Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,806,211 Members 53,252 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] No service and on-screen button doesnt work

Tip us?
 
Oyori
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Leuven
Default [Q] No service and on-screen button doesnt work

I have a rooted htc one m8 running 4.4.2, I've had it in my pocket, and the thing is it unlocks itself sometimes, and the screen is turned on. So today I turned it off, and when I turned it back on I lost service. The pin input screen doesn't pop up anymore, not after shutting it down and restarting, and turning my airplane mode on and off, on top of that my my middle on-screen button doesn't work anymore. I can press it and It gives me feedback by vibrating, however it doesn't take me back to my homescreen anymore. This is enervating as you see, not being able to talk or send messages... Please do give me a solution or refer me to the thread treating this issue as I've not found such thread. Thanks in advance!
 
HTCNerdYoda
Old
#2  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cologne
Regarding the "Home Button" I don't have any clue.. Rooted my One as well and never happened to have this problem.

The no service maybe is not directly linked to the other problem. Are you using an original nano SIM, or did you cut it yourself? If yes it could have caused a defect which has not occurred right away. Have you tried removing the SIM tray while phone is on and place it back in? If not what happens when doing this.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
Mobile: One M8 Gunmetal: UNLOCK - S-OFF (SunShine) - WWE
CID: HTC__001 (T-MOB101)
MID: 0P6B10000
HBoot: 3.18
FW: 2.22.401.5 (1.70.111.1)
Radio: 1.19.21331147A1
ROM: Stock - SuperSU
Recovery: Stock

Retired: Desire (CWM, Cyanogen), Sensation (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, root), One X (Unlocked, TWRP, Cyanogen), One (M7) (firewater S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne), Moto G (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, CM11), One (M8) GER Silver (SunShine S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne 2.2.0).
The Following User Says Thank You to HTCNerdYoda For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Oyori
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Leuven
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCNerdYoda View Post
Regarding the "Home Button" I don't have any clue.. Rooted my One as well and never happened to have this problem.

The no service maybe is not directly linked to the other problem. Are you using an original nano SIM, or did you cut it yourself? If yes it could have caused a defect which has not occurred right away. Have you tried removing the SIM tray while phone is on and place it back in? If not what happens when doing this.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
I'm using an original nano sim, and yes I did try removing it. I haven't dropped my phone, nor was the sim out of place, no dust or water could have reached it either, I've got a sturdy case around it!
 
HTCNerdYoda
Old
#4  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cologne
Do you know how to use adb and fastboot commands?

If yes you could try to clear the whole cache of the phone to check if the problems result of some data in the cache.

The commands would be

adb fastboot bootloader
fastboot erase cache

No data will be lost by this. Thus this is what I would try first. Otherwise I would - as long as you are completely stock - perform a factory reset. By this all data on the phone would be lost including installed APPs, but it is with it, if you get the problem solved by this.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
Mobile: One M8 Gunmetal: UNLOCK - S-OFF (SunShine) - WWE
CID: HTC__001 (T-MOB101)
MID: 0P6B10000
HBoot: 3.18
FW: 2.22.401.5 (1.70.111.1)
Radio: 1.19.21331147A1
ROM: Stock - SuperSU
Recovery: Stock

Retired: Desire (CWM, Cyanogen), Sensation (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, root), One X (Unlocked, TWRP, Cyanogen), One (M7) (firewater S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne), Moto G (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, CM11), One (M8) GER Silver (SunShine S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne 2.2.0).
The Following User Says Thank You to HTCNerdYoda For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Oyori
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Leuven
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCNerdYoda View Post
Do you know how to use adb and fastboot commands?

If yes you could try to clear the whole cache of the phone to check if the problems result of some data in the cache.

The commands would be

adb fastboot bootloader
fastboot erase cache

No data will be lost by this. Thus this is what I would try first. Otherwise I would - as long as you are completely stock - perform a factory reset. By this all data on the phone would be lost including installed APPs, but it is with it, if you get the problem solved by this.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
I've factory reseted it, wanting to flash the stock recovery so i could install the 4.4.3 ota, however inbetween everything I installed a back- up from twrp recovery. i didn't even know I had backed it up, it was a fairly recent one. So I got lucky, the problem has resolved itself, thank you for your help!
 
Oyori
Old
(Last edited by Oyori; 7th September 2014 at 01:04 AM.) Reason: added information
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Leuven
Quote:
Originally Posted by HTCNerdYoda View Post
Do you know how to use adb and fastboot commands?

If yes you could try to clear the whole cache of the phone to check if the problems result of some data in the cache.

The commands would be

adb fastboot bootloader
fastboot erase cache

No data will be lost by this. Thus this is what I would try first. Otherwise I would - as long as you are completely stock - perform a factory reset. By this all data on the phone would be lost including installed APPs, but it is with it, if you get the problem solved by this.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
I've backtracked the root of the evil, the latest update of Echo Lockscreen bypasses the pin-input screen which causes the 'home' button to malfunction and obviously the fact that I couldn't get service! So I disabled it and put my pin in and enabled the lockscreen back on!
The Following User Says Thank You to Oyori For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
HTCNerdYoda
Old
(Last edited by HTCNerdYoda; 7th September 2014 at 10:10 AM.)
#7  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 305
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cologne
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oyori View Post
I've backtracked the root of the evil, the latest update of Echo Lockscreen bypasses the pin-input screen which causes the 'home' button to malfunction and obviously the fact that I couldn't get service! So I disabled it and put my pin in and enabled the lockscreen back on!
Thanks for this information. I guess it will be of use for others encountering the same problem as you did!

Maybe you could add [Solved] at the end of your OP so erveryone recognizes right away when scrolling through Q&A.
Mobile: One M8 Gunmetal: UNLOCK - S-OFF (SunShine) - WWE
CID: HTC__001 (T-MOB101)
MID: 0P6B10000
HBoot: 3.18
FW: 2.22.401.5 (1.70.111.1)
Radio: 1.19.21331147A1
ROM: Stock - SuperSU
Recovery: Stock

Retired: Desire (CWM, Cyanogen), Sensation (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, root), One X (Unlocked, TWRP, Cyanogen), One (M7) (firewater S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne), Moto G (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, CM11), One (M8) GER Silver (SunShine S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne 2.2.0).

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes