FORUMS

CloudPlayer: DIY HiFi Music Streaming Solution

In our Helpful Guide to Music Streaming Services, we mentioned several different services … more

Optimize Battery Life with This Useful App

Battery life is an important aspect of your smartphone, especially if you use it for more … more

The OnePlus 2 & The Year of Smartphone Compromises

We are very close to entering the last third of 2015, and we have now seen many of … more

OnePlus 2 Teardown, Major Android Vulnerability – XDA TV

The OnePlus 2 has been officially released. That and much more news is … more

Ok Google hotword not working with English (US) after root

104 posts
Thanks Meter: 14
 
By sam9s, Senior Member on 20th July 2014, 11:00 PM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi all

I just rooted my HTC One successfully and everything seems working, except a weird issue described below ...

Ok Google hotword only works if I choose English(India) as the language but then I do not get the option to check "From any screen" ok google detection.
If I choose English (US) then I get the option to check "from any screen" BUT my ok google hot word stops woking ...... I am in a fix ... can you suggest how can I have the option to enable "ok google from any where selected" , with English (India) language ---OR--- make the Ok google Hotword start working with English (US) selected. I'd prefer English (US)
 
 
21st July 2014, 12:48 AM |#2  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 411
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam9s

Hi all

I just rooted my HTC One successfully and everything seems working, except a weird issue described below ...

Ok Google hotword only works if I choose English(India) as the language but then I do not get the option to check "From any screen" ok google detection.
If I choose English (US) then I get the option to check "from any screen" BUT my ok google hot word stops woking ...... I am in a fix ... can you suggest how can I have the option to enable "ok google from any where selected" , with English (India) language ---OR--- make the Ok google Hotword start working with English (US) selected. I'd prefer English (US)

Download the Google Search app and re-install it.
21st July 2014, 07:08 AM |#3  
sam9s's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Download the Google Search app and re-install it.

If I try to install google search via your link..... I get " App not installed" probably because I already am at 3.5.16 ....... suggestions
21st July 2014, 06:55 PM |#4  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 411
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam9s

If I try to install google search via your link..... I get " App not installed" probably because I already am at 3.5.16 ....... suggestions

Have you tried going into Settings -> Apps and clearing the cache for Google Search? Then reboot your phone. If that doesn't work, then using a file manager go to Systems/Apps and find Google Search and rename it with .bak. Reboot then try to install the new APK.
21st July 2014, 09:09 PM |#5  
sam9s's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Have you tried going into Settings -> Apps and clearing the cache for Google Search? Then reboot your phone. If that doesn't work, then using a file manager go to Systems/Apps and find Google Search and rename it with .bak. Reboot then try to install the new APK.

Clearing cache, clearing data didnt work, I used ES Explorer to navigate to system/apps but I could not find google search there. Below s the screen shot of what all google I have under system/apps

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B__...it?usp=sharing
22nd July 2014, 12:04 AM |#6  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 411
 
More
@sam9s
I also didn't find it. Looks like Google named it something else.

I found it in data/data, you must delete the whole folder and then install the replacement app. The app folder name is com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by majmoz; 22nd July 2014 at 12:16 AM. Reason: Add information
22nd July 2014, 08:31 AM |#7  
sam9s's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
More
No Bro it didnt work, I deleted the entire folder, and tried reinstalling 3.5.14 version and the app simply dos not install and says the same "app not installed".
I rebooted the phone and tried as well. This however made me re initiate the google voice search when I tried Google now, BUT unfortunately it still does not work with English (US) chosen. The moment I switch to English (India) it works, but I loose "from any screen" and "from lock screen" option. This is strange behavior, as everywhere I read its said the language should be set to English (US) for this to work ,,,,,,,,
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes