[Q] HTc One M8t (China) root and HTC Sense original?

OP CrimeRider93

13th July 2014, 11:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0

3 posts
Hi XDA

Im lost! I bought the HTC One M8t in China today, in a real store, so its not a fake. Im on vacation in China and come from Denmark.

I belived it would just be plug'n'play with this phone, but since its bought in china there is a lot of chinese apps and no Play store

I asked around and i realised i will have to root the phone. Im a totel rookie and i have never done it before, so i hope you guys can lead me in the right direction.

Questions:
1. How do i root my HTC One M8t?
2. Can i get the original HTC Sense from my region (Denmark/Europe) on my phone?
2.1 If yes, how do i do that?
2.2 If no, can i get Android L on my phone?

I really hope someone can help me, i am totally lost and really frustrated since i thought it would be an easy task to get it up and running.

//Crime
7th August 2014, 03:53 PM   |  #2  
Thanks Meter: 1

5 posts
Help is here...kind of
Hey CrimeRider93.

I've been reading up on this topic because I've just landed myself in the same situation.

So, I managed to root my M8t but I haven't managed to flash another ROM (like your Danish one) to it yet. The reason for this is because I can't get rid of the S-ON on the phone which stops you from installing custom ROMs. To my knowledge, although I'm still searching, there isn't a way yet.

The slightly good news is that you can put a ROM that was designed specifically for the M8t on it but I haven't managed to find one with Google Play etc. yet.

So in conclusion, you can root your phone but you can't put anything useful on it yet (that I know of).

I hope I've cleared things up a little and if you'd like an explanation on how to root the M8t I'd be happy to tell you, just let me know.
8th August 2014, 07:18 PM   |  #3  
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 89

347 posts
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwprice80

Hey CrimeRider93.