FORUMS

OnePlus Two: Expectations and Boundaries

OnePlus is a company that has been through controversies and praise in what was perhaps one of … more

Time-Lapse with ChronoSnap – XDA App Review

Some of the most interesting pictures are time-lapse animations that capture the … more

XeroAsh Theme for CM12

This theme by XDA Senior Member balrajs99 features a black and slate gray UI that gives your phone a … more

Samsung Galaxy S6 To Receive Major Camera Update

When the Samsung Galaxy S6 and S6 Edge were launched, they became the prime focus for … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Cyanogenmod, lost contacts, messages etc

17th August 2014, 03:22 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Hi all,

I wanted to give cyanogenmod a go as I really liked the security guard idea so I used the HTC sync manager to backup my contacts and messages and set about getting cyanogen installed.
All went to plan (pretty much) until I tried to retrieve my contacts etc. I didn't realize the Sync Manager was dependant on Sense which obviously isn't there anymore so the phone won't sync with the software.

What can I do?

I think I can revert to stock if I can find an image and then retrieve the contacts, is there then another way to back everything up?

I hope you can help because my phone's looking very empty and sorry for itself

Thanks
 
 
17th August 2014, 03:45 PM |#2  
Junior Member
Flag San Juan
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Sync your contacts with google and back up your messages with an app from the play store. I use SMS Backup and Restore.
17th August 2014, 04:06 PM |#3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks, do I need to 'de-root' my phone or can I install a stock image? Would I get this image from HTC?
17th August 2014, 04:56 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I went into bootloader and clockworkmod to try and restore the original rom from there, does cyanogen not make a backup of the previous rom?
18th August 2014, 12:38 AM |#5  
zelendel's Avatar
Senior Moderator / Mod. Cttee. Retired - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 14,021
 
More
No ROM makes a backup before it Flashs that is up to you to do yourself. You will have to flash a stock based ROM.
18th August 2014, 02:24 PM |#6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Thanks for the reply. I did a bit of reading before installing and CM seemed like a quick and easy option to get the job done and try an alternative ROM. I even said over on their forum that I had backed up using the Sync Manager and no one thought to mention that I wouldn't be able to restore any data. No one said make sure you take an image yourself because CM won't do it for you.

And to top it all off I'm not that happy with CM, the battery life is atrocious.

Ah regrets!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes