Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,462 Members 42,204 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

is my m8 fake??

Tip us?
 
liorderei
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 394
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: herzlia
Default is my m8 fake??

Hi guys,
I just received my HTC m8 bbuti noticed something strange first of all the Rom was already installed and it was in Chinese, second I looked in the hardware details and on phone name says my htcm8x and at the back oh the phone on the buttom in the model it says one m8x what is m8x anyway?? Should I be worrying?
 
ckpv5
Old
(Last edited by ckpv5; 28th August 2014 at 03:12 AM.)
#2  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,830
Posts: 6,852
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
It's an Asian version M8 with 2.5 GHz processor
Mine is M8x too.
 
Root-Maniac
Old
#3  
Root-Maniac's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 545
Posts: 1,437
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SO. Cali.

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei View Post
Hi guys,
I just received my HTC m8 bbuti noticed something strange first of all the Rom was already installed and it was in Chinese, second I looked in the hardware details and on phone name says my htcm8x and at the back oh the phone on the buttom in the model it says one m8x what is m8x anyway?? Should I be worrying?
Thats the Indonesian Version of the HTC M8,(Dual Sim) Here are some more details:


http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&i...4_lte-a_htc_m8
 
liorderei
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 394
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: herzlia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5 View Post
It's an Asian version M8.
Mine is M8x too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Root-Maniac View Post
Thats the Indonesian Version of the HTC M8,(Dual Sim) Here are some more details:


http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&i...4_lte-a_htc_m8
thanks for the replies
Are there any hardware difference? Does all custom rims and unlock works the same?
 
ckpv5
Old
#5  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,830
Posts: 6,852
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei View Post
thanks for the replies
Are there any hardware difference? Does all custom rims and unlock works the same?
I can't talk about dual SIM version as mine is a single SIM version.
For single SIM, yes all hardware almost the same except the processor.
And all custom ROMs and unlock work the same as other Int'l GSM M8.

For dual SIM ... none of the custom ROM made for single SIM work on it.

So .. which is yours ? Single SIM or dual SIM ?
 
liorderei
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 394
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: herzlia
I don't think I have dual SIM...I have a place in the left upper side for SIM and right upper side for ad card.. and what's the differences in the processorsthank for the replies I'm really nervous here :/
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5 View Post
I can't talk about dual SIM version as mine is a single SIM version.
For single SIM, yes all hardware almost the same except the processor.
And all custom ROMs and unlock work the same as other Int'l GSM M8.

For dual SIM ... none of the custom ROM made for single SIM work on it.

So .. which is yours ? Single SIM or dual SIM ?
 
ckpv5
Old
#7  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,830
Posts: 6,852
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei View Post
I don't think I have dual SIM...I have a place in the left upper side for SIM and right upper side for ad card.. and what's the differences in the processorsthank for the replies I'm really nervous here :/
Yours is a single SIM like mine.
No need to worry too much on processor thing. HTC release a few type of processor to certain region.

Most important, take note the software version no. in settings - about
and make a backup before you do anything else like installing a custom ROM
 
liorderei
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 394
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: herzlia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5 View Post
Yours is a single SIM like mine.
No need to worry too much on processor thing. HTC release a few type of processor to certain region.

Most important, take note the software version no. in settings - about
and make a backup before you do anything else like installing a custom ROM
thanks a lot for your help you really calmed me down, My software version is 1.54.709.12 does it matters? And I'll try to unlock it and change it to s-off in a couple of hours I hope everything will go smooth
 
ckpv5
Old
#9  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 8,830
Posts: 6,852
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Kuala Lumpur

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei View Post
thanks a lot for your help you really calmed me down, My software version is 1.54.709.12 does it matters? And I'll try to unlock it and change it to s-off in a couple of hours I hope everything will go smooth
There's a new update to 2.22.709.4 for your device.
Check for software update first before you do unlocking (settings - about - software update)
 
liorderei
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 394
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: herzlia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5 View Post
There's a new update to 2.22.709.4 for your device.
Check for software update first before you do unlocking (settings - about - software update)
Will do, thanks a lot man I really appreciate your help!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes