Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,957 Members 39,376 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Help unlocking bootloader w or w/o HTCdev

Tip us?
 
Gigaman92
Old
(Last edited by Gigaman92; 5th August 2014 at 11:23 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default [Q] Help unlocking bootloader w or w/o HTCdev

I've got a dilemma where my HTC One's volume rocker doesn't work properly (the volume down button seems to work when it's convenient while the volume up never works). So when I get to the screen where it asks me to confirm the unlocked bootloader, I can't confirm it at all. I've looked into other methods and revone seems to be the most promising. I tried it yesterday and got the error "segmentation fault". Is there another method to unlocking the bootloader aside from HTCDev or a workaround to the volume button problem?
 
alray
Old
#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,089
Posts: 2,811
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigaman92 View Post
I've got a dilemma where my HTC One's volume rocker doesn't work properly (the volume down button seems to work when it's convenient while the volume up never works). So when I get to the screen where it asks me to confirm the unlocked bootloader, I can't confirm it at all. I've looked into other methods and revone seems to be the most promising. I tried it yesterday and got the error "segmentation fault", which I found a solution to. Before I try this solution, however, I want to know, is there an easier method?
1st method to unlock bootloader is from htcdev.com which will require your volume button to works.
2nd method require s-off either by using the guru bootloader tool or using dd commands
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Gigaman92
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
1st method to unlock bootloader is from htcdev.com which will require your volume button to works.
2nd method require s-off either by using the guru bootloader tool or using dd commands
I'll look into Guru a bit more. I might be able to use it but I'm not sure yet.
 
Gigaman92
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Sorry for the bump. I looked into the Guru bootloader tool and it says I need S-Off as a prerequisite. Revone should be capable of giving me S-off as my HTC One's HBOOT version is 1.44. and its software version is 1.26.502.15. However, I get the Segmentation fault error when I try to run revone. I've read that HBOOT should be dated for May 2013 but mine is dated for July 2013 so that might be why revone doesn't work.

Are there any other solutions to my problem?
 
majmoz
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 154
Posts: 606
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sonoita
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gigaman92 View Post
Sorry for the bump. I looked into the Guru bootloader tool and it says I need S-Off as a prerequisite. Revone should be capable of giving me S-off as my HTC One's HBOOT version is 1.44. and its software version is 1.26.502.15. However, I get the Segmentation fault error when I try to run revone. I've read that HBOOT should be dated for May 2013 but mine is dated for July 2013 so that might be why revone doesn't work.

Are there any other solutions to my problem?
You can try to revone using a terminal emulator on your phone. Download a terminal emulator from the Play Store, then follow these steps:

 Download the Revone file and transfer it to your phone (or download on your phone)
 Use a root file explorer and paste the file inside the /data/local/tmp folder
 Open a terminal emulator and type of the following:
su (enter)
cd /data/local/tmp (enter)
chmod 755 revone (enter) (IF revone doesnít work, type revone.bin)
./revone -P (enter)
 Reboot
 Open terminal again and type:
su (enter)
cd /data/local/tmp (enter)
./revone -s 0 -u (That would be a ZERO) (enter)
 Reboot
 Thatís it!
 
Gigaman92
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz View Post
You can try to revone using a terminal emulator on your phone. Download a terminal emulator from the Play Store, then follow these steps:

 Download the Revone file and transfer it to your phone (or download on your phone)
 Use a root file explorer and paste the file inside the /data/local/tmp folder
 Open a terminal emulator and type of the following:
su (enter)
cd /data/local/tmp (enter)
chmod 755 revone (enter) (IF revone doesnít work, type revone.bin)
./revone -P (enter)
 Reboot
 Open terminal again and type:
su (enter)
cd /data/local/tmp (enter)
./revone -s 0 -u (That would be a ZERO) (enter)
 Reboot
 Thatís it!
Thanks for the help. However, revone will not work with my phone. Using weaksauce, I was able to root the phone. I tried revone with the phone rooted and got Error 6, so apparently my HBOOT 1.44 is patched. I'm going to try using firewater a bit later today. Wish me luck.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Speed Up Jenkins Configuration Process with TSJ

When you are theleader of a largedevelopment project, Gerrit isn’t the only tool that … more

AutoData Regulates Your Connectivity to Save Battery Life

It’s absolutely no secret that battery life is somewhat of anundoingformany … more

Tale of the Great Recoveries

About a week ago, our fantastic writer and my esteemed colleague Tom embarked on a mission to learnthe vast and … more

How to Make Your GPS Lock Faster – XDA Developer TV

Nothing is more frustrating than opening up Google Maps and it taking way to long … more