Firefox OS Architecture and Collaboration Opportunities w/ Asa Dotzler – XDA:DevCon 2014

We were privileged to host many presentations … more

Unofficial Android 4.4 Lands on Three Mediatek Devices

For the last few years, devices with MTK systems-on-chip haven’t received much … more

MultiImagePicker Library for Multiple Image Selection

App developmentcan be done in more than a handful of ways. You can write every single … more

Shoot Troubles, Not Users w/ Alex Boag-Munroe – XDA:DevCon 2014

In presenting the various sessions from XDA:DevCon 2014, weve mainly … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Andrenaline Rom - Constant cycle - crash, reboot [Solved]

OP statmonkey

20th August 2014, 07:39 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Phuket
Thanks Meter: 12
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Just to be clear. Phone boots normally. All functions seem to work. After a minute or two phone locks up, then reboots. If phone is powered down it boots into recovery then locks up/freezes.

Apologize for length of this question but I wanted to be thorough. I have tried several things to resolve this, lots of reading and think I know a lot of things that are not causing the problem.

I installed the Andrenaline ROM, it ran fine for a couple of days then the phone started rebooting over and over again. Note it does not do this in TWRP (shutdown and reboot by itself) nor does it do it inHBoot. Only when I actually try to use the phone or apps after booting up. Initially I did the following all successfully:

I rooted using firewater using this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2632385 following the root all was fine and according to plan. No issues.

I then followed this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2498746

Finishing with this http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...rizon-t2842331

Wanting to fix this and learn. I decided to go back to square one and even though TWRP seemed to be working I thought I should start there since I can see that I am rooted and have S off and the phone is unlocked.

That means I booted into the phone. Quickly ran adb and started in doing these steps:

adb devices #to make sure it was there
adb reboot bootloader #as per instructions all went well it booted into fastboot
fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.7.1.1-t6vzw.img
# Here seems to be the issue as it just says waiting for device ..... and nada thing happens. So while adb sees the device, runs the reboot of the bootloader it seems to be losing the connection or something at that point.

I am sure I have done something incorrectly. Can anyone lead me in the right direction toward resolving this? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If somebody can just give me an idea of where the problem might be I would appreciate that. I thought about trying a different rom but system is so unstable I don't think I could get it loaded.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I think I was fooled because it ran well for a couple of days before I had issues. After re-reading the OP on the Adrenaline ROM page for about the 100th time I finally noticed ...
Quote:

IF YOU HAVE ISSUES RUNNING CUSTOM KERNELS ON YOUR HTC ONE MAX, FLASH THIS IMMEDIATELY AFTER FLASHING THE ROM:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/devd...ct/dl/?id=7779

Flashing this from TWRP seems to have solved the issue. Thanks to all who at least read the question my apologies for wasting your time. I really did think I had read and seen everything. Actually read the whole thread and still missed that line in the opening post. Thanks to IAmTheOneTheyCallNeo for being so thorough and Flyhalf205 for having provided this. I can now go back to enjoying this fantastic ROM.
Last edited by statmonkey; 21st August 2014 at 05:31 AM. Reason: Resolved
The Following User Says Thank You to statmonkey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2014, 06:07 AM   |  #2  
ΠΣΘ's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
USA - Verizon
Thanks Meter: 14,991
 
8,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
Glad you resolved it on your own. Good job

However, your issue with fastboot sounds like you don't really have working fastboot. While in fastboot, you do a "fastboot devices" instead of ADB devices. Then for recoveries it's a fastboot flash recovery nameofrecovery.img
Also, fastboot commands require a locked or re-locked bootloader to work for flashing things.

Neo
Forum Moderator
21st August 2014, 06:22 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Phuket
Thanks Meter: 12
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
you are right
Thanks for the heads up. You are correct I have been working around this by using TWRP. I will do some research on how to get a working fastboot tomorrow. I am a linux only person but assume that being on Linux if I can get adb to work fastboot should work right?

Great call that you caught that it's really helpful to have a direction to head in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmTheOneTheyCallNeo

Glad you resolved it on your own. Good job

However, your issue with fastboot sounds like you don't really have working fastboot. While in fastboot, you do a "fastboot devices" instead of ADB devices. Then for recoveries it's a fastboot flash recovery nameofrecovery.img
Also, fastboot commands require a locked or re-locked bootloader to work for flashing things.

Neo
Forum Moderator

21st August 2014, 06:27 AM   |  #4  
ΠΣΘ's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
USA - Verizon
Thanks Meter: 14,991
 
8,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by statmonkey

Thanks for the heads up. You are correct I have been working around this by using TWRP. I will do some research on how to get a working fastboot tomorrow. I am a linux only person but assume that being on Linux if I can get adb to work fastboot should work right?

Great call that you caught that it's really helpful to have a direction to head in.

As a matter of fact, I downloaded the necessary tools for Linux which contain working fastboot and adb (They are not the same thing and two different entities). If I have time tonight I'll zip it up and upload it for you with command line install instructions for your Linux system. If not the it'll be tomorrow.

Neo
Forum Moderator
The Following User Says Thank You to ΠΣΘ For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2014, 06:33 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Flag Phuket
Thanks Meter: 12
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmTheOneTheyCallNeo

As a matter of fact, I downloaded the necessary tools for Linux which contain working fastboot and adb (They are not the same thing and two different entities). If I have time tonight I'll zip it up and upload it for you with command line install instructions for your Linux system. If not the it'll be tomorrow.

Neo
Forum Moderator

Above and beyond the call sir. That would certainly save me time, effort and confusion. I know just enough to blow a toe or two off. Tomorrow or whenever you have time. Beggars and idiots should not be demanding and feeling like the latter after this fiasco. Really appreciate your help and support.
The Following User Says Thank You to statmonkey For This Useful Post: [ View ]
21st August 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #6  
ΠΣΘ's Avatar
Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
USA - Verizon
Thanks Meter: 14,991
 
8,681 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by statmonkey

Above and beyond the call sir. That would certainly save me time, effort and confusion. I know just enough to blow a toe or two off. Tomorrow or whenever you have time. Beggars and idiots should not be demanding and feeling like the latter after this fiasco. Really appreciate your help and support.

Download this file and unzip it: Androidv4.zip

then, navigate to the Android folder within terminal and launch the ADB-Install-Linux.sh:

Code:
. ADB-Install-Linux.sh
It will install adb and fastboot for linux.
21st August 2014, 11:35 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Flag Phuket
Thanks Meter: 12
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
It will install adb and fastboot for linux.[/QUOTE]

Again many thanks.

I have some meetings this evening but will install and test in the morning. Sure it will work well.
22nd August 2014, 06:28 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Flag Phuket
Thanks Meter: 12
 
28 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
More
Last question
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAmTheOneTheyCallNeo

Download this file and unzip it:

then, navigate to the Android folder within terminal and launch the ADB-Install-Linux.sh:

Code:
. ADB-Install-Linux.sh
It will install adb and fastboot for linux.

Fastboot is now working properly. Thank you for your assistance.

No more questions. Worked all the way through the process from start to finish to make sure it was correct. Now 100% confident I have it and that it is correct. Thanks again for all the help.
Last edited by statmonkey; 23rd August 2014 at 05:10 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes