Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,957 Members 40,179 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Rogers HTC One M8 Questions

Tip us?
 
aumkarpraja
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 56
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto
Default Rogers HTC One M8 Questions

Hey guys, I had a quick question. I'm going to buy an unlocked Rogers HTC One M8 and use it on Wind. The question is, how do I remove all the Rogers crap off of the phone and make it so that it's like the Wind version (which I believe is bloatware free). What should I be doing?
 
redpoint73
Old
#2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,985
Posts: 6,753
Join Date: Oct 2007
Unlock bootloader, install custom recovery and possibly s-off.

From there, then find the Wind stock nandroid and restore in recovery. Or alternately you can flash a custom or stock rooted ROM that is not branded. No reason it needs to be Wind software, unless you really want it to be.
Please click the "Thanks" button if you found a post helpful!

Phone: AT&T HTC One (M8)

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 (WiFi only)
 
aumkarpraja
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 56
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73 View Post
Unlock bootloader, install custom recovery and possibly s-off.

From there, then find the Wind stock nandroid and restore in recovery. Or alternately you can flash a custom or stock rooted ROM that is not branded. No reason it needs to be Wind software, unless you really want it to be.
Wind doesn't put software on their phones. It's usually bloatware free. I'm wondering if Rogers is doing the same with their One M8s. Aside from that it's mainly APN settings that I need to deal with which is fine.
 
redpoint73
Old
#4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,985
Posts: 6,753
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aumkarpraja View Post
Wind doesn't put software on their phones. It's usually bloatware free.
I wasn't talking about bloatware, I was talking about the OS, which obviously needs to be there.
Please click the "Thanks" button if you found a post helpful!

Phone: AT&T HTC One (M8)

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 (WiFi only)
 
aumkarpraja
Old
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 56
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73 View Post
I wasn't talking about bloatware, I was talking about the OS, which obviously needs to be there.
Yeah..I'm wondering where I would even find that...
 
redpoint73
Old
#6  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,985
Posts: 6,753
Join Date: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aumkarpraja View Post
Yeah..I'm wondering where I would even find that...
Don't know Wind's CID, but you can find that and look it up to see if there is a nandroid here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376
Please click the "Thanks" button if you found a post helpful!

Phone: AT&T HTC One (M8)

Tablet: Samsung Galaxy Tab Pro 8.4 (WiFi only)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more

How to Make Your GPS Lock Faster – XDA Developer TV

Nothing is more frustrating than opening up Google Maps and it taking way to long … more