FORUMS

Xiaomi Releases Kernel Source Code For Mi4i

If you’ve been following the XDA News Portal lately, you might have noticed an … more

How to Listen to Beats 1 on Android Right Now

If you felt a bit left out by Apple launching their own online radio station Beats 1 … more

NVidia SHIELD TV – XDA TV Device Review

The SHIELD TV is a not an Android smartphone device. However, that doesn’t mean it … more

PSA: Having cellular connectivity or texting issues tonight?

You’re not alone…Tonight, many users are experiencing a myriad … more

[Q] Converting to Stock from Carrier Version

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
By cjb110, Junior Member on 2nd July 2014, 01:18 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
I've got a HTC One from EE (UK), who are being retardedly slow in providing updates.
So I'd like to change to a stock HTC and still receive OTA updates. I'd prefer not to change to Google Play Edition if possible.

My bootloader currently says:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** LOCKED ***
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-HTC__001
HBOOT-1.55.0000
RADIO-4A.21.3263.04
OpenDSP-V32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB

I've got TWRP installed v2.7.1.1

I've also changed my CID to HTC__0001 and also the MID to PC0710000 using the MID Change tool.

Its currently running Android v4.3, HTC Sense 5.5 and Software 3.63.61.1.

What do I need to do next? I *think* I need to install a RUU? but not sure.
 
 
2nd July 2014, 01:27 PM |#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 2,082
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb110

I've got a HTC One from EE (UK), who are being retardedly slow in providing updates.
So I'd like to change to a stock HTC and still receive OTA updates. I'd prefer not to change to Google Play Edition if possible.

My bootloader currently says:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** LOCKED ***
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-HTC__001
HBOOT-1.55.0000
RADIO-4A.21.3263.04
OpenDSP-V32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB

I've got TWRP installed v2.7.1.1

I've also changed my CID to HTC__0001 and also the MID to PC0710000 using the MID Change tool.

Its currently running Android v4.3, HTC Sense 5.5 and Software 3.63.61.1.

What do I need to do next? I *think* I need to install a RUU? but not sure.

You are right, you now need to run the .401 ruu. Just to be sure, you said you have changed your CID to HTC__0001 ? Its HTC__001 (only 8 characters)

stay s-off and bootloader unlocked after the conversion.

your twrp recovery will be overwritten with the stock recovery included in the RUU.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 01:34 PM |#3  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halesowen
Thanks Meter: 702
 
Donate to Me
More
I did exactly the same thing with my Vodafone branded one, best move I ever made, I got the update a month before Vodafone started sharing it.

Just make sure you backup your current Rom and take note or remember your original cid should the worst happen and you need to return it for any reason, copy the backup , once created, to your pc before running the ruu.
2nd July 2014, 02:08 PM |#4  
terracuk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
I'm on EE too and in the process of grabbing all the files needed for this. My fone is 100% stock so need to unlock, root and S-Off yet.

I grabbed the RUU from here. 1.5GB. HTC Europe

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2428276
2nd July 2014, 07:41 PM |#5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks, all done now.
2nd July 2014, 09:06 PM |#6  
terracuk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 35
 
More
Sweet. All go ok? No problems?

Might get time to do mine later this week.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes