Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,702 Members 53,818 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SimUnlock

Tip us?
 
tonybuzz32000
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default SimUnlock

Hi all, I recently bought a new htc one m8 on vodafone ireland. I'm on a different provider so i bought an unlock code on line and it didn't work i got (incorrect password). I haven't registered the phone on any network as of yet (its brand new). My question is, Do i need to activate the phone on vodafone first, Then put in a working foreign sim to unlock with code i received from online provider?
 
gokun
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 77
Join Date: Apr 2008
Generally speaking, no, you don't. If it came from them, then it's already locked to them by default. You just need to enter the proper unlock code with the new sim. Another option to consider is that pretty much all M8s can be made s-off now(albeit for a small fee for the app that does it). Once you're s-off, you can just sim unlock it yourself without the need to purchase any codes. That's what I did. The instructions are here in the forums.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tonybuzz32000 View Post
Hi all, I recently bought a new htc one m8 on vodafone ireland. I'm on a different provider so i bought an unlock code on line and it didn't work i got (incorrect password). I haven't registered the phone on any network as of yet (its brand new). My question is, Do i need to activate the phone on vodafone first, Then put in a working foreign sim to unlock with code i received from online provider?
 
tonybuzz32000
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2010
Thanks, Thats what i thought. The provider i bought the unlock code from told me to activate the phone on vodafone, Then put in a foreign active sim and it should work. But i put the code in incorrect 4 times, twice cause i thought i put it in incorrect and another 2 times to record it(take pictures to get a refund for wrong code). Do you know how many times you can enter the incorrect code before blocking the phone?
 
gokun
Old
#4  
Member
Thanks Meter 15
Posts: 77
Join Date: Apr 2008
To be honest, I'm not really sure...I want to say about 5-10 depending on your device, but again, I'm not really sure.


Quote:
Originally Posted by tonybuzz32000 View Post
Thanks, Thats what i thought. The provider i bought the unlock code from told me to activate the phone on vodafone, Then put in a foreign active sim and it should work. But i put the code in incorrect 4 times, twice cause i thought i put it in incorrect and another 2 times to record it(take pictures to get a refund for wrong code). Do you know how many times you can enter the incorrect code before blocking the phone?
 
tonybuzz32000
Old
(Last edited by tonybuzz32000; 30th August 2014 at 09:54 AM.) Reason: Edit
#5  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 75
Join Date: Oct 2010
I was going to s-off. I have everything downloaded. Its been a while since i flashed a htc. Just a recap, Unlock bootloader, Root, S-off, Supercid and Simunlock using s-off method? Thanks
 
HTCNerdYoda
Old
#6  
HTCNerdYoda's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 81
Posts: 320
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Cologne
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonybuzz32000 View Post
I was going to s-off. I have everything downloaded. Its been a while since i flashed a htc. Just a recap, Unlock bootloader, Root, S-off, Supercid and Simunlock using s-off method? Thanks
If you go with SunShine to S-Off you don't need to unlock using HTCDev, as the latest version of SunShine performs the unlock as well as the S-Off without HTC knowing and without loosing APPs in /data such as calculator and flashlight.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Free mobile app
Mobile: One M8 Gunmetal: UNLOCK - S-OFF (SunShine) - WWE
CID: HTC__001 (T-MOB101)
MID: 0P6B10000
HBoot: 3.18
FW: 2.22.401.5 (1.70.111.1)
Radio: 1.19.21331147A1
ROM: Stock - SuperSU
Recovery: Stock

Retired: Desire (CWM, Cyanogen), Sensation (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, root), One X (Unlocked, TWRP, Cyanogen), One (M7) (firewater S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne), Moto G (Unlocked, S-On, CWM, CM11), One (M8) GER Silver (SunShine S-Off, TWRP, ViperOne 2.2.0).
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes