Post Reply

[Q] How to enable LTE on HTC ONE m7 (U)

OP Thepho3nix

17th July 2014, 06:57 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
I'm kinda disappointed.
I bought a brand new HTC one m7 but didn't know that were some variants out there in the market.
I checked in fastboot mode and my variant is M7_U (gsm version). digging in the web I found that all variants got the same hardware, and the soc S600 brings LTE support as well.
So how do I enable LTE radio? I also found I need minimum requirements as S-off, superCID (I don't know what it is, need explain) and other things I guess basend needs. So, how do I enable lte? Is there a tutorial? A thread? Thanks for your knowledge guys, cheers.
17th July 2014, 07:00 AM   |  #2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,675
 
4,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thepho3nix

I'm kinda disappointed.
I bought a brand new HTC one m7 but didn't know that were some variants out there in the market.
I checked in fastboot mode and my variant is M7_U (gsm version). digging in the web I found that all variants got the same hardware, and the soc S600 brings LTE support as well.
So how do I enable LTE radio? I also found I need minimum requirements as S-off, superCID (I don't know what it is, need explain) and other things I guess basend needs. So, how do I enable lte? Is there a tutorial? A thread? Thanks for your knowledge guys, cheers.

the M7_U doesn't have the exact same hardware of the M7_UL. This is impossible to enable LTE on that model, not the same modem chip.
17th July 2014, 07:04 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

the M7_U doesn't have the exact same hardware of the M7_UL. This is impossible to enable LTE on that model, not the same modem chip.

Thanks for your soon answer.
What's the difference between my model and others? If S600 soc gives LTE support.
I feel bad now :'(
17th July 2014, 07:12 AM   |  #4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,675
 
4,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thepho3nix

Thanks for your soon answer.
What's the difference between my model and others? If S600 soc gives LTE support.
I feel bad now :'(

M7_U
MDM8215 Qualcomm Gobi Modem chip
3G+/4G modem
HSPA+
Rel8/9
GSM
EDGE
up to 84 Mbps

M7_UL
MDM9215 Qualcomm Gobi Modem chip
3G+/4G/LTE modem
LTE
Rel9
HSPA+
Rel 8
1x/DO
TD-SCDMA
GSM/EDGE
Up to 100 Mbps

I don't have LTE to and I dont feel I'm missing it. HSPA+ is fast enough and consume much less power than LTE.
17th July 2014, 07:16 AM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Ohh, so there's no LTE chip in our m7's that's so bad dude :'( but it's strictly hardware related, or there's any chance to get it?
17th July 2014, 07:24 AM   |  #6  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,675
 
4,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thepho3nix

Ohh, so there's no LTE chip in our m7's that's so bad dude

Really not that bad, LTE is not that good, sure it will become much more better with time, but atm, not a huge difference compared to hspa+

Quote:

:'( but it's strictly hardware related, or there's any chance to get it?

this is an hardware restriction so no, there isnt any chance of getting lte on that model.
17th July 2014, 07:30 AM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 16
 
208 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

Really not that bad, LTE is not that good, sure it will become much more better with time, but atm, not a huge difference compared to hspa+


this is an hardware restriction so no, there isnt any chance of getting lte on that model.

Thanks for your amazing help.
Really appreciate that gesture. So bad I cannot afford it but well I just gotta accept it that way lol [emoji12]
17th July 2014, 07:32 AM   |  #8  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,675
 
4,269 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thepho3nix

Ohh, so there's no LTE chip in our m7's that's so bad dude :'( but it's strictly hardware related, or there's any chance to get it?

typical speed of HSPA+ is 2-10 Mbps
typical speed of LTE is 10-20 Mbps

2-10 Mbps is well enough to do everything on your phone imo.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes