SpaceX ROM For Galaxy S5

The S5 Lollipop ROM scene is slowly growing, and now we’ve got a good new offering in the form of SpaceX ROM. … more

The Androids Are Marching On The UK

XDA has always been about the community, and as such we are constantly on the lookout for ways to bring … more

One M8 Lollipop, Blackberry CEO Net Neutrality – XDA TV

The HTC One M8 has gotten its first Android 5.0 Lollipop based Sense 6 ROM! … more

Elemental – The Cross Platform Code Editor StartUp

There is not many cross-platform code editors capable to run both on desktop and … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unlock Vodafone UK

OP M8_Wales

29th July 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
I have rooted my M8 but it is still locked to vodafone (uk). What I want to do is get the phone to update with the latest android 4.4.3. (UK)

I have tried to get S-off using Firewater but did not work for me (like I see for a few others). In order to remove branding and have an unlocked (stock) HTC do I need to pay for S-off via sunshine or am I going about this incorrectly?

thanks for any help
29th July 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #2  
uronfire's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8_Wales

I have rooted my M8 but it is still locked to vodafone (uk). What I want to do is get the phone to update with the latest android 4.4.3. (UK)

I have tried to get S-off using Firewater but did not work for me (like I see for a few others). In order to remove branding and have an unlocked (stock) HTC do I need to pay for S-off via sunshine or am I going about this incorrectly?

thanks for any help

Was on same boat as you mate. Had to use sunshine which is a paid app to s of and make my phone unbranded.
29th July 2014, 11:32 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by uronfire

Was on same boat as you mate. Had to use sunshine which is a paid app to s of and make my phone unbranded.

Once you did this how did you then get the stock htc ? Did it then get the update.
30th July 2014, 08:13 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8_Wales

Once you did this how did you then get the stock htc ? Did it then get the update.

I now have S-Off and Root. Can anyone tell me how I install the stock HTC (UK) in order to get the OTA 4.4.3?##

thanks
30th July 2014, 08:40 PM   |  #5  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,308
 
13,720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8_Wales

I now have S-Off and Root. Can anyone tell me how I install the stock HTC (UK) in order to get the OTA 4.4.3?##

thanks

Follow the guide in my signature. It will wipe everything so back up any data first and away you go!
30th July 2014, 08:50 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

Follow the guide in my signature. It will wipe everything so back up any data first and away you go!

My phone is currently branded to Vodafone (CID VODAP001) will the guide work? (I notice the guide says for returning an unbranded, European One M8_UL to stock)
Last edited by M8_Wales; 30th July 2014 at 09:39 PM.
30th July 2014, 10:49 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8_Wales

My phone is currently branded to Vodafone (CID VODAP001) will the guide work? (I notice the guide says for returning an unbranded, European One M8_UL to stock)

I have now changed my CID to HTC__01 will your guide work for me?
30th July 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #8  
uronfire's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
366 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Follow the guide from eddyos it should work. You are a off .
The Following User Says Thank You to uronfire For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st July 2014, 08:28 AM   |  #9  
EddyOS's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Liverpool, Merseyside
Thanks Meter: 3,308
 
13,720 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by M8_Wales

I have now changed my CID to HTC__01 will your guide work for me?

HTC__01 or HTC__001? The latter is correct, the former incorrect

And yes it'll work
The Following User Says Thank You to EddyOS For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st July 2014, 09:14 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by EddyOS

HTC__01 or HTC__001? The latter is correct, the former incorrect

And yes it'll work

Sorted

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes