Should You Get Wear? Wearer’s Practical Observations

Wear is said to not offer enough for mass adoption, even though its been in … more

SlimRoms: Updates on the Horizon

SlimRoms’ website has been experiencing technical difficulties for the last month or so, but … more

Your Favorite Wireless Charger?

Wireless charging is becoming more and more common as many OEMs are now starting to include this feature … more

ASUS US Invites Developers at XDA to Special Event

ASUS has built a solid name over the years for their computer components, but in the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Imperial Google Maps is driving me mad

25th November 2014, 11:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
I recently swapped my HTC One for another under warranty. The old phone was unlocked, S-ON running an older ARHD (Kit Kat 4.4.2). The nandroid backup I made didn't work, so I upgraded my replacement phone OTA to Kit Kat 4.4.3, unlocked, S-OFF using the Sunshine method, restored from my HTC Cloud back-up, and got everything up and running.

Problem is, now Google Maps navigation is in miles and yards. Maps itself is metric; but navigation is imperial. I'm running Maps 6.14.4.

I'm in Australia; we're metric. If I set the system locale (via settings or "my locale 2" on Google Play) to ANY ENGLISH LOCALE (e.g. English / Australia, English / Singapore, English / Canada, English / United Kingdom), it navigates in miles. If I set it to (say) French, it navigates in kilometers. When in normal maps view, it's always in kilometers, regardless of the locale.

Before the phone swap, I set the locale to English (United Kingdom) to get the nice British voice, and it navigated in kilometers no problem.

I hate Google maps 7.xx onwards, so that's not an option. Any ideas?

Signed: bamboozled
25th November 2014, 03:51 PM   |  #2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,675
 
8,558 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Can you just set the language to English UK in Settings?
25th November 2014, 09:20 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Can you just set the language to English UK in Settings?

That's the problem. In my new phone, if I set it to "English UK" (or any English language), then Google Navigation switches to miles and yards. I don't think in miles and yards so it's super annoying. My old phone always used metric.
25th November 2014, 09:55 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Derry, NH
Thanks Meter: 169
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
I know you 'hate' the new Google Maps but have you tried it to see if the problem is there too?
25th November 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by thebobmannh

I know you 'hate' the new Google Maps but have you tried it to see if the problem is there too?

The new Google maps has a setting.. metric, imperial or 'auto'.
The default setting (auto) results in metric, which is correct.
I'll try a factory reset on ARHD and see what happens.
It's a pity Google wrecked maps with v7 onwards
26th November 2014, 01:46 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Derry, NH
Thanks Meter: 169
 
499 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fullshred

The new Google maps has a setting.. metric, imperial or 'auto'.
The default setting (auto) results in metric, which is correct.
I'll try a factory reset on ARHD and see what happens.
It's a pity Google wrecked maps with v7 onwards

"Made minor changes" == wrecked. I love how dramatic everyone is nowadays.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes