Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

is my m8 fake??

OP liorderei

28th August 2014, 04:03 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag herzlia
Thanks Meter: 87
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Hi guys,
I just received my HTC m8 bbuti noticed something strange first of all the Rom was already installed and it was in Chinese, second I looked in the hardware details and on phone name says my htcm8x and at the back oh the phone on the buttom in the model it says one m8x what is m8x anyway?? Should I be worrying?
28th August 2014, 04:07 AM   |  #2  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,513
 
7,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
It's an Asian version M8 with 2.5 GHz processor
Mine is M8x too.
Last edited by ckpv5; 28th August 2014 at 04:12 AM.
28th August 2014, 04:07 AM   |  #3  
Account currently disabled
Flag SO. Cali.
Thanks Meter: 550
 
1,451 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei

Hi guys,
I just received my HTC m8 bbuti noticed something strange first of all the Rom was already installed and it was in Chinese, second I looked in the hardware details and on phone name says my htcm8x and at the back oh the phone on the buttom in the model it says one m8x what is m8x anyway?? Should I be worrying?

Thats the Indonesian Version of the HTC M8,(Dual Sim) Here are some more details:


http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&i...4_lte-a_htc_m8
28th August 2014, 04:12 AM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Flag herzlia
Thanks Meter: 87
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

It's an Asian version M8.
Mine is M8x too.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Root-Maniac

Thats the Indonesian Version of the HTC M8,(Dual Sim) Here are some more details:


http://pdadb.net/index.php?m=specs&i...4_lte-a_htc_m8

thanks for the replies
Are there any hardware difference? Does all custom rims and unlock works the same?
28th August 2014, 04:16 AM   |  #5  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,513
 
7,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei

thanks for the replies
Are there any hardware difference? Does all custom rims and unlock works the same?

I can't talk about dual SIM version as mine is a single SIM version.
For single SIM, yes all hardware almost the same except the processor.
And all custom ROMs and unlock work the same as other Int'l GSM M8.

For dual SIM ... none of the custom ROM made for single SIM work on it.

So .. which is yours ? Single SIM or dual SIM ?
28th August 2014, 04:21 AM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Flag herzlia
Thanks Meter: 87
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I don't think I have dual SIM...I have a place in the left upper side for SIM and right upper side for ad card.. and what's the differences in the processorsthank for the replies I'm really nervous here :/
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

I can't talk about dual SIM version as mine is a single SIM version.
For single SIM, yes all hardware almost the same except the processor.
And all custom ROMs and unlock work the same as other Int'l GSM M8.

For dual SIM ... none of the custom ROM made for single SIM work on it.

So .. which is yours ? Single SIM or dual SIM ?

28th August 2014, 04:34 AM   |  #7  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,513
 
7,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei

I don't think I have dual SIM...I have a place in the left upper side for SIM and right upper side for ad card.. and what's the differences in the processorsthank for the replies I'm really nervous here :/

Yours is a single SIM like mine.
No need to worry too much on processor thing. HTC release a few type of processor to certain region.

Most important, take note the software version no. in settings - about
and make a backup before you do anything else like installing a custom ROM
28th August 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Flag herzlia
Thanks Meter: 87
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

Yours is a single SIM like mine.
No need to worry too much on processor thing. HTC release a few type of processor to certain region.

Most important, take note the software version no. in settings - about
and make a backup before you do anything else like installing a custom ROM

thanks a lot for your help you really calmed me down, My software version is 1.54.709.12 does it matters? And I'll try to unlock it and change it to s-off in a couple of hours I hope everything will go smooth
28th August 2014, 04:42 AM   |  #9  
ckpv5's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Kuala Lumpur
Thanks Meter: 9,513
 
7,354 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by liorderei

thanks a lot for your help you really calmed me down, My software version is 1.54.709.12 does it matters? And I'll try to unlock it and change it to s-off in a couple of hours I hope everything will go smooth

There's a new update to 2.22.709.4 for your device.
Check for software update first before you do unlocking (settings - about - software update)
28th August 2014, 04:44 AM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Flag herzlia
Thanks Meter: 87
 
405 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ckpv5

There's a new update to 2.22.709.4 for your device.
Check for software update first before you do unlocking (settings - about - software update)

Will do, thanks a lot man I really appreciate your help!!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes