Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,583 Members 38,031 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Htc one M7 softbricked and can't connect to a computer

Tip us?
 
ray408
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Sep 2014
Phone [Q] Htc one M7 softbricked and can't connect to a computer

FYI: I am not tech savy at all so bare with me if I sound like a noob/idiot.

I basically formatted my phone from TWRP and I'm thinking there isn't any ROM/UI/kernel?..ect. so it cannot start up (basically stuck on the htc loading screen). My computer detects it but not as a storage device and I can't seem to find a way to access it. I believe I have what i need on my computer but my issue is that i dont know how to get into the internal storage of my htc one because it cannot detect it as a storage device on my computer.

The only trace of it at all i seem to be able to find is in
Control Panel\Hardware and Sound\Devices and Printers
Its called "android 1.0" and when i click on it, it takes me to its properties from device manager.
It says Location: Port_#0001.Hub_#0008

I dont know if any of this info i gave is relevant, if not, let me know what ups.
 
donkeykong1
Old
#2  
donkeykong1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 455
Posts: 1,474
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Sesvete, Zagreb
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray408 View Post
FYI: I am not tech savy at all so bare with me if I sound like a noob/idiot.

I basically formatted my phone from TWRP and I'm thinking there isn't any ROM/UI/kernel?..ect. so it cannot start up (basically stuck on the htc loading screen). My computer detects it but not as a storage device and I can't seem to find a way to access it. I believe I have what i need on my computer but my issue is that i dont know how to get into the internal storage of my htc one because it cannot detect it as a storage device on my computer.

The only trace of it at all i seem to be able to find is in
Control Panel\Hardware and Sound\Devices and Printers
Its called "android 1.0" and when i click on it, it takes me to its properties from device manager.
It says Location: Port_#0001.Hub_#0008

I dont know if any of this info i gave is relevant, if not, let me know what ups.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2318497
Here is some reading material for you
The Following User Says Thank You to donkeykong1 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
gowda-the-grear
Old
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2014
Bro..I completely understand your predicament..

Just do this step by step

1. Download minimal adb from the internet and install it on your PC.
2. Download twrp image from the internet.this is a recovery loader.
3.copy the image file into the install directory of minimal adb.
4.execute the minimal adb shortcut from your PC.it should open a command prompt.
5.connect your device to the PC via usb.
6. Type this command to check if your device is recognized. "Fastboot devices"
It should show you a device ID..if your device is connected and recognized
7.flash tarp image with this command "fastboot flash recovery <twrp.img>"
8.reboot your device..press and hold volume down at the sametime to get into bootloader.
9.enter recovery.
10.Download any custom rom from htconeroot.com.it will be a zip file.
11. Copy the zip into minimal adb install directory and run this command to push the zip onto your device. "adb push <image file>.zip any name.zip"
12. After this completes you should be able to see this image in the filemanager in twrp.
13.move the zip file into sdcard directory.
14.make sure all options are checked in the mount in twrp
15.install the custom rom from install option in tarp.

This is 3 frantic days of research on the internet bro..
I had a brick in my hand too..got it up and running VIPERONE ROM

Hope you get through this fine
The Following User Says Thank You to gowda-the-grear For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ray408
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Sep 2014
Thank you, i really appreciate the effort! but im stuck on step 6/7. When i typed in fastboot devices, it didn't show any new id. and when i typed fastboot flash recovery twrp.img it says "waiting on device" so im guessing it still didnt detect it. any idea on why this might be happening? thanks
Quote:
Originally Posted by gowda-the-grear View Post
Bro..I completely understand your predicament..

Just do this step by step

1. Download minimal adb from the internet and install it on your PC.
2. Download twrp image from the internet.this is a recovery loader.
3.copy the image file into the install directory of minimal adb.
4.execute the minimal adb shortcut from your PC.it should open a command prompt.
5.connect your device to the PC via usb.
6. Type this command to check if your device is recognized. "Fastboot devices"
It should show you a device ID..if your device is connected and recognized
7.flash tarp image with this command "fastboot flash recovery <twrp.img>"
8.reboot your device..press and hold volume down at the sametime to get into bootloader.
9.enter recovery.
10.Download any custom rom from htconeroot.com.it will be a zip file.
11. Copy the zip into minimal adb install directory and run this command to push the zip onto your device. "adb push <image file>.zip any name.zip"
12. After this completes you should be able to see this image in the filemanager in twrp.
13.move the zip file into sdcard directory.
14.make sure all options are checked in the mount in twrp
15.install the custom rom from install option in tarp.

This is 3 frantic days of research on the internet bro..
I had a brick in my hand too..got it up and running VIPERONE ROM

Hope you get through this fine
 
gowda-the-grear
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ray408 View Post
Thank you, i really appreciate the effort! but im stuck on step 6/7. When i typed in fastboot devices, it didn't show any new id. and when i typed fastboot flash recovery twrp.img it says "waiting on device" so im guessing it still didnt detect it. any idea on why this might be happening? thanks
Ok..try this..
Press down on the power and volume down button to enter the default boot loader.
If you hv rooted your phone..it should be showing tampered at the top.

select the fast boot option..
Now connect your phone via usb..
The display name should change to "fastboot usb"

Then again open minimal adb and continue from step 6.

Make sure you have all the htc drivers for Windows installed on your PC.
Windows can automatically download these drivers for you if you don't have them..

All the best
The Following User Says Thank You to gowda-the-grear For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Ajxx16
Old
#6  
Ajxx16's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 14
Posts: 178
Join Date: Nov 2010
Are you using Windows 8.1?
 
ray408
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Sep 2014
everything works now, thank you guys. You are all awesome!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes