Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,311 Members 47,979 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] flashing rom s-on

Tip us?
 
coolshritz
Old
#11  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtrider129 View Post
I was getting s-off because I was told to get s-off so I could flash the 3.17 ruu to update my hboot/ touchscreen drivers and radio before flashing viper, which I figured so viper would run smoother. I'm a noob just getting into modding. I have a AT&T HTC one running on crickets new gsm network and since I can't get OTAs I first wanted to just get up to 4.4 and sense 6 but then I figured I'd just go custom Rom.
It is not mandatory to S-Off to flash a rom. Your rom will anyway work in a good way.
The Following User Says Thank You to coolshritz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dirtrider129
Old
#12  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
skip the stock recovery step .. after your s-off you can flash the RUU even unlocked... your flashing the RUU to get your hboot / touch screen drivers and radio more up to date.
Well after failing with revone, rumrunner, and firewater I went ahead and flashed viper, and everything was fine. I can't help be bugged by the fact that you told me to get s-off and flash that ruu to get the updated radio and touchscreen drivers, I read that I need a 4.2 Rom to get revone to work so I am gonna give it another try. I tried running firewater with ARHD and it said that it had an anti-firewater patch. So I am just curious as to what the importance of having the updated hboot, radio, and touchscreen drivers. I just feel like I should still get it done since u told me not to skip that step, not to mention later on down the line when I get more familiar with all of this dev and modding stuff I might want to do other things that require a-off. Thanks for all your help and info . Before I continue with it I made a backup of viper with the setting and themes I've set up, after I get s-off and flash the ruu, should I 're-flash the Rom or can I restore my backup with out changing any of the updated software, I didn't think the Rom would have anything to do with it but I just wanna make sure. Thanks
 
clsA
Old
#13  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 884
Posts: 3,282
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtrider129 View Post
Well after failing with revone, rumrunner, and firewater I went ahead and flashed viper, and everything was fine. I can't help be bugged by the fact that you told me to get s-off and flash that ruu to get the updated radio and touchscreen drivers, I read that I need a 4.2 Rom to get revone to work so I am gonna give it another try. I tried running firewater with ARHD and it said that it had an anti-firewater patch. So I am just curious as to what the importance of having the updated hboot, radio, and touchscreen drivers. I just feel like I should still get it done since u told me not to skip that step, not to mention later on down the line when I get more familiar with all of this dev and modding stuff I might want to do other things that require a-off. Thanks for all your help and info . Before I continue with it I made a backup of viper with the setting and themes I've set up, after I get s-off and flash the ruu, should I 're-flash the Rom or can I restore my backup with out changing any of the updated software, I didn't think the Rom would have anything to do with it but I just wanna make sure. Thanks
you can restore your backup with the new firmware

for firewater you needed ARHD + ElementalX kernel
it mark just fine with the ViperOne rom also

Revone only works on hboot 1.44 and android 4.1.2 and/or 4.2.2
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

The Following User Says Thank You to clsA For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dirtrider129
Old
(Last edited by dirtrider129; 5th August 2014 at 08:13 PM.) Reason: edit
#14  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
you can restore your backup with the new firmware

for firewater you needed ARHD + ElementalX kernel
it mark just fine with the ViperOne rom also

Revone only works on hboot 1.44 and android 4.1.2 and/or 4.2.2
Do you think firewater will work with viper+Elemental X kernel? If I used the same guide as with ARHD. I tried to s-off with revone by flashing a 4.2.2 viper Rom but I lost all signal and service, so I restored my backup. Also I was wondering since I'm running the 3.17 ruu to update radio and stuff , should I use the 4.18 ruu since its newer? Thanks again for all the help.

UPDATE: Well ran firewater since coudnt get revone to work , took all of like 45 seconds and it said device is s-off. Couldn't believe it after all the trouble I've had.Awesome!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes