Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,319 Members 52,900 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] How to bring HTC One M8 back to original firmware for a complete novice - SOLVED

Tip us?

skeletiko
Old
(Last edited by skeletiko; 3rd August 2014 at 08:56 PM.)
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 9
Sign [Q] How to bring HTC One M8 back to original firmware for a complete novice - SOLVED

Hello,

I've bought an HTC One M8 at ebay a few days ago.. the device was sold as a Google Edition one, although, after I bought it, I realized that it was an unlocked HTC One M8 with a Google Edition rom (description in english wasn't so complete as the german one :P).. for me that wouldn't be a problem, although I would prefer to have the genuine firmware (I like the original HTC software)..therefore, I asked the user to change the firmware before sending the phone to me.

After receiving the phone, I've noticed that firmware version is "Android Revolution HD 8.1 by mike1986".. therefore,.. not the original rom from HTC.. besides this, there's also some "leftovers" of the google edition, as you can see in the image below (appears when I reboot the phone) .
The user told me that he has spent almost three hours to install that rom,.. and that he couldn't ger rid of the "Google" symbol whenever reboot the phone, as he had almost bricked the phone when he was trying.

What I would like to know is if there is the possibility to change the firmware to the original HTC firmware, exactly as if I was getting the phone from the store (with all the applications that comes with it) and that also allows me to benefit from HTC warranty?

If so, is there any step by step guide to safely do it?