Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,805,091 Members 53,324 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC One can't enter CWP/TWRP on boot loop please help

Tip us?
 
WilmanB
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default [Q] HTC One can't enter CWP/TWRP on boot loop please help

Hi Guys

i think i really messed up my HTC one first of all here's the screen details on the boot loader
and I'm a complete noobie on android and this is phone is my frist android device

****UNLOCKED****
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-OFF RH
CID-HTC__044
HBOOT-1.57.0000
RADIO-4T.27.3218.14
OpenDSP-v32.120.274.0909
OS-
eMMC-boot 2048MB
Apr 25 2014

PC: Windows 7 Ultimate

The story is I tried to root my device using this tutorial in youtube from zedomax
and it was a success without trouble,
So I tried to install a custom ROM ViperOne_6.2.0.zip
and its where everything got messed up when the installation returned an error during installation
I tried reinstalling and i think i wiped all the data on the storage including the backup using the TWRP wipe button including OS files
after several attempts i was able to re enter TWRP and/or CWP trying to install via Sideload command but failed
i cant load zip files via my PC too because my pc cant read/write the storage of my phone. (I installed USB drivers and phone is detectable on device manager)
now the bootloader have this error Active cmdline overflow! (1094 Bytes)

Since I'm a real newbie in android may I kindly ask a step-by-step instruction on how can i recover if possible from this trouble.
I would really appreciate everyone's help from this forum.
 
Seanie280672
Old
#2  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
here's a guide to fix that active cmdline overflow, you messed up one of your partitions and your phone wont work until you fix that issue, you need to follow that guide to the letter, do not skip any parts, read it all first and understand it, if you get any of the commands wrong you could end up with a complete brick so copy and paste them.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2739126
The Following User Says Thank You to Seanie280672 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WilmanB
Old
(Last edited by WilmanB; 2nd July 2014 at 08:29 AM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2014
Thank you for the quick reply,

I tried to install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly
when I erased cache then rebooted the fast booth, the "Active cmdline overflow! (**** Bytes)" error was gone
but when i enter recovery, it reboots again to fastboot and the error reappears.
and the cycle repeats again.

I can't get past this
one more thing...I noticed that you used a different adb C:\ADB3> is there a version 3 or is it just a folder name?

when I try to detect device in fastboot:
D:\HTCOne recover\HTCOneRoot>fastboot devices
FA32GW9**** fastboot

but when i try to use the same command on adb:
D:\HTCOne recover\HTCOneRoot>adb devices
List of devices attached

nothing on the list. And ADB commands don't work because it can't recognize the device.

I really need your help. Thanks in Advance

I would like to add that I can't access the phone storage through my PC

one more thing...
how would I know if i got these?
from the guide
"Well you need adb commands, root and busybox... which are only available in a custom recovery or a rooted ROM (with USB debugging enabled)"

1. adb commands
2. root and
3. busybox
4. custom recovery or a rooted ROM (with USB debugging enabled)

which are only available in a custom recovery or a rooted ROM (with USB debugging enabled)"
 
alray
Old
#4  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,091
Posts: 2,822
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilmanB View Post
Thank you for the quick reply,

I tried to install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly
when I erased cache then rebooted the fast booth, the "Active cmdline overflow! (**** Bytes)" error was gone
but when i enter recovery, it reboots again to fastboot and the error reappears.
and the cycle repeats again.

I can't get past this
one more thing...I noticed that you used a different adb C:\ADB3> is there a version 3 or is it just a folder name?
have you restored mmcblk0p19 like said in the guide?

Quote:
but when i try to use the same command on adb:
D:\HTCOne recover\HTCOneRoot>adb devices
List of devices attached

nothing on the list.
and ADB commands don't work because it can't recognize the device.

I really need your help. Thanks in Advance

I would like to add that I can't access the phone storage through my PC
adb only works from custom recovery or from a booted rom with usb debug on. adb will not works from bootloader and you will not see phone storage from bootloader.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WilmanB
Old
(Last edited by WilmanB; 2nd July 2014 at 09:54 AM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
have you restored mmcblk0p19 like said in the guide?
but adb does not recognize my phone so i cant restore mmcblk0p1 like it says on the instruction

adb wont respond to any adb commands

but fastboot is responsive

"adb only works from custom recovery or from a booted rom with usb debug on."
how do i do this? How will I know if I'm running in a booted ROM with USB debug On?

I install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly but it wont enter recovery mode
 
Seanie280672
Old
#6  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
First of all you will know if you are running a booted Rom if your phone boots up lol, in your case, yours doesn't, so ignore this and usb debugging.

Fastboot commands only work in bootloader.

Adb commands for you will only work inside recovery.

You must get into recovery to use adb to fix your phone, the reason you apprear to not be able to get in is because of your hboot version, you need to downgrade it, however I leave this completely in your hands and won't be held responsible if you brick your phone, simply, if you flash even the slightest wrong hboot, you'll have a brick, read the rest of that thread after the instructions, your same issue is in that thread.
The Following User Says Thank You to Seanie280672 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
alray
Old
#7  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,091
Posts: 2,822
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilmanB View Post
but adb does not recognize my phone so i cant restore mmcblk0p1 like it says on the instruction

adb wont respond to any adb commands

but fastboot is responsive
ADB commands = Usable from custom recovery mode or from a normally booted phone (not your case)
FASTBOOT commands = Usable only from bootloader, where you currently are. You can't use adb here

Quote:
"adb only works from custom recovery or from a booted rom with usb debug on."
how do i do this? How will I know if I'm running in a booted ROM with USB debug On?
flash the nobcb verison of twrp, boot in recovery and then you'll be able to use ADB commands.

Quote:
I install "fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img" on fastboot. It installed correctly but it wont enter recovery mode
Code:
fastboot flash recovery twrp-recovery-2.7-m7-nobcb.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
then try to boot in recovery mode again.

if you are still not able to boot the nobcb recovery, better to ask in the thread Seanie280672 linked you
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WilmanB
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2014
Wow, thank you all very much. I am now able to enter recovery mode using HBOOT -1.44.0000 through CWT recovery

no more cmdline overflow.
and I'm done restoring mmcblk0p19

now i just need to find the correct RUU to flash I need your help again guys? I'm not really sure what RUU to flash or what to do next from here
 
alray
Old
#9  
alray's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,091
Posts: 2,822
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Montreal

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by WilmanB View Post
Wow, thank you all very much. I am now able to enter recovery mode using HBOOT -1.44.0000 through CWT recovery

no more cmdline overflow.
and I'm done restoring mmcblk0p19

now i just need to find the correct RUU to flash I need your help again guys? I'm not really sure what RUU to flash or what to do next from here
post the output of "fastboot getvar all" excluding imei and serialno and we'll be able to tell you what ruu you can use.
If I've helped you, please hit the ''tanks'' button
If you want a reply, quote or mention me using @alray

Useful links for the HTC One:
nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
Flashing requirements chart by nkk71
HTC1Guru.com by crushalot
The Following User Says Thank You to alray For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
WilmanB
Old
(Last edited by WilmanB; 4th July 2014 at 03:14 AM.)
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by alray View Post
post the output of "fastboot getvar all" excluding imei and serialno and we'll be able to tell you what ruu you can use.
@elray
Thanks for replying these are what i got from the getvar command

version: 0.5
version-bootloader: 1.54.0000
version-baseband: 4A.17.3250.14
version-cpld: None
version-microp: None
version-main: 2.24.707.1
version-misc: PVT SHIP S-OFF
serialno: FA32GW9*****
imei: 3558590500*****
meid: 00000000000000
product: m7_ul
platform: HBOOT-8064
modelid: PN0714000
cidnum: HTC__044
battery-status: good
battery-voltage: 4318mV
partition-layout: Generic
security: off
build-mode: SHIP
boot-mode: FASTBOOT
commitno-bootloader: dirty-d16dc66985
hbootpreupdate: 11
gencheckpt: 0

I wish you can locate a proper RUU for my device.
I would also like to ask if it is possible to install custom ROM on my phone.
I tried to install the ViperOne 6.2.0 and Android Revolution HD 71.1 but it's both unsuccessful

now I'm stuck on Android 4.2.2 in HTC Sense 5 because i can't install new updates to KitKat and Sense 6

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes