Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,957 Members 54,944 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Phone can't boot up, how to copy a ROM via recovery?

Tip us?
 
citybong
Old
#1  
citybong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default Phone can't boot up, how to copy a ROM via recovery?

So basically i am trying to put the ROM zip file to the phone via ADB..

I have TWRP, so i start ADB SIDELOAD
connect phone to computer
and run adb devices

but i have never managed to find the phone...

I even tried to install adb drivers but:
1


P.S
HTC drivers are installed
phone is unlocked
I have dualboot Windows 8 & Ubuntu 14.04

if that helps in anyway
 
@SidDev
Old
#2  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 376
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kolkata
Quote:
Originally Posted by citybong View Post
So basically i am trying to put the ROM zip file to the phone via ADB..

I have TWRP, so i start ADB SIDELOAD
connect phone to computer
and run adb devices

but i have never managed to find the phone...

I even tried to install adb drivers but:
1


P.S
HTC drivers are installed
phone is unlocked
I have dualboot Windows 8 & Ubuntu 14.04

if that helps in anyway
have you tried Ubuntu??
windows sometimes has a lot of problem.
happy to help you .
 
apjashley
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2010
If you've got a driver installed that works fine you can use Device Manager in Windows. Connect your phone, find it in the list, choose update driver, and the option that lets you choose a driver from the list. Select the driver that works (mine is called MyHTC) and it should install. You need to repeat this for eachc of the three states (adb in Android, fastboot, and adb in Recovery)
 
citybong
Old
#4  
citybong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by @SidDev View Post
have you tried Ubuntu??
windows sometimes has a lot of problem.
Yes made it work with ubuntu!
 
citybong
Old
#5  
citybong's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 35
Join Date: Oct 2012
i just had to download adb sdk and install lib32stdc++6
and adb was ready!
 
@SidDev
Old
#6  
@SidDev's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 376
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Kolkata
Quote:
Originally Posted by citybong View Post
Yes made it work with ubuntu!
happy I was able to help
you could have pressed the thanks BTW
happy to help you .
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more