Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] How to Debrand M4

OP !SINGH!

21st July 2014, 06:28 AM   |  #1  
!SINGH!'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Solihull
Thanks Meter: 12
 
482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Hi All

I have a totally stock M4 4.2.2 phone from Voda UK
(it has the boot logo from Voda along with pre-loaded network apps)

I just want to make it a stock European version...(UK ideally) with no network logos or apps

End wish is a stock 4.4.4 with root (ideally towelroot or similar) so if I want to...I can unroot and leave untouched/stock

As stated...no htcdev done or anything with unlocking bootloader

Advice please?
21st July 2014, 09:12 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by !SINGH!

Hi All

I have a totally stock M4 4.2.2 phone from Voda UK
(it has the boot logo from Voda along with pre-loaded network apps)

I just want to make it a stock European version...(UK ideally) with no network logos or apps

End wish is a stock 4.4.4 with root (ideally towelroot or similar) so if I want to...I can unroot and leave untouched/stock

As stated...no htcdev done or anything with unlocking bootloader

Advice please?

I'm afraid that once you go root ( unless you only use temproot ) you can't go back to absolute stock.
To "transform" it to a European version you'll have to do Super CID, which requires unlocked bootloader & s-off.
26th July 2014, 03:49 AM   |  #3  
!SINGH!'s Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Solihull
Thanks Meter: 12
 
482 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by htc_one_mini_m4

I'm afraid that once you go root ( unless you only use temproot ) you can't go back to absolute stock.
To "transform" it to a European version you'll have to do Super CID, which requires unlocked bootloader & s-off.

Well.. What about..
S-Off....
SuperCiD
flash with stock European rom
Set CID back to the European one...(so it doesn't brick)
Re-lock the bootloader
S-On

That way... I have a stock European Rom 4.4.4 on a stock One Mini
?
26th July 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by !SINGH!

Well.. What about..
S-Off....
SuperCiD
flash with stock European rom
Set CID back to the European one...(so it doesn't brick)
Re-lock the bootloader
S-On

That way... I have a stock European Rom 4.4.4 on a stock One Mini
?

Not entirely.
If I'm not mistaken ( I'm not a phone freak, just a computer hardware engineer & mediocre software programmer ) you can't re-lock the bootloader like stock.
It displays "Re-Locked" once locked again with fastboot or another tool.

You'll have a stock image, but you won't have the applications that are preloaded in the data partition which gets erased during the Bootloader unlocking process, and that blocks you from flashing any newer OTA updates via the classic method ( like a totally stock phone )
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes