Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,579 Members 43,015 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Can't flash root rom with twrp

Tip us?
 
zsaintsfan101
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default [Q] Can't flash root rom with twrp

Hi, I am new to rooting and flashing roms and I am stuck at the flashing rooted stock rom part of this guide from theunlockr (can't post urls) . The specific name of the rom I am trying to flash is JmzM4StockRooted_Odex_ATT-1.24.502.3 . The problem is that I copied the .zip file onto the root of my sd card and I can see it in the file manager I use, but it doesn't show up in twrp. I don't know if this has anything to do with it.. but when I click the middle menu button it says unable to mount /system. My carrier is AT&T and I unlocked the bootloader through HTC's dev website. Thanks in advance
 
Jovke
Old
(Last edited by Jovke; 26th July 2014 at 02:48 PM.) Reason: typing error
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 11
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belgrade
Quote:
Originally Posted by zsaintsfan101 View Post
Hi, I am new to rooting and flashing roms and I am stuck at the flashing rooted stock rom part of this guide from theunlockr (can't post urls) . The specific name of the rom I am trying to flash is JmzM4StockRooted_Odex_ATT-1.24.502.3 . The problem is that I copied the .zip file onto the root of my sd card and I can see it in the file manager I use, but it doesn't show up in twrp. I don't know if this has anything to do with it.. but when I click the middle menu button it says unable to mount /system. My carrier is AT&T and I unlocked the bootloader through HTC's dev website. Thanks in advance
When your phone is booted, root of SD card is "/sdcard".
But, this location is actually "/data/media/0" when looking from TWRP. So you don't need "/system" partition at all to install this ROM.
Just go to TWRP, use "Install ZIP" option and go to "/data/media/0". Your file should be there, select it and install.
After install is finished, boot into your new ROM.
If you have issues after this and your phone won't boot and is stuck at HTC logo, go to TWRP again and choose "Factory reset". Don't change any options, just execute "Factory reset".
"Factory reset" will not delete your new ROM, it will just make it as you switched on the phone for the first time after unpacking.

And, yes, do a ROM backup from TWRP before you flash another ROM!
If anything goes wrong, you can just restore your original ROM, again from TWRP.
 
zsaintsfan101
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jovke View Post
When your phone is booted, root of SD card is "/sdcard".
But, this location is actually "/data/media/0" when looking from TWRP. So you don't need "/system" partition at all to install this ROM.
Just go to TWRP, use "Install ZIP" option and go to "/data/media/0". Your file should be there, select it and install.
After install is finished, boot into your new ROM.
If you have issues after this and your phone won't boot and is stuck at HTC logo, go to TWRP again and choose "Factory reset". Don't change any options, just execute "Factory reset".
"Factory reset" will not delete your new ROM, it will just make it as you switched on the phone for the first time after unpacking.

And, yes, do a ROM backup from TWRP before you flash another ROM!
If anything goes wrong, you can just restore your original ROM, again from TWRP.
I can go to /data and then to /media but I don't see a 0.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes