Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Official Mokee OS needs kernel flash?

OP NightHeron

2nd September 2014, 10:23 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag Salonika
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Hello, i have an HTCDEV unlocked htc one s with twrp recovery and stock rom , and i want to flash mokee os official kk based. But since i know that mokee is CM based and to install CM11 to one S you need to flash kernel from the zip of CM11, do i need to do the same to flash the mokee os? Thanks in advance

Edit: Do I need s-off for this ROM?

Sent from my MI 2S using Tapatalk
Last edited by NightHeron; 2nd September 2014 at 11:24 AM.
2nd September 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #2  
tivofool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 182
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightHeron

Hello, i have an HTCDEV unlocked htc one s with twrp recovery and stock rom , and i want to flash mokee os official kk based. But since i know that mokee is CM based and to install CM11 to one S you need to flash kernel from the zip of CM11, do i need to do the same to flash the mokee os? Thanks in advance

Edit: Do I need s-off for this ROM?

Sent from my MI 2S using Tapatalk

No you don't have to be S - off, yes you will need to flash the boot.img.

Make a backup first>

Enter recovery>
Full wipe>
download the Mokee rom.zip and Mokee Gapps.zip and move to your phone>
Install Mokee & Gapps>
Reboot to bootloader>
Fastboot flash the boot.img>
Restart
The Following User Says Thank You to tivofool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd September 2014, 09:45 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag Salonika
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tivofool

No you don't have to be S - off, yes you will need to flash the boot.img.

Make a backup first>

Enter recovery>
Full wipe>
download the Mokee rom.zip and Mokee Gapps.zip and move to your phone>
Install Mokee & Gapps>
Reboot to bootloader>
Fastboot flash the boot.img>
Restart

thanks for the answers, i think everyone should know this, and in the ROM's thread is not mentioned and i cannot post due to limitations . do i need to do this to every single Rom that i flash?

Sent from my MI 2S using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to NightHeron For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd September 2014, 10:41 PM   |  #4  
tivofool's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 182
 
583 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by NightHeron

thanks for the answers, i think everyone should know this, and in the ROM's thread is not mentioned and i cannot post due to limitations . do i need to do this to every single Rom that i flash?

Sent from my MI 2S using Tapatalk

Yes, do the same for all ROMs you flash. installing GAPPs may not be needed if GAPPs are included, like in sense roms.


If you decide to S-off you don't need to worry about flashing the boot.img. That happens when you install the rom.

There is an app you can install to flash boot.img, then restart into recovery and install rom. Someone would have to post a link I haven't tried it to show you.
Last edited by tivofool; 2nd September 2014 at 10:44 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to tivofool For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd September 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Flag Salonika
Thanks Meter: 9
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
More
Thank you so much.
P. S. My main smartphone is a xiaomi MI2s... Pre rooted, i install custom recovery very very simply, and i flash a custom rom just in seconds... When i try to do the same to HTC... Oh my god..
One day to do a simple bootloader unlock 😝 ..
Ps2 i will s-off my one s to get rid of extra kernel flashing..

Sent from my MI 2S using Tapatalk
Last edited by NightHeron; 2nd September 2014 at 11:01 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to NightHeron For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes