Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,802,957 Members 38,476 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Htc one m7 / Twrp problem /HELP

Tip us?
 
AlphaBit
Old
(Last edited by AlphaBit; 30th August 2014 at 02:08 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] Htc one m7 / Twrp problem /HELP

Hello Everybody.*
I'm new here and I could use some help.*
A few weeks ago I bought a HTC one m7 32 G from a friend, when i tried to do a factory reset I wasn't able to cause the phone would freeze on the Twrp slide to unlock screen. I read and found out that it was the Twrp fault cause it was the version 2.5 00, so I downloaded Rom Manager and tried to update Twrp but to no avail. So I guessed I have to be rooted to do that. The phone has the bootloader unlocked and it says tampered, so i guess that it was rooted at some point.
Also I found something called All in one root kit v4 amongst it's files, so i guess that's was what the person used to root the phone.*
I just received an ota update today and made the download but when I press install the phone reboots and it freezes on the Twrp 2.5 00 screen as usual. Currently I don't have a pc.Do i have to go back to stock If I want the 4.4 ota? Is it worth it? If so I need to fix the Twrp problem, so root for updating /fixing twrp then go back to stock, right? Or can I just update the Twrp and then install the ota? The phone is currently on 4.3 and sense 5.5.Any help appreciated. Thanks in advance.
 
clsA
Old
(Last edited by clsA; 30th August 2014 at 02:55 PM.)
#2  
clsA's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 955
Posts: 3,589
Join Date: Aug 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
nvm I see you have no PC to work from
HTC One 32 GB AT&T

 
AlphaBit
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by clsA View Post
nvm I see you have no PC to work from
So assuming I get to a friend's pc, what can i do? And for the other questions? Thank you.
 
majmoz
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 154
Posts: 606
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sonoita
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlphaBit View Post
So assuming I get to a friend's pc, what can i do? And for the other questions? Thank you.
1. OTA read this: OTA Updates
2. You will need ADB & fastboot tool and read this guide on fastboot commands.
3. Once you get fastboot installed on your PC, you need to run the following command with the phone in FASTBOOT USB: fastboot getvar all Then you should copy & paste the output here but remove the imei and serialno codes.
4. Then we will be able to get either the correct stock recovery or RUU to get you back running again. There is a link to nkk71's guide to return to stock in my signature.
The best way to get me to reply is to quote or mention me @majmoz

If I was of help to you, please click the "Thanks" button!

Useful links:

nkk71's SuperGUIDE to returning 100% back to stock
HTC 1 Guru by crushalot
[Collection] HTC One Stock Recoveries
The Following User Says Thank You to majmoz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
AlphaBit
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz View Post
1. OTA read this: OTA Updates
2. You will need ADB & fastboot tool and read this guide on fastboot commands.
3. Once you get fastboot installed on your PC, you need to run the following command with the phone in FASTBOOT USB: fastboot getvar all Then you should copy & paste the output here but remove the imei and serialno codes.
4. Then we will be able to get either the correct stock recovery or RUU to get you back running again. There is a link to nkk71's guide to return to stock in my signature.
OK, I will do what was asked and then post.. Thank you.
 
finallyfake
Old
(Last edited by finallyfake; 6th September 2014 at 02:14 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Sep 2014
Hi, I have encountered the same issue trying to install the update.
I've set back the stock recovery found in firmware.zip present in the OTA archive, installed the update and then rooted again the phone.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes