FORUMS

[Q] HTC One Mini not booting up fully and no access to recovery

116 posts
Thanks Meter: 5
 
By CoolAndroid1, Senior Member on 26th August 2014, 03:12 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hello,

My phone was updating and crashed. The phone turns on but only the HTC logo appears and then goes to a black screen. I can't fastboot into the device as it is not recognised. I can't access TWRP recovery any more and goes to a downloading screen and then restarts again. While in the bootloader the phone shows the following:

***TAMPERED***
*** RELOCKED***
M4_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RL
CID-11111111
HBOOT-2.19.0000
RADIO-1.22.40e.00.07
OpenDSP-v19.2.0268.0927
OS-1.31.401.1
eMMC-boot 1024MB
Aug 7 2013, 17:37:54.0

Please help me, any help greatly appreciated!

Update:

The phone is working and has an update but it can not update on the device, is there a way i can get the downloaded OTA file on to my PC?
Last edited by CoolAndroid1; 26th August 2014 at 09:55 PM. Reason: New situation
 
 
26th August 2014, 03:34 PM |#2  
shivasrage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag level country
Thanks Meter: 121
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolAndroid1

Hello,

My phone was updating and crashed. The phone turns on but only the HTC logo appears and then goes to a black screen. I can't fastboot into the device as it is not recognised. I can't access TWRP recovery any more and goes to a downloading screen and then restarts again. While in the bootloader the phone shows the following:

***TAMPERED***
*** RELOCKED***
M4_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RL
CID-11111111
HBOOT-2.19.0000
RADIO-1.22.40e.00.07
OpenDSP-v19.2.0268.0927
OS-1.31.401.1
eMMC-boot 1024MB
Aug 7 2013, 17:37:54.0

Please help me, any help greatly appreciated!

Hi,

What do you want to flash stock sense 6...??

greets
26th August 2014, 03:42 PM |#3  
CoolAndroid1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivasrage

Hi,

What do you want to flash stock sense 6...??

greets

Hello,

Yes I would like to go back to Sense 6 or any stock firmware preferably 4.4.2

Thanks
26th August 2014, 03:51 PM |#4  
shivasrage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag level country
Thanks Meter: 121
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolAndroid1

Hello,

Yes I would like to go back to Sense 6 or any stock firmware preferably 4.4.2

Thanks

Ok
First I recommend you to unlock your bootloader.
So if you are in bootloader and your device is not recognised I think itīs a driver issue.
If you allready checked it check it once more or update your tools (ADB, fastboot)
If nothing helps you could go to recovery and format your device (not only wipe format) should be clear that all data on device is lost.
Try different recoverys some people report that philz also works fine on M_4. (try install new rom option on philz).
DONT flash stock sense 6 ROM (wrong partition layout for this hboot) with this hboot rather take 5.5.
Iīm sorry but without get connectet via ADB or fastboot I think there is no chance to get it working again.

greets
Last edited by shivasrage; 26th August 2014 at 03:59 PM. Reason: Edited hint for unlocking the bootloader again
26th August 2014, 03:57 PM |#5  
CoolAndroid1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivasrage

Ok

So if you are in bootloader and your device is not recognised I think itīs a driver issue.
If you allready checked it check it once more or update your tools (ADB, fastboot)
If nothing helps you could go to recovery and format your device (not only wipe format) should be clear that all data on device is lost.
Try different recoverys some people report that philz also works fine on M_4. (try install new rom option on philz).
DONT flash stock sense 6 ROM (wrong partition layout for this hboot) with this hboot rather take 5.5.
With out get connectet via ADB or fastboot I think there is no chance to get it working again.
greets

I can not access recovery to wipe anything out, on bootloader if i choose to wipe it attempts to load recovery which goes into download mode. The device comes up as "Device failed emulation" on Windows 8
26th August 2014, 04:09 PM |#6  
shivasrage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag level country
Thanks Meter: 121
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolAndroid1

I can not access recovery to wipe anything out, on bootloader if i choose to wipe it attempts to load recovery which goes into download mode. The device comes up as "Device failed emulation" on Windows 8

Ok

I tell you in short terms:

If you canīt get a fastboot connection to your device it looks very bad to bring your device back.
For wiping something you need recovery for flashing new recovery you need fastboot.
For flashing a new firmware to fix messed up partitions you need fastboot.
And first of all to unlock your bootloader you need fastboot.

You see all ends up with fastboot.

As what the device is shown in the manager of windows?
Better to use Windows 7 there are much driver problems people reporting on win 8

greets
26th August 2014, 04:10 PM |#7  
CoolAndroid1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Ok, I will use a win 7 pc and let you know
26th August 2014, 04:24 PM |#8  
CoolAndroid1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivasrage

Ok

I tell you in short terms:

If you canīt get a fastboot connection to your device it looks very bad to bring your device back.
For wiping something you need recovery for flashing new recovery you need fastboot.
For flashing a new firmware to fix messed up partitions you need fastboot.
And first of all to unlock your bootloader you need fastboot.

You see all ends up with fastboot.

As what the device is shown in the manager of windows?
Better to use Windows 7 there are much driver problems people reporting on win 8

greets

After i fix my drivers issue what can i do afterwards?
26th August 2014, 04:36 PM |#9  
CoolAndroid1's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by shivasrage

Ok

I tell you in short terms:

If you canīt get a fastboot connection to your device it looks very bad to bring your device back.
For wiping something you need recovery for flashing new recovery you need fastboot.
For flashing a new firmware to fix messed up partitions you need fastboot.
And first of all to unlock your bootloader you need fastboot.

You see all ends up with fastboot.

As what the device is shown in the manager of windows?
Better to use Windows 7 there are much driver problems people reporting on win 8

greets

I can now do the fastboot command from CMD
26th August 2014, 04:38 PM |#10  
shivasrage's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag level country
Thanks Meter: 121
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolAndroid1

After i fix my drivers issue what can i do afterwards?

If you have a connection via fastboot you first have to decide what ROM you want, search for the matching firmware.

for example flash the latest firmware for M_4... 4.09.401.3 from here (new partition layout for e.g. sense 6):

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BzCF...dBME5iUE0/edit

After that flash TWRP 2.7.1.1 or philz and format all you have to try one of this recoverys should work.

Next push or sideload a ROM via adb I recommend you one them:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/htc-...mware-t2817921

You can decide what you want rooted or not it doesnīt matter.

After installing with succsess try to reboot thatīs it.

greets
26th August 2014, 04:41 PM |#11  
Senior Member
Flag Nashville
Thanks Meter: 328
 
More
I encountered a similar issue when playing around with returning my device to stock. I flashed stock recovery, then re-locked my bootloader. What is the downloading screen you're seeing? Is it the stock recovery screen?

To fix, i had to change CID back to stock (for me that was, CWS__001)
Unlock bootloader again, using HTC unlock.bin (unlock.bin wouldn't work when i was on super cid)
Flash custom recovery TWRP 2.6.3.0 (I'm not sure if 2.7.1.1 works with the old partition layout, so i used this version until i had upgraded to hboot 2.22, then I flashed 2.7.1.1. This may be an unnecessary step, but it always worked for me)

Once twrp was working again...
Flash stock hboot 2.22 found in the dev section
Flash TWRP 2.7.1.1 (again, might be an unnecessary step)

Boot to recovery
From TWRP, adb push the sense 6 rom i wanted to flash (IC 3.07 in my case)
After the push completed, flash ROM and reboot and all was good

As you can see, the steps i took require that fastboot and adb drivers work flawlessly, especially when pushing ROM to the device using abd.

If any of this seems unfamiliar, then don't do these steps. Again, this is just what i did when i flashed stock recovery and re-locked bootloader with a ROM that wouldn't boot.

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes