Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Android Lollipop Lands for the Sony Xperia Z Ultra

The undisputed king of the beasts–at least in Sony’s current stable,is the … more

Android 5.0 Lollipop in 3D–EVO 3D, That Is!

It is that time of the year once again. Flowers bloom (or snow falls, depending on which … more

Gaming Console with Lollipop? Ouya Gets an Android TV Port

Android is a very flexible platform, and it can be used on a large variety of … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Help with s-off and ota

OP MAhtc

19th August 2014, 08:53 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Hi I have tried to go back to stock to do ota, and now I'm s-on can't get s-off again or get the ota to install or flash, I'm stuck and in need of some.Help please
19th August 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,295
 
7,549 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Not enough info. Did you restore stock recovery? Why can't you install OTA (what error messages, etc.)?

Did you turn it back to S-on after doing S-off? If so, you didn't need to, as s-on is not required for OTA.

What is the current state of the phone, is it bootlooping, etc.?
20th August 2014, 07:46 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
The error.message from htc says the phone is rooted or tampered with and.cannot perform.update, I tried recovery and.relocking, to see if i can do the ota, same.error, I tried to flash the ota by going into the recovery screen after recovery to stock, where hold volume up and.press power brings up a menu to install from device or sd card, no luck there, says invalid cid
20th August 2014, 07:50 AM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Current state of.the phone is rooted twrp, unlocked, s-on (firewater doesn't.work anymore), Harman karman installed, supercid, phone has boot looped but supersu did a update, so far no more boot loop, kit Kat 4.4.2, software #1.55.6664
20th August 2014, 08:56 AM   |  #5  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 90
 
354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAhtc

Current state of.the phone is rooted twrp, unlocked, s-on (firewater doesn't.work anymore), Harman karman installed, supercid, phone has boot looped but supersu did a update, so far no more boot loop, kit Kat 4.4.2, software #1.55.6664

It's a guess but H/K is a mod changing Kernel and will thus prevent OTA from succeeding as far as I know.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
20th August 2014, 11:54 AM   |  #6  
Member
Flag sulaimanyah
Thanks Meter: 4
 
44 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAhtc

Hi I have tried to go back to stock to do ota, and now I'm s-on can't get s-off again or get the ota to install or flash, I'm stuck and in need of some.Help please

CID please
20th August 2014, 03:07 PM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCNerdYoda

It's a guess but H/K is a mod changing Kernel and will thus prevent OTA from succeeding as far as I know.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app

How can I fix that ?
20th August 2014, 03:18 PM   |  #8  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 90
 
354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAhtc

How can I fix that ?

Perform a clean install of a TWRP Backup (of course one that fits your CID/MID, which is why @zhiarw asked for it I think) without this mod. After this reinstall stock recovery and try OTA again.

This should do the job.


Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by HTCNerdYoda; 20th August 2014 at 03:35 PM.
20th August 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhiarw

CID please

As stated, supercid at the moment, original cid is saskt001
20th August 2014, 03:38 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,007
 
3,716 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Go back to clean but older ROM and try Firewater again.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes