Jolla Tablet Announced: The Second Sailfish OS Device

A little over a year ago, Jolla released its first smartphone with the brand new Jolla … more

Android One Devices Get Unofficial CM12 Port

Android One was initially announced right before Android Lollipop. By releasing these cheap, yet … more

WhatsApp Decides to Protect Your Data

When Facebook bought WhatsApp for the absurdly large sum of $19bn back in February, they took the tech … more

Bring Back LTE on the Google Nexus 4 Running Lollipop

One of the predecessors of the latest, largest, and greatest Gooogle Nexus 6(theGoogle … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HTC One Bootloop

OP carnthepies

23rd August 2014, 06:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Recently I rooted my HTC One. I was on the official Sense 6 ROM with 4.4.2, then Telstra released an OTA update for 4.4.3. I wanted to download this so I used this:

htc1guru.com /downloads/ stock-rom-downloads



To do a stock reset and it worked. I started downloading one of the many OTA updates that had accrued since 4.2.2 and after the first one installed I ended up in a boot loop. I've put TWRP back onto the phone and can boot into Recovery but I can't install get any ROMs to install. Please help. Any ideas?

It's a Telstra phone from Australia.
S-ON
HBOOT 1.57
23rd August 2014, 06:46 AM   |  #2  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnthepies

Recently I rooted my HTC One. I was on the official Sense 6 ROM with 4.4.2, then Telstra released an OTA update for 4.4.3. I wanted to download this so I used this:

htc1guru.com /downloads/ stock-rom-downloads



To do a stock reset and it worked. I started downloading one of the many OTA updates that had accrued since 4.2.2 and after the first one installed I ended up in a boot loop. I've put TWRP back onto the phone and can boot into Recovery but I can't install get any ROMs to install. Please help. Any ideas?

It's a Telstra phone from Australia.
S-ON
HBOOT 1.57

You have a mismatch between your firmware and OS. The Guru Reset was too old of a version. Since, you are S-ON you can not downgrade your hboot, firmware or OS; it has to be the same or higher. Your hboot 1.57 means your version will start with 5.XX.841.X. Unless, you have a nandroid backup you are going to have to use this guide to return to stock. You will need to follow the guide far enough to get OTAs.
23rd August 2014, 04:10 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

You have a mismatch between your firmware and OS. The Guru Reset was too old of a version. Since, you are S-ON you can not downgrade your hboot, firmware or OS; it has to be the same or higher. Your hboot 1.57 means your version will start with 5.XX.841.X. Unless, you have a nandroid backup you are going to have to use this guide to return to stock. You will need to follow the guide far enough to get OTAs.

I haven't been able to locate a nandroid backup for TWRP for this phone.

Also, is there a way to get S-OFF if I can't boot my phone into Android? All S-OFF methods seem to require this.
23rd August 2014, 11:50 PM   |  #4  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnthepies

I haven't been able to locate a nandroid backup for TWRP for this phone.

Also, is there a way to get S-OFF if I can't boot my phone into Android? All S-OFF methods seem to require this.

What is the state of your phone? When it bootloops what were you doing prior to it bootlooping?
Is the bootloader unlocked?
What version is your TWRP?
Since you have TWRP installed can you boot into the bootloader screen from TWRP?
Are you familiar with adb & fastboot?
When you connect your phone to your PC does the PC recognize the phone and are you able to move files from the PC to the phone?
Which rom were you trying to flash on your phone?[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 02:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

You might try to contact @thejosh86 from this post to see if he can provide you with a nandroid backup OS 5.11.841.9.
24th August 2014, 12:59 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

What is the state of your phone? When it bootloops what were you doing prior to it bootlooping?
Is the bootloader unlocked?
What version is your TWRP?
Since you have TWRP installed can you boot into the bootloader screen from TWRP?
Are you familiar with adb & fastboot?
When you connect your phone to your PC does the PC recognize the phone and are you able to move files from the PC to the phone?
Which rom were you trying to flash on your phone?[COLOR="Silver"]

---------- Post added at 02:50 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:15 PM ----------

You might try to contact @thejosh86 from this post to see if he can provide you with a nandroid backup OS 5.11.841.9.

I had initially gone back to 4.2.2, and was installing one of the updates. When the phone booted up after trying to install the update it just started into its bootloop.
Bootloader is unlocked.
TWRP v2.7.1.1
I am familiar enough with adb and fastboot
PC doesn't recognise the phone but I have pushed files to the phone using adb and fastboot
I was trying to flash back to the custom ROM, but stupidly it was an old version and I encountered the problem above (mismatching firmware/OS)
24th August 2014, 02:34 AM   |  #6  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnthepies

I had initially gone back to 4.2.2, and was installing one of the updates. When the phone booted up after trying to install the update it just started into its bootloop.
Bootloader is unlocked.
TWRP v2.7.1.1
I am familiar enough with adb and fastboot
PC doesn't recognise the phone but I have pushed files to the phone using adb and fastboot
I was trying to flash back to the custom ROM, but stupidly it was an old version and I encountered the problem above (mismatching firmware/OS)

I have look and can not find firmware, rom or recovery for your phone. Are you running Win 8.1 by chance? If you are the reason it can not see your phone is that the hboot has been downgraded to 1.44. If that is the case, you will have to find a Win 7 machine or use Linux on a USB FAQ Q#5 for the fastboot to work. If you go this route, then make sure you use V12.04 you will have to scroll down the page to Alternative downloads to find the older version. The newer version require a lot more work to install. The big downside to Linux is that you can not run exe files but zip run just fine. If fastboot works then let's take a look at a fastboot getvar all with the imei and serialno removed.
24th August 2014, 11:26 AM   |  #7  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,068
 
6,180 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

use Linux on a USB FAQ Q#5 for the fastboot to work. If you go this route, then make sure you use V12.04 you will have to scroll down the page to Alternative downloads to find the older version. The newer version require a lot more work to install.

just fyi, i've also used 14.04 LTS and 14.04.1 LTS (32 bit), and the same commands work just fine to install adb & fastboot (nothing else needed)
Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:nilarimogard/webupd8
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install android-tools-adb android-tools-fastboot
the only thing to watch out for (in any of the versions), is sometimes "sudo apt-get update", doesn't fully update from the first time, and has to be done again, until it updates the repos properly.
24th August 2014, 03:09 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

I have look and can not find firmware, rom or recovery for your phone. Are you running Win 8.1 by chance? If you are the reason it can not see your phone is that the hboot has been downgraded to 1.44. If that is the case, you will have to find a Win 7 machine or use Linux on a USB FAQ Q#5 for the fastboot to work. If you go this route, then make sure you use V12.04 you will have to scroll down the page to Alternative downloads to find the older version. The newer version require a lot more work to install. The big downside to Linux is that you can not run exe files but zip run just fine. If fastboot works then let's take a look at a fastboot getvar all with the imei and serialno removed.

I'm running windows 7.

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.57.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4T.27.3218.14
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON


(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0714000
(bootloader) cidnum: TELST001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4339mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-e47fb74b
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!

Thanks for your help.
24th August 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #9  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 344
 
1,175 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by carnthepies

I'm running windows 7.

(bootloader) version: 0.5
(bootloader) version-bootloader: 1.57.0000
(bootloader) version-baseband: 4T.27.3218.14
(bootloader) version-cpld: None
(bootloader) version-microp: None
(bootloader) version-main:
(bootloader) version-misc: PVT SHIP S-ON


(bootloader) meid: 00000000000000
(bootloader) product: m7_ul
(bootloader) platform: HBOOT-8064
(bootloader) modelid: PN0714000
(bootloader) cidnum: TELST001
(bootloader) battery-status: good
(bootloader) battery-voltage: 4339mV
(bootloader) partition-layout: Generic
(bootloader) security: on
(bootloader) build-mode: SHIP
(bootloader) boot-mode: FASTBOOT
(bootloader) commitno-bootloader: dirty-e47fb74b
(bootloader) hbootpreupdate: 11
(bootloader) gencheckpt: 0
all: Done!

Thanks for your help.

If you can not get a nandroid for your phone, I would try to flash a stock custom rom like Android Revolution HD or MaximusHD. If you can get these installed on the phone and working. Then I would try to S-OFF so you can downgrade to the RUU that is available for .841 and let the phone do the OTAs to catch up or change to the International (.401) version or the DevEd (.1540) version.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes