Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Poor wifi performance

18th March 2015, 09:28 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
For the last month or so wifi hasn't been working well on my phone. I can connect to all of my hotspots and get decent indicated signal strength, but games and streaming are constantly losing connection. This is on 3 different networks and all 3 work fine on my tablet, so the problem has to be the phone. And I've done a factory reset so it doesn't seem to be a software issue.

So.. is there anything physical/mechanical I can try? Or something else I'm missing? Thanks in advance.
18th March 2015, 10:59 PM   |  #2  
MrKhozam's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 51
 
209 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoncept

For the last month or so wifi hasn't been working well on my phone. I can connect to all of my hotspots and get decent indicated signal strength, but games and streaming are constantly losing connection. This is on 3 different networks and all 3 work fine on my tablet, so the problem has to be the phone. And I've done a factory reset so it doesn't seem to be a software issue.

So.. is there anything physical/mechanical I can try? Or something else I'm missing? Thanks in advance.

Can you tell us which ROM and kernel you're using?
The Following User Says Thank You to MrKhozam For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2015, 01:51 AM   |  #3  
xunholyx's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Vancouver
Thanks Meter: 933
 
2,079 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by qoncept

For the last month or so wifi hasn't been working well on my phone. I can connect to all of my hotspots and get decent indicated signal strength, but games and streaming are constantly losing connection. This is on 3 different networks and all 3 work fine on my tablet, so the problem has to be the phone. And I've done a factory reset so it doesn't seem to be a software issue.

So.. is there anything physical/mechanical I can try? Or something else I'm missing? Thanks in advance.

Is your firmware up to date, or at least on par with the ROM you are using?
The Following User Says Thank You to xunholyx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2015, 05:33 PM   |  #4  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Yes, I'm using SkyDragon 1.0 and the first option kernel that came with it. I just upgraded to it a couple days ago from OEM 4.4.2 and I was having the same issues.
20th March 2015, 08:06 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
231 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
Is there a different kernel I could/should try? Thanks!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes