Google’s Prank Roundup for April Fools 2015

Once again, we have arrived on the most magical of holidays – the annual … more

What is the Best Third-Party Camera App for Android?

When it comes to Camera apps, there are dozens of great options to choose … more

Google to Acquire XDA, Dev Rewards & Policy Changes

We are delighted to announce that starting on April 20th, a finalized deal with … more

Hi Locker to Help You With Lockscreen Headache

The lockscreen is a part of the OS that we see hundreds of times every day, whether … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Rogers HTC One M8 Questions

14th August 2014, 03:44 PM |#1  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Hey guys, I had a quick question. I'm going to buy an unlocked Rogers HTC One M8 and use it on Wind. The question is, how do I remove all the Rogers crap off of the phone and make it so that it's like the Wind version (which I believe is bloatware free). What should I be doing?
14th August 2014, 04:04 PM |#2  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,686
 
8,601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Unlock bootloader, install custom recovery and possibly s-off.

From there, then find the Wind stock nandroid and restore in recovery. Or alternately you can flash a custom or stock rooted ROM that is not branded. No reason it needs to be Wind software, unless you really want it to be.
14th August 2014, 04:09 PM |#3  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

Unlock bootloader, install custom recovery and possibly s-off.

From there, then find the Wind stock nandroid and restore in recovery. Or alternately you can flash a custom or stock rooted ROM that is not branded. No reason it needs to be Wind software, unless you really want it to be.

Wind doesn't put software on their phones. It's usually bloatware free. I'm wondering if Rogers is doing the same with their One M8s. Aside from that it's mainly APN settings that I need to deal with which is fine.
14th August 2014, 04:30 PM |#4  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,686
 
8,601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aumkarpraja

Wind doesn't put software on their phones. It's usually bloatware free.

I wasn't talking about bloatware, I was talking about the OS, which obviously needs to be there.
14th August 2014, 04:33 PM |#5  
OP Member
Flag Toronto
Thanks Meter: 7
 
57 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by redpoint73

I wasn't talking about bloatware, I was talking about the OS, which obviously needs to be there.

Yeah..I'm wondering where I would even find that...
14th August 2014, 04:40 PM |#6  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,686
 
8,601 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by aumkarpraja

Yeah..I'm wondering where I would even find that...

Don't know Wind's CID, but you can find that and look it up to see if there is a nandroid here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2701376
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes