Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,164 Members 38,875 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Converting to Stock from Carrier Version

Tip us?
 
cjb110
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2006
Question [Q] Converting to Stock from Carrier Version

I've got a HTC One from EE (UK), who are being retardedly slow in providing updates.
So I'd like to change to a stock HTC and still receive OTA updates. I'd prefer not to change to Google Play Edition if possible.

My bootloader currently says:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** LOCKED ***
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-HTC__001
HBOOT-1.55.0000
RADIO-4A.21.3263.04
OpenDSP-V32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB

I've got TWRP installed v2.7.1.1

I've also changed my CID to HTC__0001 and also the MID to PC0710000 using the MID Change tool.

Its currently running Android v4.3, HTC Sense 5.5 and Software 3.63.61.1.

What do I need to do next? I *think* I need to install a RUU? but not sure.
 
alray
Old
#2  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,098
Posts: 2,841
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjb110 View Post
I've got a HTC One from EE (UK), who are being retardedly slow in providing updates.
So I'd like to change to a stock HTC and still receive OTA updates. I'd prefer not to change to Google Play Edition if possible.

My bootloader currently says:
*** TAMPERED ***
*** LOCKED ***
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-HTC__001
HBOOT-1.55.0000
RADIO-4A.21.3263.04
OpenDSP-V32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB

I've got TWRP installed v2.7.1.1

I've also changed my CID to HTC__0001 and also the MID to PC0710000 using the MID Change tool.

Its currently running Android v4.3, HTC Sense 5.5 and Software 3.63.61.1.

What do I need to do next? I *think* I need to install a RUU? but not sure.
You are right, you now need to run the .401 ruu. Just to be sure, you said you have changed your CID to HTC__0001 ? Its HTC__001 (only 8 characters)

stay s-off and bootloader unlocked after the conversion.

your twrp recovery will be overwritten with the stock recovery included in the RUU.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Seanie280672
Old
#3  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
I did exactly the same thing with my Vodafone branded one, best move I ever made, I got the update a month before Vodafone started sharing it.

Just make sure you backup your current Rom and take note or remember your original cid should the worst happen and you need to return it for any reason, copy the backup , once created, to your pc before running the ruu.
 
terracuk
Old
#4  
terracuk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 147
Join Date: Jun 2011
I'm on EE too and in the process of grabbing all the files needed for this. My fone is 100% stock so need to unlock, root and S-Off yet.

I grabbed the RUU from here. 1.5GB. HTC Europe

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2428276
 
cjb110
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Apr 2006
Thanks, all done now.
 
terracuk
Old
#6  
terracuk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 147
Join Date: Jun 2011
Sweet. All go ok? No problems?

Might get time to do mine later this week.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes