Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Major Update for the Sony Smartwatch 2 Brings DND and More

With the wearables landscape now dominated by Android Wear and Pebble, its … more

How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Ok Google hotword not working with English (US) after root

OP sam9s

21st July 2014, 12:00 AM   |  #1  
sam9s's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Hi all

I just rooted my HTC One successfully and everything seems working, except a weird issue described below ...

Ok Google hotword only works if I choose English(India) as the language but then I do not get the option to check "From any screen" ok google detection.
If I choose English (US) then I get the option to check "from any screen" BUT my ok google hot word stops woking ...... I am in a fix ... can you suggest how can I have the option to enable "ok google from any where selected" , with English (India) language ---OR--- make the Ok google Hotword start working with English (US) selected. I'd prefer English (US)
21st July 2014, 01:48 AM   |  #2  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 352
 
1,202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam9s

Hi all

I just rooted my HTC One successfully and everything seems working, except a weird issue described below ...

Ok Google hotword only works if I choose English(India) as the language but then I do not get the option to check "From any screen" ok google detection.
If I choose English (US) then I get the option to check "from any screen" BUT my ok google hot word stops woking ...... I am in a fix ... can you suggest how can I have the option to enable "ok google from any where selected" , with English (India) language ---OR--- make the Ok google Hotword start working with English (US) selected. I'd prefer English (US)

Download the Google Search app and re-install it.
21st July 2014, 08:08 AM   |  #3  
sam9s's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Download the Google Search app and re-install it.

If I try to install google search via your link..... I get " App not installed" probably because I already am at 3.5.16 ....... suggestions
21st July 2014, 07:55 PM   |  #4  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 352
 
1,202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sam9s

If I try to install google search via your link..... I get " App not installed" probably because I already am at 3.5.16 ....... suggestions

Have you tried going into Settings -> Apps and clearing the cache for Google Search? Then reboot your phone. If that doesn't work, then using a file manager go to Systems/Apps and find Google Search and rename it with .bak. Reboot then try to install the new APK.
21st July 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #5  
sam9s's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by majmoz

Have you tried going into Settings -> Apps and clearing the cache for Google Search? Then reboot your phone. If that doesn't work, then using a file manager go to Systems/Apps and find Google Search and rename it with .bak. Reboot then try to install the new APK.

Clearing cache, clearing data didnt work, I used ES Explorer to navigate to system/apps but I could not find google search there. Below s the screen shot of what all google I have under system/apps

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B__...it?usp=sharing
22nd July 2014, 01:04 AM   |  #6  
majmoz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Sonoita
Thanks Meter: 352
 
1,202 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
@sam9s
I also didn't find it. Looks like Google named it something else.

I found it in data/data, you must delete the whole folder and then install the replacement app. The app folder name is com.google.android.googlequicksearchbox.

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Last edited by majmoz; 22nd July 2014 at 01:16 AM. Reason: Add information
22nd July 2014, 09:31 AM   |  #7  
sam9s's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
No Bro it didnt work, I deleted the entire folder, and tried reinstalling 3.5.14 version and the app simply dos not install and says the same "app not installed".
I rebooted the phone and tried as well. This however made me re initiate the google voice search when I tried Google now, BUT unfortunately it still does not work with English (US) chosen. The moment I switch to English (India) it works, but I loose "from any screen" and "from lock screen" option. This is strange behavior, as everywhere I read its said the language should be set to English (US) for this to work ,,,,,,,,

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes