OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Cyanogenmod, lost contacts, messages etc

OP SGSII_LEDnotify

17th August 2014, 04:22 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Hi all,

I wanted to give cyanogenmod a go as I really liked the security guard idea so I used the HTC sync manager to backup my contacts and messages and set about getting cyanogen installed.
All went to plan (pretty much) until I tried to retrieve my contacts etc. I didn't realize the Sync Manager was dependant on Sense which obviously isn't there anymore so the phone won't sync with the software.

What can I do?

I think I can revert to stock if I can find an image and then retrieve the contacts, is there then another way to back everything up?

I hope you can help because my phone's looking very empty and sorry for itself

Thanks
17th August 2014, 04:45 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Flag San Juan
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Sync your contacts with google and back up your messages with an app from the play store. I use SMS Backup and Restore.
17th August 2014, 05:06 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks, do I need to 'de-root' my phone or can I install a stock image? Would I get this image from HTC?
17th August 2014, 05:56 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I went into bootloader and clockworkmod to try and restore the original rom from there, does cyanogen not make a backup of the previous rom?
18th August 2014, 01:38 AM   |  #5  
zelendel's Avatar
Moderator Committee - The Dark Knight
Flag Watching from the Shadows
Thanks Meter: 11,848
 
15,375 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
No ROM makes a backup before it Flashs that is up to you to do yourself. You will have to flash a stock based ROM.
18th August 2014, 03:24 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
23 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Thanks for the reply. I did a bit of reading before installing and CM seemed like a quick and easy option to get the job done and try an alternative ROM. I even said over on their forum that I had backed up using the Sync Manager and no one thought to mention that I wouldn't be able to restore any data. No one said make sure you take an image yourself because CM won't do it for you.

And to top it all off I'm not that happy with CM, the battery life is atrocious.

Ah regrets!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes