Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] HTC One can't enter CWP/TWRP on boot loop please help

OP WilmanB

2nd July 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Hi Guys

i think i really messed up my HTC one first of all here's the screen details on the boot loader
and I'm a complete noobie on android and this is phone is my frist android device

****UNLOCKED****
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-HTC__044
HBOOT-1.57.0000
RADIO-4T.27.3218.14
OpenDSP-v32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB
Apr 25 2014

PC: Windows 7 Ultimate

The story is I tried to root my device using this tutorial in youtube from zedomax
and it was a success without trouble,
So I tried to install a custom ROM ViperOne_6.2.0.zip
and its where everything got messed up when the installation returned an error during installation
I tried reinstalling and i think i wiped all the data on the storage including the backup using the TWRP wipe button including OS files
after several attempts i was able to re enter TWRP and/or CWP trying to install via Sideload command but failed
i cant load zip files via my PC too because my pc cant read/write the storage of my phone. (I installed USB drivers and phone is detectable on device manager)
now the bootloader have this error Active cmdline overflow! (1094 Bytes)

Since I'm a real newbie in android may I kindly ask a step-by-step instruction on how can i recover if possible from this trouble.
I would really appreciate everyone's help from this forum.
2nd July 2014, 05:09 AM   |  #2  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halesowen
Thanks Meter: 347
 
1,172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
here's a guide to fix that active cmdline overflow, you messed up one of your partitions and your phone wont work until you fix that issue, you need to follow that guide to the letter, do not skip any parts, read it all first and understand it, if you get any of the commands wrong you could end up with a complete brick so copy and paste them.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2739126
The Following User Says Thank You to Seanie280672 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Thank you for the quick reply,

I tried to install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly
when I erased cache then rebooted the fast booth, the "Active cmdline overflow! (**** Bytes)" error was gone
but when i enter recovery, it reboots again to fastboot and the error reappears.
and the cycle repeats again.

I can't get past this
one more thing...I noticed that you used a different adb C:\ADB3> is there a version 3 or is it just a folder name?

when I try to detect device in fastboot:
D:\HTCOne recover\HTCOneRoot>fastboot devices
FA32GW9**** fastboot

but when i try to use the same command on adb:
D:\HTCOne recover\HTCOneRoot>adb devices
List of devices attached

nothing on the list. And ADB commands don't work because it can't recognize the device.

I really need your help. Thanks in Advance

I would like to add that I can't access the phone storage through my PC

one more thing...
how would I know if i got these?
from the guide
"Well you need adb commands, root and busybox... which are only available in a custom recovery or a rooted ROM (with USB debugging enabled)"

1. adb commands
2. root and
3. busybox
4. custom recovery or a rooted ROM (with USB debugging enabled)

which are only available in a custom recovery or a rooted ROM (with USB debugging enabled)"
Last edited by WilmanB; 2nd July 2014 at 09:29 AM.
2nd July 2014, 09:27 AM   |  #4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,387
 
3,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilmanB

Thank you for the quick reply,

I tried to install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly
when I erased cache then rebooted the fast booth, the "Active cmdline overflow! (**** Bytes)" error was gone
but when i enter recovery, it reboots again to fastboot and the error reappears.
and the cycle repeats again.

I can't get past this
one more thing...I noticed that you used a different adb C:\ADB3> is there a version 3 or is it just a folder name?

have you restored mmcblk0p19 like said in the guide?

Quote:

but when i try to use the same command on adb:
D:\HTCOne recover\HTCOneRoot>adb devices
List of devices attached

nothing on the list.
and ADB commands don't work because it can't recognize the device.

I really need your help. Thanks in Advance

I would like to add that I can't access the phone storage through my PC

adb only works from custom recovery or from a booted rom with usb debug on. adb will not works from bootloader and you will not see phone storage from bootloader.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 10:50 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

have you restored mmcblk0p19 like said in the guide?

but adb does not recognize my phone so i cant restore mmcblk0p1 like it says on the instruction

adb wont respond to any adb commands

but fastboot is responsive

"adb only works from custom recovery or from a booted rom with usb debug on."
how do i do this? How will I know if I'm running in a booted ROM with USB debug On?

I install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly but it wont enter recovery mode
Last edited by WilmanB; 2nd July 2014 at 10:54 AM.
2nd July 2014, 12:17 PM   |  #6  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Halesowen
Thanks Meter: 347
 
1,172 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
Donate to Me
More
First of all you will know if you are running a booted Rom if your phone boots up lol, in your case, yours doesn't, so ignore this and usb debugging.

Fastboot commands only work in bootloader.

Adb commands for you will only work inside recovery.

You must get into recovery to use adb to fix your phone, the reason you apprear to not be able to get in is because of your hboot version, you need to downgrade it, however I leave this completely in your hands and won't be held responsible if you brick your phone, simply, if you flash even the slightest wrong hboot, you'll have a brick, read the rest of that thread after the instructions, your same issue is in that thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to Seanie280672 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #7  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,387
 
3,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilmanB

but adb does not recognize my phone so i cant restore mmcblk0p1 like it says on the instruction

adb wont respond to any adb commands

but fastboot is responsive

ADB commands = Usable from custom recovery mode or from a normally booted phone (not your case)
FASTBOOT commands = Usable only from bootloader, where you currently are. You can't use adb here

Quote:

"adb only works from custom recovery or from a booted rom with usb debug on."
how do i do this? How will I know if I'm running in a booted ROM with USB debug On?

flash the nobcb verison of twrp, boot in recovery and then you'll be able to use ADB commands.

Quote:

I install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly but it wont enter recovery mode

Code:
fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
then try to boot in recovery mode again.

if you are still not able to boot the nobcb recovery, better to ask in the thread Seanie280672 linked you
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 11:03 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Wow, thank you all very much. I am now able to enter recovery mode using HBOOT -1.44.0000 through CWT recovery

no more cmdline overflow.
and I'm done restoring mmcblk0p19

now i just need to find the correct RUU to flash I need your help again guys? I'm not really sure what RUU to flash or what to do next from here
3rd July 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #9  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Montreal, Quebec
Thanks Meter: 1,387
 
3,593 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilmanB

Wow, thank you all very much. I am now able to enter recovery mode using HBOOT -1.44.0000 through CWT recovery

no more cmdline overflow.
and I'm done restoring mmcblk0p19

now i just need to find the correct RUU to flash I need your help again guys? I'm not really sure what RUU to flash or what to do next from here

post the output of "fastboot getvar all" excluding imei and serialno and we'll be able to tell you what ruu you can use.
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 04:10 AM   |  #10  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray

post the output of "fastboot getvar all" excluding imei and serialno and we'll be able to tell you what ruu you can use.

@elray
Thanks for replying these are what i got from the getvar command

version: 0.5
version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
version-cpld: None
version-microp: None
version-main: 2.24.707.1
version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
serialno: FA32GW9*****
imei: 3558590500*****
meid: 00000000000000
product: m7_ul
platform: HBOOT-8064
modelid: PN0714000
cidnum: HTC__044
battery-status: good
battery-voltage: 4318mV
partition-layout: Generic
security: off
build-mode: SHIP
boot-mode: FASTBOOT
commitno-bootloader: dirty-d16dc66985
hbootpreupdate: 11
gencheckpt: 0

I wish you can locate a proper RUU for my device.
I would also like to ask if it is possible to install custom ROM on my phone.
I tried to install the ViperOne 6.2.0 and Android Revolution HD 71.1 but it's both unsuccessful

now I'm stuck on Android 4.2.2 in HTC Sense 5 because i can't install new updates to KitKat and Sense 6
Last edited by WilmanB; 4th July 2014 at 04:14 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes