Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HTC Back-up service dont works on wifi after update android 4.4.3

OP Justin2003

29th August 2014, 04:41 PM   |  #1  
Justin2003's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kerkrade
Thanks Meter: 82
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
After the update to Android 4.4.3 my M8 cannot make backups with the HTC Back-up service on Wi-Fi. On LTE it works well.
I become the following message:The HTC backup service is unavailable at this time. Please try again later. (Translated with Google)
29th August 2014, 11:46 PM   |  #2  
IAmSixNine's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dallas
Thanks Meter: 98
 
621 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Not sure which carrier you have but im on TMO stock M8 with the new 4.4.3 update and i just performed a back up on WiFi using the HTC Backup.
30th August 2014, 12:02 AM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Exeter
Thanks Meter: 1
 
29 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin2003

After the update to Android 4.4.3 my M8 cannot make backups with the HTC Back-up service on Wi-Fi. On LTE it works well.
I become the following message:The HTC backup service is unavailable at this time. Please try again later. (Translated with Google)

Stock ROM?
30th August 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2009
I haven't had any luck with the HTC backup lately. It seems to get part way and fail. It I run it manually it gives me a generic could not reach HTC backup service error.
30th August 2014, 01:10 PM   |  #5  
Justin2003's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kerkrade
Thanks Meter: 82
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
I am complete stock rom with S-Off and Super CID. The problem is not the WiFi because it dont works now with LTE.
30th August 2014, 01:10 PM   |  #6  
Justin2003's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kerkrade
Thanks Meter: 82
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aukutsutsu

I haven't had any luck with the HTC backup lately. It seems to get part way and fail. It I run it manually it gives me a generic could not reach HTC backup service error.

Thats the same error.
30th August 2014, 02:48 PM   |  #7  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Cologne
Thanks Meter: 90
 
354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Justin2003

Thats the same error.

I never encountert the error but read of it on a German forum. They went through the following for a solution:


1) clear htc backup data under settings APPs
2) clear play services data under settings APPs for those who use Google account to backup (maybe also dropbox for those on dropbox)
3) rename phone


After those steps they set up HTC backup again and it worked.

Some of them wiped cache as well prior to setting up backup again, but doesn't make sense for me in this case.


Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
30th August 2014, 03:26 PM   |  #8  
Justin2003's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Kerkrade
Thanks Meter: 82
 
252 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCNerdYoda

I never encountert the error but read of it on a German forum. They went through the following for a solution:


1) clear htc backup data under settings APPs
2) clear play services data under settings APPs for those who use Google account to backup (maybe also dropbox for those on dropbox)
3) rename phone


After those steps they set up HTC backup again and it worked.

Some of them wiped cache as well prior to setting up backup again, but doesn't make sense for me in this case.


Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app

It do not work for me. My wife's M7 have the same problem after update Android 4.4.3

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
android, back-up, htc
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes