Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more

Boost the Brightness of Your Sony Xperia Z1’s LED

I think the last time anyone has ever used a physical torch to find their earphones, … more
Post Reply

[Q] Bricked. Boot Loop. No Data in SD Card.

13th July 2014, 01:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Hi guys,

I seem to have a problem

So I was running 4.4.2 with Sense 5.5 on my phone. Vodafone (my phone company in Aus) sent out an OTA update for my phone. I'd already rooted my phone and had a custom recovery, so I knew I wasn't able to install it without going back to stock. So I tried following the procedure to go back to stock. Used 'Guru_Reset_M7_2.24.980.2' to do it and it seemed to work pretty well. It was 4.3, so I did an OTA, first one (like a 3mb file) installed fine, then the second one for 4.4.2 Sense 5.5 downloaded and installed, but not it is stuck in a boot loop. So I tried to do a factory reset from the bootloader which sent it back into the bootloop, then as nothing was working, I thought I'd install the custom recovery (TWRP) and install the ROM again and just leave it at that so at least I have a phone. Only problem is I had to unlock the bootloader again which wiped everything on the internal storage. And I'm stuck.

There's nothing in the internal memory. It's stuck in a bootloop after an OTA. I have TWRP installed as my recovery. I can access both recovery and bootloader.
Any idea's?

Also, for some reason, I can't download or access anything from this website; http://ww35.bugsylawson.com/ which I've seen used in multiple places to try and unbrick your phone

Thanks all!
13th July 2014, 02:40 PM   |  #2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
3,758 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunny007

Hi guys,

I seem to have a problem

So I was running 4.4.2 with Sense 5.5 on my phone. Vodafone (my phone company in Aus) sent out an OTA update for my phone. I'd already rooted my phone and had a custom recovery, so I knew I wasn't able to install it without going back to stock. So I tried following the procedure to go back to stock. Used 'Guru_Reset_M7_2.24.980.2' to do it and it seemed to work pretty well. It was 4.3, so I did an OTA, first one (like a 3mb file) installed fine, then the second one for 4.4.2 Sense 5.5 downloaded and installed, but not it is stuck in a boot loop. So I tried to do a factory reset from the bootloader which sent it back into the bootloop, then as nothing was working, I thought I'd install the custom recovery (TWRP) and install the ROM again and just leave it at that so at least I have a phone. Only problem is I had to unlock the bootloader again which wiped everything on the internal storage. And I'm stuck.

There's nothing in the internal memory. It's stuck in a bootloop after an OTA. I have TWRP installed as my recovery. I can access both recovery and bootloader.
Any idea's?

Also, for some reason, I can't download or access anything from this website; http://ww35.bugsylawson.com/ which I've seen used in multiple places to try and unbrick your phone

Thanks all!

instructions
Quote:

Unlock the bootloader at HTCDEV
then from fastboot USB
Flash recovery TWRP 2.6.3.3
http://techerrata.com/browse/twrp2/m7

fastboot flash recovery openrecovery-twrp-2.6.3.3-m7.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader

then sideload this Rom to your phone
http://www.androidrevolution.org/dow...D-One_31.6.zip


TWRP / Advanced / ADB Sideload - swipe to sideload
From PC adb / fastboot folder
you use
adb sideload name-of-rom.zip

make sure the rom is in the same folder as adb / fastboot

The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th July 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

instructions

Will this enable me to go fully back to stock and perform OTA updates, or is this just a way to get me out of a rut?

Thanks for the help by the way, currently in the process of doing the sideload.
14th July 2014, 12:03 AM   |  #4  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
3,758 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunny007

Will this enable me to go fully back to stock and perform OTA updates, or is this just a way to get me out of a rut?

Thanks for the help by the way, currently in the process of doing the sideload.

your just flashing a rom ...nothing to do with getting updates
14th July 2014, 01:22 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA

your just flashing a rom ...nothing to do with getting updates

Thanks for the help man, I tried doing an ADB before I posted this and it didn't work for some reason, but when I used this ROM, worked perfectly fine. Just updated to 71.1 just then as well, so now phones working a-okay. Thanks again man!
The Following User Says Thank You to Gunny007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
14th July 2014, 10:29 PM   |  #6  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,000
 
3,758 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunny007

Thanks for the help man, I tried doing an ADB before I posted this and it didn't work for some reason, but when I used this ROM, worked perfectly fine. Just updated to 71.1 just then as well, so now phones working a-okay. Thanks again man!

Good to here
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
bootloader, bootloop, bricked, htc, ota
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes