FORUMS

Need some help with my HTC One

32 posts
Thanks Meter: 2
 
By SyntheticDynamics, Member on 29th August 2014, 03:23 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hey guys,

Long time lurker and only been doing the whole rom thing since I bought my HTC One last year.
I've been happy and enjoyed the phone.
Through a drunken stupor last night I made some mistakes and need to get the phone back in action.
I don't believe that what I've done to it has bricked it.
However, it is currently inoperable.

I'll try and break down exactly what happened and what I've done in the past few days that have caused this mess.
Thanks for your patience and understanding and most of all help up front, it's much appreciated.
So here we go!

I've been running an antiquated version of Viper ROM for the majority of the last year.
At this point I'm not even sure the exact release, though I believe it to be 5.6 or 5.7...
Having said that I went and updated finally and was able to successfully flash 6.20, and the OTA that followed.
My phone was running fantastic at that point and was super happy at the new features, etc.
Silly me, I had to believe that USB Fast Charge was not only a privilege but a necessity.

In my hazy recollection of mishaps I went ahead and tried to boot into recovery and flash ElementalX .17 on top of Viper.
Flashed with v2.6.3.3 of TWRP and things went smoothly or so I thought.
After successfully flashing upon booting I was hit with a black screen and only the capacitive buttons being lit.
In my rage and frustration I tried several things and it wouldn't boot.
Stuck in a loop.

So I did the stupid mistake up restoring a super old back up on my phone...
On top of that I messed around and thought I could some how bring it back to the dead.
It was my original Viper installation from all that time ago and this time there was absolutely no connection to WIFI.
The 6.20 version had been cleaned off the phone and now I'm sitting here at TWRP v2.6.3.3 wondering what to do next.

ADB is responsive, but drag and dropping files into the HTC One on my Windows Explorer has proven unsuccessful.
I'm going to post my basic related stuff below.
Let me know if any type of picture upload or what not will help in the process.
Thanks for being there XDA!!!


TAMPERED
BOOTLOADER UNLOCKED
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-ON RH
HBOOT-1.44.0000
RADIO-4A.17.3250.20
OpenDSP-v31.120.274.0617
eMMC-boot
Jul 5 2013,16:04:18-1

Once again - my thanks to you people out there smarter and more clear headed than I am.
I raise my glass to you...
 
 
29th August 2014, 03:35 AM |#2  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SyntheticDynamics

Hey guys,

Long time lurker and only been doing the whole rom thing since I bought my HTC One last year.
I've been happy and enjoyed the phone.
Through a drunken stupor last night I made some mistakes and need to get the phone back in action.
I don't believe that what I've done to it has bricked it.
However, it is currently inoperable.

I'll try and break down exactly what happened and what I've done in the past few days that have caused this mess.
Thanks for your patience and understanding and most of all help up front, it's much appreciated.
So here we go!

I've been running an antiquated version of Viper ROM for the majority of the last year.
At this point I'm not even sure the exact release, though I believe it to be 5.6 or 5.7...
Having said that I went and updated finally and was able to successfully flash 6.20, and the OTA that followed.
My phone was running fantastic at that point and was super happy at the new features, etc.
Silly me, I had to believe that USB Fast Charge was not only a privilege but a necessity.

In my hazy recollection of mishaps I went ahead and tried to boot into recovery and flash ElementalX .17 on top of Viper.
Flashed with v2.6.3.3 of TWRP and things went smoothly or so I thought.
After successfully flashing upon booting I was hit with a black screen and only the capacitive buttons being lit.
In my rage and frustration I tried several things and it wouldn't boot.
Stuck in a loop.

So I did the stupid mistake up restoring a super old back up on my phone...
On top of that I messed around and thought I could some how bring it back to the dead.
It was my original Viper installation from all that time ago and this time there was absolutely no connection to WIFI.
The 6.20 version had been cleaned off the phone and now I'm sitting here at TWRP v2.6.3.3 wondering what to do next.

ADB is responsive, but drag and dropping files into the HTC One on my Windows Explorer has proven unsuccessful.
I'm going to post my basic related stuff below.
Let me know if any type of picture upload or what not will help in the process.
Thanks for being there XDA!!!


TAMPERED
BOOTLOADER UNLOCKED
M7_UL PVT SHIP S-ON RH
HBOOT-1.44.0000
RADIO-4A.17.3250.20
OpenDSP-v31.120.274.0617
eMMC-boot
Jul 5 2013,16:04:18-1

Once again - my thanks to you people out there smarter and more clear headed than I am.
I raise my glass to you...

Please post a fastboot getvar all (except imei and serialno). That way we can take a look and see if there is a RUU available, that will reset you back to stock.
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th August 2014, 03:45 AM |#3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Please post a fastboot getvar all (except imei and serialno). That way we can take a look and see if there is a RUU available, that will reset you back to stock.

Roger that, let me go ahead and get that for you.
29th August 2014, 03:49 AM |#4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Please post a fastboot getvar all (except imei and serialno). That way we can take a look and see if there is a RUU available, that will reset you back to stock.


It's hanging at the Viper One bootup screen now - even though the device is recognized in windows explorer.

here is what adb is showing -

c:/adb>fastboot getvar all
< waiting for device >
Last edited by SyntheticDynamics; 29th August 2014 at 03:58 AM.
29th August 2014, 04:05 AM |#5  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SyntheticDynamics

It's hanging at the Viper One bootup screen now - even though the device is recognized in windows explorer.

here is what adb is showing -

c:/adb>fastboot getvar all
< waiting for device >

What is your MID & CID? If you are in the States what carrier?

---------- Post added at 08:05 PM ---------- Previous post was at 08:02 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by SyntheticDynamics

It's hanging at the Viper One bootup screen now - even though the device is recognized in windows explorer.

here is what adb is showing -

c:/adb>fastboot getvar all
< waiting for device >

Turn phone completely off. Then press and hold the PWR button + Vol Down button, it should boot into bootloader. Select Fastboot the screen should change to FASTBOOT USB, now try the commands.
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th August 2014, 04:06 AM |#6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

What is your MID & CID? If you are in the States what carrier?

Can't get the phone booted to get the MID and CID - really wish that I had copied down my fastboot getvar all information before all this happened.

I'm on ATT though.
29th August 2014, 04:10 AM |#7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Turn phone completely off. Then press and hold the PWR button + Vol Down button, it should boot into bootloader. Select Fastboot the screen should change to FASTBOOT USB, now try the commands.

I'm able to get into the bootloader.
After selecting Fastboot though I don't see any option for FASTBOOT USB.
29th August 2014, 04:21 AM |#8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Turn phone completely off. Then press and hold the PWR button + Vol Down button, it should boot into bootloader. Select Fastboot the screen should change to FASTBOOT USB, now try the commands.


Actually now I do see the FASTBOOT USB...
The command still hangs though at < waiting for device >.
Ouch, maybe I did brick it after all.
29th August 2014, 04:46 AM |#9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
I'm doing as much research as possible from my end.
Thanks for being patient with me.
Hopefully I haven't bricked this thing.
I've added my thanks to your posts thus far for your assistance!

Cheers and a few more energy drinks and maybe we can get this thing going again, lol!


-SD
29th August 2014, 05:04 AM |#10  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 409
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SyntheticDynamics

I'm doing as much research as possible from my end.
Thanks for being patient with me.
Hopefully I haven't bricked this thing.
I've added my thanks to your posts thus far for your assistance!

Cheers and a few more energy drinks and maybe we can get this thing going again, lol!


-SD

Here is an AT&T RUU 4.18.502.7. In order to run it you will need to lock your bootloader with the command:
Code:
fastboot oem lock


Are you using Win 8.1? If so, fastboot will not work with a hboot 1.44. You need Win 7 or Ubuntu/Linux. You can run Ubuntu on a USB FAQ Q#5 and you would not have to install it on your computer.
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes