Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Oppo Releases ColorOS for the Find 5… Poorly

Almost every OEM has taken the liberty of creating its own incarnation of the Android OS. … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Question [Q] HTC Gallery & Duo Camera support from GPe on AOSP ROMs?

OP AndiTails

15th July 2014, 02:05 PM   |  #1  
AndiTails's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Can it be done?

It seems you have to run either Sense or GPe to get the HTC Gallery and the UFocus etc. Duo Camera features.
Am I missing something here - why can't these be lifted from the GPe ROMs to work on AOSP ROMs such as PA?

It's obviously harder to lift from Sense due to the libs -- but don't see why it's difficult from GPe to AOSP?

Just curious!
15th July 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #2  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,248
 
13,617 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndiTails

Can it be done?

It seems you have to run either Sense or GPe to get the HTC Gallery and the UFocus etc. Duo Camera features.
Am I missing something here - why can't these be lifted from the GPe ROMs to work on AOSP ROMs such as PA?

It's obviously harder to lift from Sense due to the libs -- but don't see why it's difficult from GPe to AOSP?

Just curious!

It's still down to libs and proprietary files from HTC. Without them it won't work

Also, questions go in Q&A
Last edited by EddyOS; 15th July 2014 at 03:11 PM.
15th July 2014, 03:26 PM   |  #3  
AndiTails's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Apologies for the forum faux pas!
Sorted by Ghost, however

So it's still difficult to lift these proprietary libs from a GPe ROM to get it working in AOSP then?
I understand lifting from Sense is a lot harder as it's so integrated, but surely GPe & AOSP are a lot more 'compatible'?

Since HTC Gallery is available in the Play Store, and it's essentially this which does the 'Editing' on GPe - another way would be to just get this not spout "Not compatible with your device" when its installed on an AOSP ROM - because it will install! Just not run
Last edited by AndiTails; 15th July 2014 at 03:32 PM.
15th July 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #4  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,248
 
13,617 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndiTails

Apologies for the forum faux pas!
Sorted by Ghost, however

So it's still difficult to lift these proprietary libs from a GPe ROM to get it working in AOSP then?
I understand lifting from Sense is a lot harder as it's so integrated, but surely GPe & AOSP are a lot more 'compatible'?

Since HTC Gallery is available in the Play Store, and it's essentially this which does the 'Editing' on GPe - another way would be to just get this not spout "Not compatible with your device" when its installed on an AOSP ROM - because it will install! Just not run

GPe still has elements of Sense in it, as it uses Boomsound, Gestures, etc. so there are parts that still need the HTC framework to run so I'm assuming the camera app and the like need it
16th July 2014, 11:28 AM   |  #5  
AndiTails's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Well, I've now moved to GPe.
But - HTC Gallery says its Not Compatible in the Play Store.
Whereas, on Paranoid Android, I could at least download it - but when running it, I got a message saying it wasn't compatible.

I thought the HTC Gallery app would allow updated to HTC Photo Edit under GPe ROMs?
16th July 2014, 11:42 AM   |  #6  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,248
 
13,617 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndiTails

Well, I've now moved to GPe.
But - HTC Gallery says its Not Compatible in the Play Store.
Whereas, on Paranoid Android, I could at least download it - but when running it, I got a message saying it wasn't compatible.

I thought the HTC Gallery app would allow updated to HTC Photo Edit under GPe ROMs?

It's already built into the ROM. In the camera app, slide to open a picture and then go to 'Edit' and it's in there - you don't use the Gallery app at all
16th July 2014, 11:44 AM   |  #7  
AndiTails's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
I understand that - but it's not the updated version with the UFocus "blur amount" slider, etc. which was released via the Play Store..
The description in the Play Store says that it only updates the HTC Photo Edit part on GPe, but it won't install to allow it to update.!
16th July 2014, 12:00 PM   |  #8  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,248
 
13,617 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndiTails

I understand that - but it's not the updated version with the UFocus "blur amount" slider, etc. which was released via the Play Store..
The description in the Play Store says that it only updates the HTC Photo Edit part on GPe, but it won't install to allow it to update.!

Might not be made available for the GPe yet...
16th July 2014, 01:30 PM   |  #9  
AndiTails's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 54
 
233 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

Might not be made available for the GPe yet...

Well, I force updated the HTC Gallery app using the APK from this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2696399 It installs as an update to htc.albun.com which is already installed but doesn't show a Launcher icon. Gallery now appears, but doesn't work - and HTC Photo Edit has disappeared, so removing the option to use UFocus, etc!!
Argh.
So App Info -> Uninstall Updates -- and I'm back to no Gallery icon, but HTC Photo Edit is still callable from Edit on a picture.

Meh.
I'll stop messing now. It'll do!
29th July 2014, 05:51 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Flag Montreal
Thanks Meter: 11
 
114 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Does UFocus still work for anyone/everyone? I'm on GPe as well, but my phone hangs on the "Processing..." animation when I tap on UFocus...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes