Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,035 Members 42,094 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ADB wont work in recovery after latest ota

Tip us?
 
Nemesis_00
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jun 2008
Default [Q] ADB wont work in recovery after latest ota

Hi,

I've just done an OTA update to 6.09.401.5
My phone is 801n, S-OFF with locked bl. Hboot is 1.57.

After the OTA I had lost root, so I went on to recovery (stock) to sideload supersu.
Much to my surprise, I can't adb with the stock recovery.

Looking in device manager, it just shows up as mass storage device.

I've added the device ID to the google driver inf:
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0FF9

and forced the driver, which loaded fine. But adb devices still shows nothing.
Same thing when I force ADB Composite Device.
Also tried disabling and enabling USB debugging without any success.

Do you guys have a similar issue? Are your device ids the same as mine in recovery? ADB works?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg usblogview.jpg - [Click for QR Code] (154.7 KB, 21 views)
 
alray
Old
#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,098
Posts: 2,841
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis_00 View Post
Hi,

I've just done an OTA update to 6.09.401.5
My phone is 801n, S-OFF with locked bl. Hboot is 1.57.

After the OTA I had lost root, so I went on to recovery (stock) to sideload supersu.
Much to my surprise, I can't adb with the stock recovery.

Looking in device manager, it just shows up as mass storage device.

I've added the device ID to the google driver inf:
%SingleAdbInterface% = USB_Install, USB\VID_0BB4&PID_0FF9

and forced the driver, which loaded fine. But adb devices still shows nothing.
Same thing when I force ADB Composite Device.
Also tried disabling and enabling USB debugging without any success.

Do you guys have a similar issue? Are your device ids the same as mine in recovery? ADB works?
You can not sideload with stock recovery nor use adb commands. flash a custom recovery
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
Nemesis_00
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
You can not sideload with stock recovery nor use adb commands. flash a custom recovery
That seems strange. It was a while ago, but i did root my 4.4.2 install somehow with the bootloader remaining locked (I didnt erase my phone), and keeping stock recovery. Since the BL is locked I probably didnt flash a custom recovery and then revert to stock.
I was pretty sure I just sideloaded it with stock recovery since my device is SOFF.

Are you certain it can't be done?
It's pretty stupid of me then, as I am not sure how I rooted it before then.
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 26th August 2014 at 06:45 PM.)
#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,098
Posts: 2,841
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nemesis_00 View Post
That seems strange. It was a while ago, but i did root my 4.4.2 install somehow with the bootloader remaining locked (I didnt erase my phone), and keeping stock recovery. Since the BL is locked I probably didnt flash a custom recovery and then revert to stock.
I was pretty sure I just sideloaded it with stock recovery since my device is SOFF.

Are you certain it can't be done?
It's pretty stupid of me then, as I am not sure how I rooted it before then.
you can not use adb sideload with stock recovery.

if you don't want to wipe the phone by unlocking the bootloader using htcdev.com you can:

flash a custom recovery in a masked firmware.zip with the bootloader locked (s-off only)
or
do wait said above and then unlock bootloader from custom recovery using adb shell or guru bootloader reset tool.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
 
yatindroid
Old
#5  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 362
Posts: 1,385
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jaipur
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post

flash a custom recovery in a masked firmware.zip with the bootloader locked (s-off only)
or
unlock the bootloader with the s-off method and flash a custom recovery.
is masking firmware works ?
If this works then no one need htcdev I think it's not possible or can brick
For totally stock locked S On phone I take a same version firmware mix TWRP flashing you don't need htcdev or unlocked ?
How I can unlock with S Off & stock Recovery non root ?
 
alray
Old
(Last edited by alray; 26th August 2014 at 06:49 PM.)
#6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,098
Posts: 2,841
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid View Post
is masking firmware works ?
with s-off you can flash a custom recovery with a locked bootloader, no risk. just pack the custom recovery image (renamed recovery.img) with an android-info.txt that match your phone info inside a firmware.zip file and flash it in ruu mode.

you can then use the guru bootloader reset tool to unlock your bootloader using the custom recovery or by using an adb shell from custom recovery

Quote:
If this works then no one need htcdev I think it's not possible or can brick
This is not a magical way to unlock, you first need s-off. if the phone is s-on then htcdev is required.

Quote:
For totally stock locked S On phone I take a same version firmware mix TWRP flashing you don't need htcdev or unlocked ?
will only work for s-off, you can not flash a firmware with twrp inside, you can only flash sigend firmware with s-on

Quote:
How I can unlock with S Off & stock Recovery non root ?
you can't, you first need to flash custom recovery using a masked firmware.zip like said above or use htcdev. using the firmware method will not wipe the phone.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Nemesis_00
Old
#7  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 95
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
you can not use adb sideload with stock recovery.

if you don't want to wipe the phone by unlocking the bootloader using htcdev.com you can:

flash a custom recovery in a masked firmware.zip with the bootloader locked (s-off only)
or
do wait said above and then unlock bootloader from custom recovery using adb shell or guru bootloader reset tool.
Well, im an idiot. That's probably what I did last time as well.
For some reason I remembered using sideload.
Flashed TWRP, installed SuperSU and back to stock recovery.

Thanks a bunch,

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes