Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,814,562 Members 53,664 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Other person's nandroid?

Tip us?
 
Oditius
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 530
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
Yeah but what about people with a s-on device and a specific carrier..

Where are those ruu files ? There aren't any.....there is a very small selection of ruu files that can help a small group of people ! That's my point here. And who said he has a AT&T ..... Check my thread and check all the cid and main numbers then give me the links to the ruu files that are compatible with the nands i am hosting there.....get my point ?
I am sorry for getting you mad, but I don't lie. The RUU file is here on XDA, like all the wise guys say

"Do a search"

I did, I downloaded it and installed in on my M8. ONly carrier I found was for AT&T, the OP didn't say
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb View Post
I wouldn't do it. Flash a RUU if you want to go back to stock.
You did. So I was letting him know there was a RUU for AT&T on XDA. He didn't mention what carrier he was with. Since that was the only RUU I found for the M8, I suggested it.

Most of the rest of you stuff makes no sense.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
Where are those ruu files ? There aren't any....
Wait, didn't you just tell him to:
Quote:
Originally Posted by berndblb View Post
Flash a RUU if you want to go back to stock.
HUH You tell him to flash one in one breath, then state there is none in another. But IF he is on AT&T, I know there is one. I am not going to search for you, but if I run across it, I will drop a link maybe later.

---------- Post added at 05:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:10 AM ----------

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2757462

Sent from my AT&T HTC One M8, running the ViperOne M8 ROM via Tapatalk.
Oditius (2 HTC One M8's w/AT&T & Dell Venue Pro II 128GB Tab)
__________________________________________________ _______________________________
Wife says I am spending too much time on computer.

But I do stop when I go to bed, so it's not like I spend 24/7 on it!!!

 
Mr Hofs
Old
#12  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8,461
Posts: 13,893
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Ugh....this is exactly why i want to stop posting on xda and withdraw from it completely. The main problem is that people flash things without knowing what it is....afterwards its "it didn't work" what now ? You can link a ruu and many people just execute it.

I'm not mad, i am misinterpreted.....i am making a point that's all.

Thanks and cheers. I will stop responding as it's the second time i believe you make me go off topic.
The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Oditius
Old
#13  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 530
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Chicago

 
DONATE TO ME
But flashing a nandroid backup that it's origins are unknown is like you said, unwise and could cause more problems than what it is worth. But not fatal, that I agree with. I also agree that sometimes posting here can lead to a whole lot of confusion, specially for beginners in flashing roms. Good thing about this is that this is one more area they can visit to get a link to return to stock before they return the phone for repair. So it wasn't all in vain. Sit, drink a beer (or coffee) relax and try to have a nice day.

Sent from my AT&T HTC One M8, running the ViperOne M8 ROM via Tapatalk.
Oditius (2 HTC One M8's w/AT&T & Dell Venue Pro II 128GB Tab)
__________________________________________________ _______________________________
Wife says I am spending too much time on computer.

But I do stop when I go to bed, so it's not like I spend 24/7 on it!!!

 
redpoint73
Old
(Last edited by redpoint73; 18th August 2014 at 03:30 PM.)
#14  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,986
Posts: 6,758
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
Where are those ruu files ? There aren't any.....there is a very small selection of ruu files that can help a small group of people ! That's my point here. And who said he has a AT&T ..... Check my thread and check all the cid and main numbers then give me the links to the ruu files that are compatible with the nands i am hosting there.....get my point ?
If that was your point, its not what you wrote:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
And there are no sense ruu files ... at least no carrier branded ones.
HTC posted the RUU for AT&T quite some time ago: http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-one-m8-att/news/

Folks here keep saying "there are no RUUs", "HTC doesn't release RUUs anymore" and its simply not correct to make these statements as being generalized for all versions and all instances; although it seems to be true for a great many versions. If anything, this device is missing a good index of OTAs, RUUs, etc. by CID.

Not trying to pick a fight or anything, just want to prevent any misinformation.
Please click the "Thanks" button if you found a post helpful!

Phone: AT&T HTC One (M8)

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 (WiFi only)
 
ILIVE4HEAD
Old
#15  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 63
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73 View Post
If that was your point, its not what you wrote:



HTC posted the RUU for AT&T quite some time ago: http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-one-m8-att/news/

Folks here keep saying "there are no RUUs", "HTC doesn't release RUUs anymore" and its simply not correct to make these statements as being generalized for all versions and all instances; although it seems to be true for a great many versions. If anything, this device is missing a good index of OTAs, RUUs, etc. by CID.

Not trying to pick a fight or anything, just want to prevent any misinformation.
I haven't visited this thread in a while because my problem was resolved but i had a question. I want to accept an OTA. I'm fairly sure I know how to do this (I have a stock NAND, recovery, and i know i have to relock my bootloader) this will update my firmware to 2.22.xx.x After this is done i can re unlock my bootloader right? Also would i be able to restore one of my TWRP backups or will restoring replace my firmware with the old one that i had when the backup was made?
 
Mr Hofs
Old
(Last edited by Mr Hofs; 30th August 2014 at 10:40 PM.)
#16  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8,461
Posts: 13,893
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Restoring a full backup after an ota will replace your OS so that's not an option because you don't want to go back to your old (before ota) situation it will not replace the firmware. Only restore data ! And no need to relock the bootloader for an ota.....totally unnecessary !
 
ILIVE4HEAD
Old
#17  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 63
Join Date: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73 View Post
If that was your point, its not what you wrote:



HTC posted the RUU for AT&T quite some time ago: http://www.htc.com/us/support/htc-one-m8-att/news/

Folks here keep saying "there are no RUUs", "HTC doesn't release RUUs anymore" and its simply not correct to make these statements as being generalized for all versions and all instances; although it seems to be true for a great many versions. If anything, this device is missing a good index of OTAs, RUUs, etc. by CID.

Not trying to pick a fight or anything, just want to prevent any misinformation.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
Restoring a full backup after an ota will replace your OS so that's not an option because you don't want to go back to your old (before ota) situation it will not replace the firmware. Only restore data ! And no need to relock the bootloader for an ota.....totally unnecessary !
Thanks for the reply! So bootloader can stay unlocked? In all the threads I checked you have to be relocked by doing "fastboot oem lock" but ok I'll take your word for it! Also you say that restoring isn't good so I'll have to stick with reflashing ROMs from scratch?
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#18  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8,461
Posts: 13,893
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
I think we are mixing things up. If you are already running the latest based roms why would you update ?

Why would you update to the 2.22 or higher base and then go back to a 1.54 based rom ?
 
BerndM14
Old
#19  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 226
Posts: 683
Join Date: Apr 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr Hofs View Post
I think we are mixing things up. If you are already running the latest based roms why would you update ?

Why would you update to the 2.22 or higher base and then go back to a 1.54 based rom ?
lol I'm just glad to see that your name is also Bernd

Seems like you're a "troll" with 2 different IDs on here some of these guys didn't just misquote you, but completely misidentified you!
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Mr Hofs
Old
#20  
Mr Hofs's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Themer
Thanks Meter 8,461
Posts: 13,893
Join Date: Sep 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by BerndM14 View Post
lol I'm just glad to see that your name is also Bernd

Seems like you're a "troll" with 2 different IDs on here some of these guys didn't just misquote you, but completely misidentified you!
Haha yeah i didnt even respond to that quote error. Not worth the hassle mate

The Following User Says Thank You to Mr Hofs For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes