FORUMS

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more

NVidia SHIELD TV – XDA TV Device Review

The SHIELD TV is a not an Android smartphone device. However, that doesn’t mean it … more

PSA: Having cellular connectivity or texting issues tonight?

You’re not alone…Tonight, many users are experiencing a myriad … more

Beats Music No Longer Accepting New Accounts

Whenever Apple launches a new product or service, it definitely manages to grab the … more

[Q] HTC one M8 OTA update issue lollipop

15 posts
Thanks Meter: 0

By datbeastanon, Junior Member on 3rd February 2015, 06:30 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello all,

I am new to all this, techy stuff, and have recently bought a htc one m8. I had it rooted for me, but I didn't want to pay for GPE. I then found out Lollipop has been released, and tried to get it by going into software info on settings, but I couldn't get the lollipop update, as my phone says 'Your phone software is up to date with the latest version'. I realised that because of my root, my phone wasn't on the same channel as it was on before. I found another way to get lollipop, but that meant buying sunshine for $25. Is there another free alternative? I thought I could unroot my phone, then reroot it, but I do not know how to unroot, get update then reroot. Can I please get help?

3rd February 2015, 08:05 PM |#2  
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door
Thanks Meter: 10,292

Donate to Me
More
Hi,

Thanks for writing to us at XDA Assist, in order to help you effectively I need to know which variant of the M8 you have please.
3rd February 2015, 08:10 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member

More
I have the gsm version
3rd February 2015, 08:13 PM |#4  
Forum Moderator
Knocking on your door

Donate to Me
More
Ok, so it's not carrier branded at all?
3rd February 2015, 08:17 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member

More
no its not.