Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,811,629 Members 53,995 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Call History full of 'unknown' blank numbers

Tip us?
 
Ben-B
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 102
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default Call History full of 'unknown' blank numbers

I've been using the One for a few months, it's running the latest, unmodified OS.

Yesterday I noticed the call history is full of 'Unknown' blank numbers. To clarify - I take a call, when I finish the call enters the history as a blank entry, with name 'Unknown, and NO NUMBER showing for the call.
Looking through the list, it's happened to most incoming calls.

It never used to do this until yesterday.
I'm wondering what's changed! Why would it start to do this?

Any help appreciated!
 
yatindroid
Old
#2  
yatindroid's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 362
Posts: 1,385
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Jaipur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben-B View Post
I've been using the One for a few months, it's running the latest, unmodified OS.

Yesterday I noticed the call history is full of 'Unknown' blank numbers. To clarify - I take a call, when I finish the call enters the history as a blank entry, with name 'Unknown, and NO NUMBER showing for the call.
Looking through the list, it's happened to most incoming calls.

It never used to do this until yesterday.
I'm wondering what's changed! Why would it start to do this?

Any help appreciated!
backup your contacts export to phone storage
Clear following app data phone, contacts storage , people
Now reboot phone
Import your contact back
 
Ben-B
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 102
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by yatindroid View Post
backup your contacts export to phone storage
Clear following app data phone, contacts storage , people
Now reboot phone
Import your contact back
Thanks Yatindroid, I tried all that, but the first call I made it happened again. A true record of the call in the history, and alongside it a blank verson
 
nadun_don
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Nov 2013
Post Unknown Caller ID

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben-B View Post
Thanks Yatindroid, I tried all that, but the first call I made it happened again. A true record of the call in the history, and alongside it a blank verson
which android version you are having ?? if it is 4.4.2 u will not face this Unknown ID issue.

only the 4.4.3 update made issues for caller ID which doesn't recognize the country code of that related country service provider. when you remove the country code it will show the correct ID but then the Viber/Whatsapp/Line will not recognize the number without the Complete phone number.

you can by pass this by going the Gmail > Settings > Phone numbers: Default country code: "put a country you will never visit"
 
Ben-B
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 12
Posts: 102
Join Date: Mar 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nadun_don View Post
which android version you are having ?? if it is 4.4.2 u will not face this Unknown ID issue.

only the 4.4.3 update made issues for caller ID which doesn't recognize the country code of that related country service provider. when you remove the country code it will show the correct ID but then the Viber/Whatsapp/Line will not recognize the number without the Complete phone number.

you can by pass this by going the Gmail > Settings > Phone numbers: Default country code: "put a country you will never visit"
Thanks for the responses guys - I actauly fixed this yesterday, but thinking what it was I recently installed when this started... and uninstalling it! It was the Klick app (Cheap eBay version of the 'Pressy' Button!)
Uninstalled it and now it behaves fine.

BTW The Klick button is sort of OK, you can set it to launch an app, ie the camera, but intuitively then you expect it to also operate the camera, which it doesn't. Plus setting it to operate even when the screen is locked (as you would probably want, for instant-access) of course means I was always finding I'd knocked it.

So a good idea, but not really that functional. plus caused a glitch with my phone history!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes