Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HELP: Can't write to internal storage?

OP BrandonPrice31

2nd July 2014, 06:32 AM   |  #1  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Whenever I try to move a file to internal storage when I connect my phone to laptop, it won't let me transfer. Same thing when trying file explorers on my phone.

ARHD, Elemental Kernel, S-off?
2nd July 2014, 06:43 AM   |  #2  
berndblb's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,070
 
3,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
"Won't let me" means exactly what?
Maybe your firewall is blocking it?
Does your device show up as media device in WinExplorer?
What kind of files and size?
Have you tried Superbeam or Airdroid = transfer over WiFI?
Or even better: set up a shared folder (shared with everyone) on your laptop's C: drive, get File Manager HD or ES Explorer on your phone and transfer files via the network share.
2nd July 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #3  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

"Won't let me" means exactly what?
Maybe your firewall is blocking it?
Does your device show up as media device in WinExplorer?
What kind of files and size?
Have you tried Superbeam or Airdroid = transfer over WiFI?
Or even better: set up a shared folder (shared with everyone) on your laptop's C: drive, get File Manager HD or ES Explorer on your phone and transfer files via the network share.

I cannot write any files to my Viper4Android folder that I'm supposed to be allowed to (put IRS files in there). Computer and ES Explorer won't let me copy to that folder.
2nd July 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #4  
berndblb's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,070
 
3,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonPrice31

I cannot write any files to my Viper4Android folder that I'm supposed to be allowed to (put IRS files in there). Computer and ES Explorer won't let me copy to that folder.

Check the folder's permissions. Long press and details
You sure the folder is not on the system partition which is write protected?
Post it's path
2nd July 2014, 07:00 AM   |  #5  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Check the folder's permissions. Long press and details
You sure the folder is not on the system partition which is write protected?
Post it's path

Nope - files are supposed to be copied there.

It says readable and writable :S

I can't even delete the folder. This makes no sense!
Last edited by BrandonPrice31; 2nd July 2014 at 07:03 AM.
2nd July 2014, 07:01 AM   |  #6  
berndblb's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,070
 
3,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonPrice31

Nope - files are supposed to be copied there.

It says readable and writable :S

And the path?
2nd July 2014, 07:03 AM   |  #7  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

And the path?

/sdcard/
2nd July 2014, 07:07 AM   |  #8  
berndblb's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Los Angeles, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,070
 
3,217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrandonPrice31

/sdcard/

Crazy!????
Do you have TWRP? Boot into it and under Advanced choose 'fix permissions'.
2nd July 2014, 07:08 AM   |  #9  
BrandonPrice31's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 125
 
974 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb

Crazy!????
Do you have TWRP? Boot into it and under Advanced choose 'fix permissions'.

Tried dirty install, see if that works.

Yes I have TWRP, will try if dirty install of ARHD doesn't work.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes