Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 37,595 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC One Formatted phone and now cant mount data with twrp

Tip us?
 
xXxG0dzRAgexXx
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 260
Posts: 582
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beltsville, Maryland
Default HTC One Formatted phone and now cant mount data with twrp

I was formatting my HTC One to give it to a family member. I was going to sideload or push a rom and flash it, but twrp keeps saying it cant mount /data/ or internal storage. I got to sideload android revolution HD GPE but when it boots its asks for a password to decrypt the storage which i have never done. In twrp it still says it can't mount internal storage or data and I need help getting out of this mess. :/
 
Seanie280672
Old
#2  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXxG0dzRAgexXx View Post
I was formatting my HTC One to give it to a family member. I was going to sideload or push a rom and flash it, but twrp keeps saying it cant mount /data/ or internal storage. I got to sideload android revolution HD GPE but when it boots its asks for a password to decrypt the storage which i have never done. In twrp it still says it can't mount internal storage or data and I need help getting out of this mess. :/
inside TWRP select wipe and then select format data, this will however completely wipe your phone and you will need to push or sideload a new rom then flash it, try and use TWRP 2.6.3.3, it makes all the difference.
 
xXxG0dzRAgexXx
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 260
Posts: 582
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beltsville, Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanie280672 View Post
inside TWRP select wipe and then select format data, this will however completely wipe your phone and you will need to push or sideload a new rom then flash it, try and use TWRP 2.6.3.3, it makes all the difference.
I flashed CWM to see if it worked instead but still said cant mount /data and can't mount /sdcard. I formatted /data and now trying to sideload android revolution again to see if that will work. If not I will try to use TWRP 2.6.3.3. I was using 2.7.1.1 beforehand.

Also the whole reason im here is because I wiped my phone completely with TWRP. Just planned on wiping it all then sideloading a rom to give it that "new phone" sort of feel. No empty random folders and all that. No left over files.
 
Seanie280672
Old
#4  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by xXxG0dzRAgexXx View Post
I flashed CWM to see if it worked instead but still said cant mount /data and can't mount /sdcard. I formatted /data and now trying to sideload android revolution again to see if that will work. If not I will try to use TWRP 2.6.3.3. I was using 2.7.1.1 beforehand.

Also the whole reason im here is because I wiped my phone completely with TWRP. Just planned on wiping it all then sideloading a rom to give it that "new phone" sort of feel. No empty random folders and all that. No left over files.
The TWRP 2.7.x.x series all seem to have one or another problem going on with them, most users here swear by 2.6.3.3 or 2.6.3.4, however you will also find that most custom rom's require TWRP recovery over CWM.

also, don't forget to erase the cache after flashing each recovery.

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
 
xXxG0dzRAgexXx
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 260
Posts: 582
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Beltsville, Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seanie280672 View Post
The TWRP 2.7.x.x series all seem to have one or another problem going on with them, most users here swear by 2.6.3.3 or 2.6.3.4, however you will also find that most custom rom's require TWRP recovery over CWM.

also, don't forget to erase the cache after flashing each recovery.

Code:
fastboot flash recovery recovery.img
fastboot erase cache
fastboot reboot-bootloader
Ended up reflashing twrp with fastboot and then flashed Android revolution HD71.1 on it. The format of data in CWM worked to fix the mounting problem I had. Twrp probably could have fixed it too if I tried wiping data again. Will remember that next time for the other HTC One I'll be doing this to in the next few days.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes