Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more
Post Reply

HELP: Can't write to internal storage?

OP BrandonPrice31

2nd July 2014, 05:32 AM   |  #1  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Whenever I try to move a file to internal storage when I connect my phone to laptop, it won't let me transfer. Same thing when trying file explorers on my phone.

ARHD, Elemental Kernel, S-off?
2nd July 2014, 05:43 AM   |  #2  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 931
 
2,841 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
"Won't let me" means exactly what?
Maybe your firewall is blocking it?
Does your device show up as media device in WinExplorer?
What kind of files and size?
Have you tried Superbeam or Airdroid = transfer over WiFI?
Or even better: set up a shared folder (shared with everyone) on your laptop's C: drive, get File Manager HD or ES Explorer on your phone and transfer files via the network share.
2nd July 2014, 05:48 AM   |  #3  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

"Won't let me" means exactly what?
Maybe your firewall is blocking it?
Does your device show up as media device in WinExplorer?
What kind of files and size?
Have you tried Superbeam or Airdroid = transfer over WiFI?
Or even better: set up a shared folder (shared with everyone) on your laptop's C: drive, get File Manager HD or ES Explorer on your phone and transfer files via the network share.

I cannot write any files to my Viper4Android folder that I'm supposed to be allowed to (put IRS files in there). Computer and ES Explorer won't let me copy to that folder.
2nd July 2014, 05:59 AM   |  #4  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 931
 
2,841 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonPrice31

I cannot write any files to my Viper4Android folder that I'm supposed to be allowed to (put IRS files in there). Computer and ES Explorer won't let me copy to that folder.

Check the folder's permissions. Long press and details
You sure the folder is not on the system partition which is write protected?
Post it's path
2nd July 2014, 06:00 AM   |  #5  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Check the folder's permissions. Long press and details
You sure the folder is not on the system partition which is write protected?
Post it's path

Nope - files are supposed to be copied there.

It says readable and writable :S

I can't even delete the folder. This makes no sense!
Last edited by BrandonPrice31; 2nd July 2014 at 06:03 AM.
2nd July 2014, 06:01 AM   |  #6  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 931
 
2,841 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonPrice31

Nope - files are supposed to be copied there.

It says readable and writable :S

And the path?
2nd July 2014, 06:03 AM   |  #7  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

And the path?

/sdcard/
2nd July 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #8  
berndblb's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 931
 
2,841 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonPrice31

/sdcard/

Crazy!????
Do you have TWRP? Boot into it and under Advanced choose 'fix permissions'.
2nd July 2014, 06:08 AM   |  #9  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
966 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Crazy!????
Do you have TWRP? Boot into it and under Advanced choose 'fix permissions'.

Tried dirty install, see if that works.

Yes I have TWRP, will try if dirty install of ARHD doesn't work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank