Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HTC One M8 Camera/Video Recording Bug

OP CoreyWat

28th July 2014, 07:11 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
I currently have the HTC One (M8) for Att and have the strangest bug in the HTC stock camera app.
When I go into video mode and hit the "record button", the button will only work EXACTLY every other time.
Now this is what I currently done to try to find a solution to No Avail.
  • Force Closed the app
  • Cleared the Cache
  • Reset the phone many times
  • Factory restored the phone twice.

Now the Google camera works fine, so this seems to be a software issue. I have got the HTC Camera app to work only once
by resetting the phone, and not installing any updates from the play store for the htc apps, and att bloatware.
btw the htc m8 is not rooted, as stock as they come.

If you have any thoughts on how to fix this bug I would GREATLY appreciate it
28th July 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #2  
wnp_79's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Nottingham
Thanks Meter: 636
 
1,290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Donate to Me
More
I have noticed exactly the same thing. On completely stock phone on 1.54.401.10.

I am learning to double stab the shutter button! Almost certainly a bug HTC need to squash, unless it's in the manual somewhere. Do you also have terrible strobing when you use live HDR mode?


Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th July 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #3  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Try disabling the Google Now/Ok Google available in all screens. I think it interferes with microphone on the video camera. The first press seems to disable the Ok Google listening, then the second press allows recording. It worked for me.. It seems to cause crashing of the camera app in some instances as well, according to the thread here....http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...a-app-t2831209
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to flyera343 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th July 2014, 03:02 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyera343

Try disabling the Google Now/Ok Google available in all screens. I think it interferes with microphone on the video camera. The first press seems to disable the Ok Google listening, then the second press allows recording. It worked for me.. It seems to cause crashing of the camera app in some instances as well, according to the thread here....http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...a-app-t2831209

Oh my God!
Dude thanks so Much!!! Going on vacation in a matter of hours, and it was such a bummer for video not to work right, and after troubleshooting for hours, to find that's my always listening google now was the issue, was so relieving, props bro
31st July 2014, 02:37 AM   |  #5  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Thanks to @komugi for the troubleshooting in the above mentioned thread.... Have a great vacation....
31st July 2014, 02:44 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag NYC, CT
Thanks Meter: 40
 
238 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyera343

Thanks to @komugi for the troubleshooting in the above mentioned thread.... Have a great vacation....

Good to know my solution is helping people figure it out. I went through 3-4 wipes/restores/flash to custom roms, thinking it was either Xposed or root causing it to figure it out, lol, so I'm glad that you guys didn't have to go through that.
31st July 2014, 02:59 AM   |  #7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by komugi

Good to know my solution is helping people figure it out. I went through 3-4 wipes/restores/flash to custom roms, thinking it was either Xposed or root causing it to figure it out, lol, so I'm glad that you guys didn't have to go through that.

Just for info.. I am on ARHD 7.0, and used velvet.zip to enable Ok Google in all screens. Guess camera 6.0.772726 did not like that.. Any updated camera.apk I tried was not successful either..
27th August 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
UPDATE Android 4.4.3 Update Fixes the bug, (Currently I have the Att model) no more issues with google now and video recording, the camera infacts shows the mic from google now stopping with a message
The Following User Says Thank You to CoreyWat For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st October 2014, 06:55 PM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Flag Ottawa
Thanks Meter: 2
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Thumbs up
thanks for this I thought is was exposed as well but turning of ok google from any screen did the trick
22nd November 2014, 08:58 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 110
 
476 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
This thread just saved my Saturday! On VIPER 3.1 and I don't use the video feature much but had to send a short instructional video via text on how to remove a laptop hard drive and the darn camera kept crashing...disabling Google now on all screens did the trick and saved me hours of frustration! Thank you!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes