for your variant? If so, I'd try that. RUU is a complete software image. So if its a software issue, RUU will hopefully fix it. Factory reset would only make a difference if some setting or 3rd party app caused the issue; since all factory reset does is wipe user data (/data partition).

Rooting in itself won't solve the issue. It hard to say whether this is hardware or software related, so therefore also hard to tell if a different ROM or other mod will help. I'd be hesitant to recommend rooting to try to fix an issue which is quite obviously a manufacturing defect of some sort (whether it be software or hardware). You would be possibly voiding the warranty for something that is most likely a warranty issue.

If you factory reset, and RUU (if that is available) and the issue persists, I'd seek warranty service. In that case, it might be a hardware issue.
17th July 2014, 03:03 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Is there an RUU for your variant? If so, I'd try that. RUU is a complete software image. So if its a software issue, RUU will hopefully fix it. Factory reset would only make a difference if some setting or 3rd party app caused the issue; since all factory reset does is wipe user data (/data partition).

Rooting in itself won't solve the issue. It hard to say whether this is hardware or software related, so therefore also hard to tell if a different ROM or other mod will help. I'd be hesitant to recommend rooting to try to fix an issue which is quite obviously a manufacturing defect of some sort (whether it be software or hardware). You would be possibly voiding the warranty for something that is most likely a warranty issue.

If you factory reset, and RUU (if that is available) and the issue persists, I'd seek warranty service. In that case, it might be a hardware issue.

Its' all in stock and from tmobile's latest OTA update.
How does the warranty works? Do I have to send to htc itself?
Thank you
17th July 2014, 03:22 PM   |  #4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,360
 
7,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhun80

Its' all in stock and from tmobile's latest OTA update.
How does the warranty works? Do I have to send to htc itself?
Thank you

Didn't personally know, as I'm not on T-Mobile. But it took me 2 seconds of Googling to find this:
http://support.t-mobile.com/docs/DOC-2624
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes