Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Converting to GPe. Firewater fail

OP Peebop

1st September 2014, 08:50 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Hi guys. I'm convert ing my AT&T M8 to GPe since I'm used to using my nexus tablet so much. This is my first shot at custom ROMs with android but I used to be big into the homebrew scene in the good old PSP days, so I'm not a stranger to modifying devices past their potential lol.

I've flashed my custom recovery and have installed supersu to the device, however.0, after running firewater, it fails and says firewater can't work with the device. It stops after "chugging first bottle"

I even installed Insertcoin rom because it says to do it with a rom with an insecure kernel for better results and it still fails.


- on a side note, while I have insertcoin installed in the meantime, does anyone know why after I flashed the rom my boot time is a few minutes long now? Seems strange to me.


Anyways, any help/comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.
1st September 2014, 09:11 AM   |  #2  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 416
 
1,162 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peebop

Hi guys. I'm convert ing my AT&T M8 to GPe since I'm used to using my nexus tablet so much. This is my first shot at custom ROMs with android but I used to be big into the homebrew scene in the good old PSP days, so I'm not a stranger to modifying devices past their potential lol.

I've flashed my custom recovery and have installed supersu to the device, however.0, after running firewater, it fails and says firewater can't work with the device. It stops after "chugging first bottle"

I even installed Insertcoin rom because it says to do it with a rom with an insecure kernel for better results and it still fails.


- on a side note, while I have insertcoin installed in the meantime, does anyone know why after I flashed the rom my boot time is a few minutes long now? Seems strange to me.


Anyways, any help/comments are greatly appreciated. Thanks so much.

HTC patched the exploit Firewater used, doesn't work anymore. Can try Sunshine S-OFF

[Android][HTC S-OFF] SunShine for modern HTC devices

It's $25 , though it works and even in the event that it "might" not work. Your device gets tested to make sure it'll work before you have to pay the money, so if it passes you can pay, if it won't succeed you won't need to pay $25 for something that won't work...
1st September 2014, 05:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Ah fiddlesticks! No way around that, huh? Well I guess I can learn to live with Sense. Does anybody recommend any other roms that don't need s-off other than the Insertcoin one I'm running now? I can learn to live with it but it does take roughly 5 minutes to boot, which is kind of a pain. Just wondering. Thanks.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
1st September 2014, 05:54 PM   |  #4  
agentbardall's Avatar
Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 11
 
45 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peebop

Ah fiddlesticks! No way around that, huh? Well I guess I can learn to live with Sense. Does anybody recommend any other roms that don't need s-off other than the Insertcoin one I'm running now? I can learn to live with it but it does take roughly 5 minutes to boot, which is kind of a pain. Just wondering. Thanks.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app

the long boot time is due to out of date firmware look in the development section on updating firmware with S-On
The Following User Says Thank You to agentbardall For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st September 2014, 05:55 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
You can run GPE edition ROMS on your device. Check out SkyDragon GPE or SinlessGPE
The Following User Says Thank You to metaphz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd September 2014, 02:11 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaphz

You can run GPE edition ROMS on your device. Check out SkyDragon GPE or SinlessGPE

I flashed Sinless. So far I love it and no issues. Thank you for the suggestion!
2nd September 2014, 02:19 AM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peebop

I flashed Sinless. So far I love it and no issues. Thank you for the suggestion!

No problem Keep me posted on what you like or dislike. I've been running SkyDragon since I got my HTC and would like to try that since I am itching to flash something.

Don't forget to check out Gravity Box for KK on he Xposed modules.
2nd September 2014, 02:42 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaphz

No problem Keep me posted on what you like or dislike. I've been running SkyDragon since I got my HTC and would like to try that since I am itching to flash something.

Don't forget to check out Gravity Box for KK on he Xposed modules.

definitely will check it out once I get into the rom a bit.

One more quick, possibly stupid question (I'm sorry to be a pain). Granted, I understand that the sense overlay is meant to run the sense based software and was never designed for crossover development, but is there any way to bring over the duo camera software to the GPe rom? If not, it's no big deal. I was just curious. It's honestly the only thing I'd miss. The standard google cam software is alright, but I know the camera is meant to do certain things. Just wondering.
2nd September 2014, 03:40 AM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 78
 
366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peebop

definitely will check it out once I get into the rom a bit.

One more quick, possibly stupid question (I'm sorry to be a pain). Granted, I understand that the sense overlay is meant to run the sense based software and was never designed for crossover development, but is there any way to bring over the duo camera software to the GPe rom? If not, it's no big deal. I was just curious. It's honestly the only thing I'd miss. The standard google cam software is alright, but I know the camera is meant to do certain things. Just wondering.

In not entirely certain about this but apparently since GPE was built specific for this device the GPE camera app supports the hardware of the camera including the duo. The difference is the camera effects which can be done post picture with the HTC software available from the play store
2nd September 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
9 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by metaphz

In not entirely certain about this but apparently since GPE was built specific for this device the GPE camera app supports the hardware of the camera including the duo. The difference is the camera effects which can be done post picture with the HTC software available from the play store


Alright cool. Thank you so much.


Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes