Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more

Updated Android Lollipop Preview Images – XDA TV

The Android Lollipop Preview Images are now available! That and much more news is … more
Post Reply

Cyanogenmod, lost contacts, messages etc

OP SGSII_LEDnotify

17th August 2014, 03:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Hi all,

I wanted to give cyanogenmod a go as I really liked the security guard idea so I used the HTC sync manager to backup my contacts and messages and set about getting cyanogen installed.
All went to plan (pretty much) until I tried to retrieve my contacts etc. I didn't realize the Sync Manager was dependant on Sense which obviously isn't there anymore so the phone won't sync with the software.

What can I do?

I think I can revert to stock if I can find an image and then retrieve the contacts, is there then another way to back everything up?

I hope you can help because my phone's looking very empty and sorry for itself

Thanks
17th August 2014, 03:45 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag San Juan
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Sync your contacts with google and back up your messages with an app from the play store. I use SMS Backup and Restore.
17th August 2014, 04:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks, do I need to 'de-root' my phone or can I install a stock image? Would I get this image from HTC?
17th August 2014, 04:56 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I went into bootloader and clockworkmod to try and restore the original rom from there, does cyanogen not make a backup of the previous rom?
18th August 2014, 12:38 AM   |  #5  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,226
 
14,653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
No ROM makes a backup before it Flashs that is up to you to do yourself. You will have to flash a stock based ROM.
18th August 2014, 02:24 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks for the reply. I did a bit of reading before installing and CM seemed like a quick and easy option to get the job done and try an alternative ROM. I even said over on their forum that I had backed up using the Sync Manager and no one thought to mention that I wouldn't be able to restore any data. No one said make sure you take an image yourself because CM won't do it for you.

And to top it all off I'm not that happy with CM, the battery life is atrocious.

Ah regrets!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes